Digital Wellbeing: Fine-tune your Tech Habits

12 61
Avatar for McJulez
2 years ago
Topics: Blogging, Writing

Digital wellbeing, or the one which reflects the impact of technologies and digital services on an individual's mental, emotional, and physical health, should be given attention, especially now that more people are becoming more exposed to gadgets.

As technology becomes more and more essential and indispensable to everything we do, we are not noticing that it is already distracting us from the crucial things to us. We should put into our minds that technology should make life better rather than diverting our attention, our focus to something else. It is not wrong to follow the trend with all these technologies arising from this century, but the terrible thing is losing our control. So let us focus on other things where life is in the front and center and stay away also from technology sometimes.

I, myself, is very alarmed with my digital wellbeing. These past few days, I have noticed that I am using my phone beyond the average daily use. Sometimes, I even spent ten hours or more because of reading our notes via pdf reader and having our classes which sometimes took three hours or more for just one subject.

As a solution, I hold my book once I do not have a class already on a given day. Then will just use gadgets again to write an article after a few hours. Sometimes, I am not meeting these things I have challenged myself, but I am constantly making a way to avoid getting distracted.

One of the best things we should know and do is to get a view of our digital habits.

It is indeed the very first step towards digital wellbeing. It is good to have an app like this on your phone for you to understand more about how you interact with technology. It will show you the daily view of how often you check your phone and how frequently you use different apps, and even for how long you have been using your phone in a given day.

You should reflect on your habits

The image above is a screenshot I have taken from wellbeing.google. As written from the said photo, reflect on your relationship with tech, and get tips and tools to help you achieve your personal sense of digital wellbeing.

It is undeniable that sometimes, we do not notice that our habits are already affecting us. So, it is very advisable to reflect once in a while. Ask yourself some questions and assess them. You can also take some online stuff like this to get some thoughts on how you can achieve your personal sense of healthy digital wellbeing.

You may start the experience and by doing so, a series of questions will pop up. Just answer them honestly so that you will get the best tips that are suitable for you. In the end, the result will come out. To better portray it, here is what it looks like or what you would get after answering the questions.

The photo will redirect you to the tips I got based on my answers.

Final Thoughts

As they say, if we want something there is a way. If we do not want something, there are countless reasons. While it is not bad to use a phone and other things that are the product of technology, learn to minimize the usage of these things and focus on a more vital and healthy way.

Find more ways to hit the pause button. Do some stretching and do some things that will refresh us, make us feel recharged and well through natural things.

Key Points:

  • Let's manage our apps and notifications to reduce distractions.

  • Create a space from work-related notifications that can help us recharge while away from it.

  • Putting smart speaker to good use.

Reference: wellbeing.google

Sponsors of McJulez
empty
empty
empty

Recommended readings from the articles I have recently published this month :)

Special Notes:

All Other Images used in this article (without watermark) are Copyright Free Images from Pixabay and Unsplash.

This is original content.

You can also use this topic as a writing prompt.

11
$ 7.64
$ 7.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.06 from @meitanteikudo
+ 3
Sponsors of McJulez
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for McJulez
2 years ago
Topics: Blogging, Writing

Comments

Wow You are good at writing Article eh 😮 The format in how you Explain your thoughts. This is my First time reading your Article by the way. 💚

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you. I hope you have learned something from this article :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks. I needed this reminder. Tech has become almost like clothes to me. It needs to be on every hour I'm awake. Sigh. We can't escape from technology. This reminded me of a video clip where a 1-year old? (maybe not even that), tried to swipe a magazine photo. I need to take breaks. But it's getting harder. Wait till we get the wearable ones. Then our eyes are truly affixed to tech every waking hour. Great article. A wake up call for me.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You are welcome. While writing this one, I kept on reminding myself that I should reduce the time I consume to use tech or gadgets. It's absolutely hard, but I know I can do it. Our eyes, for sure, will truly be affixed to tech every waking hour if we get wearable ones. So let us take this as a wake-up call before our eyes get blurry permanently.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your article has inspired me to write one. It'll be out tomorrow. It's as much a cautionary warning for myself as it is a helpful guide for others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's great! I'll be glad to read it. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi. Done. It's more of a self-reminder. Titled "Is the love of your life blinding you?" https://read.cash/@Just1dood/is-the-love-of-your-life-blinding-you-e66014f3.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Relateee supper. This past few days kasi whole day talaga ako nakatutok sa phone ko dahil sa pagbabasa ng mga articles at paggawa ng articsl huhuhu. Di ko na nga minsan makausap ng maayus mama ko kasi sibrang busy ako. Huhuhu. Kaya resulta? Ayun nasira ang mata hays 😭

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This new normal has somewhat really changed our lives po. Anyways, we can still change our habits. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm gonna try it tomorrow to get some ideas too on how I can improve my digital wellbeing. Thank you for this. 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That is a good idea! I hope it helped you. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'll update later regarding the things it recommends to me. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago