Remembering the Joys from my Childhood

2 20
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago

As soon as I got home, I relaxed a bit in preparation for my evening Zoom class. Glad that there are butter-flavored sunflower seeds that I can munch on while I am watching Naruto on Netflix. Having such a pocket of time is rare, so I enjoyed every moment of it. 

Photo Credits: Unsplash.com

While I was savoring the moment, I remembered all thing things I used to enjoy when I was a kid. Being an adult entails a lot of responsibilities and society expects you to function well. But kids are allowed to be kids, and they are expected to be. 

I can say I am blessed to have enjoyed my childhood. And these are some of the things that I fancied back then:

Afternoon anime

After school, we rush to get home so my friends and I could gather in front of the television to watch our favorite anime. Back then, the popular ones were Dragon Ball, Slam Dunk, and Flame of Recca. Those hours are precious because unlike today when kids can watch any anime they like on-demand, we don't have a choice. We are bound by commercials and TV schedules. When we miss an episode, we miss it completely. We have to rely on our friend's exaggerated stories to catch up. 

Playstation and Game Boy

I did not have the luxury to own a set of Playstation nor a Gameboy but I was able to play a few games. Rentals were a thing then before computers and MMORPGs came into the scene. My favorite games then were Resident Evil and Silent Hill. I love the jump scares and the puzzles. For Game Boy, of course, it's the Pokemon series. We're so fascinated with those games though mostly were pixelated and glitchy. I remember that CDs and cartridges have to be blown with our mouths before we could play them. 

Street games

Another thing about my childhood is, of course, the games we play on the streets. We used to play tag, hide-and-seek, hopscotch, dodgeball, and our version of "football", a baseball-like game but instead of hitting the ball with a bat, you kick it and run towards the bases. Perhaps it is the main reason why many of the Filipino kids are overly tanned because most of the time we play even under the heat of the sun. 

Loitering until midnight

But it is not just during the daylight when we enjoy our childhood. After dinner, Filipino children used to gather under lamp posts or in front of a sari-sari store to just talk about anything. From crushes to goals in life to ghosts and horror stories... We just laugh and scare ourselves off. These chitchats with childhood friends are some of the most memorable moments a child could have. 

Without a care in the world

During those times, I and my friends have no major concerns whatsoever. The only thing we worry about is when our parents summon us and force us to go home, or else we'll get spanked in front of our friends. Life then was simple. We wake up in the morning, eat our breakfast, go to school, go home, play and watch TV, eat, loiter, sleep and repeat. 

But as we become adults, things changed. Even a nap is considered a luxury when you have to work hard to provide for your family. Games have to be scheduled. Catching up with friends becomes less frequent. We have to accept that we are no longer children. We are now adults with responsibilities. 

Note: Ideally, kids should be in school, not engaged in employment. They should be playing and not working hard to provide for their families. I wish I could say that this is true to all children we know, but reality tells us otherwise. 

Read my BCH-related blogs:


Hi, I am Marts! Aside from read.cash, I also run my blog - martsvalenzuela.com. I plan on growing my readership while learning to improve my craft and journey towards my passion to write and publish books that add value to people.

Carpe Diem!

2
$ 2.95
$ 2.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I can relate almost all of these especially playing outside with other children and having a good time until night😅. Good old days that I wish to experience again 💖

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha good old times! Life was so simple back when we were kids :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago