Am I really happy?

4 43
Avatar for McJulez
1 year ago

When things are going well and I just can't help but smile, I know I'm experiencing happiness. It’s a choice, and we know it when we’re having a joy in our hearts, a lift in our souls, and immense delight within us. This is exactly how I feel about my family, and I can say that I am more than happy to have them in my life.

Image Source: Unsplash by Hà Nguyễn

It is actually an activity given to us in one of our subjects from the recently concluded mid-year term in our school. The topic is all about happiness and right after hearing it, my family comes first in my mind. To be honest, I am not expressive but this does not mean I don't feel love. I have always kept myself busy with things like this and that, but I never forget to always love my family.

They are my happy pills.

They say that family is where life begins and love never ends. But for me, it is also a source of happiness. It’s so genuine and I couldn’t ask for more. Call me lucky to have such a family, but believe me when I say that my family is just like anybody’s. There may be challenges that sometimes build a gap between us, but at the end of each day we choose to forgive each other because we love each other and we are happy to always have each other on our side.

I have chosen to capture a photo of our family tree, which I have done before, because aside from the happiness it constantly brings me, it also reminds me that although we grow in various directions, our roots still remain as one. No matter what we’re going through, we always stick together and help one another, and this alone can already fill my heart with joy and contentment.

Furthermore, arranging the photos of each member in the family tree and seeing how they relate to one another is a lot like doing a puzzle. It gives me a lot of joy and satisfaction to piece together the family tree and see how everyone fits in. Each upward curve in everybody’s face is so gratifying, and though behind those smiles lie various stories of struggles, it is what makes us closer and happier to have each other by our side.

At the end of the day, it’s not about how wealthy you have become, which matters since you cannot carry it even after death. Instead, it is about how we live our lives and how we enjoy them, because a happy life is a well-lived life, and having my family by my side is one of the things that constantly helps me to live my life to the fullest. Nothing will ever compensate it for being the most valuable possession I have, and I will always be proud and happy about it.

And to answer the question that can be found in the title itself, I am really happy. Despite the difficulties I am currently facing, they never fail to make me smile. It keeps my heart warm and the fire within raging.

Thanks for reading!


Meet the writer behind this article:

{read.cash} {noise.cash} {Hive} {Twitter}

McJulez is an accountancy student who finds writing an exploration. His experiences include being a school journalist, but he has not yet experienced professional writing. If you want to read more of his work, the following articles are recommended:

All images are mine unless otherwise stated.

© 2022 McJulez. All Rights Reserved.

4
$ 0.53
$ 0.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @mommykim
$ 0.02 from @Unity
+ 1
Sponsors of McJulez
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for McJulez
1 year ago

Comments

Family gives us a lifetime of happiness because we can trust that they will always be there for you always.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Just be what you are and do what makes you happy.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Our family is the best as always.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes Julez yung family natin nagbibigay talaga satin ng pure happiness. Iba yung saya pag galing mismo sa family natin.

$ 0.01
1 year ago