On Rhythm and Beats: Thoughts on Listening to Music

5 24
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago

I seldom listen to music whenever I work, much more when I write. But this time, for a change, I opened my Spotify, searched for my Upbeat playlist, and hit play. 

Photo Credits: Unsplash.com

I can't say I am a music lover, but I know it has wonderful benefits. Let me share a few:

Dopamine, dude

Dopamine is a kind of naturally occurring happy chemical we receive as part of a reward system. In other words, it is a feel-good hormone. It contributes to the feelings of alertness, focus, motivation, and happiness. When we listen to music that we love, our dopamine spikes up, especially as we anticipate our favorite chorus, and sing along with it. Who wouldn't love that "kilig" feeling?

A trip down the memory lane

When we listen to the music from our childhood, nostalgia hits us right in the "feels" we remember the memories associated with the song we're playing. We relive the moments, our feelings rekindled and we instantly think about our old friendships and old habits. Whenever I listen to songs from the boyband generation, I remember my elementary and high school years when I used to be a bit carefree, adventurous, and less stressed with responsibilities. Music is an escape, I may say. 

Improves your mood

Music improves mood by great lengths and distances. Have you ever felt so festive whenever Christmas songs are played while you work? It kicks up the environment and sets the stage for a holiday mood. That's the power of music. Upbeat music helps you become more productive and lively, a love song inspires you, brings a smile to your face. 

However, while there are benefits to good music, there are some downsides. Here are some I can think of:

You can't easily focus

When you're working and you are listening to engaging music, there's a huge possibility that you will only be distracted. Unless the music will end up as "white noise" or background music, it will only pose as another chore to do, and just like what I believe in, multi-tasking is a myth. At one point or another, you have to stop doing one to engage with another. In this case, belting out to your favorite chorus. 

Depressive and negative lyrics wire your thoughts

When we obsess ourselves on songs with depressing, negative lyrics, it affects our emotions and perhaps our actions. I have a story when I listened almost every day to a heartbreaking song with depressing lyrics. It went on for months. I justified that I love the lyrics. But little did I know that the song made me all gloomy, emotional, and depressed. Not to be exaggerated but I felt like I'm living out the lyrics of the song. I knew I have to stop listening to that song as soon as I came to my senses. 

In general, music has a lot of benefits. As long as we are careful with the lyrics we are listening to, and the message it tries to inculcate in us, we are good to go. Music is a gift, and we are blessed to enjoy it to the full.

So, rock on!

Read my BCH-related blogs:


Hi, I am Marts! Aside from read.cash, I also run my blog - martsvalenzuela.com. I plan on growing my readership while learning to improve my craft and journey towards my passion to write and publish books that add value to people.

Carpe Diem!

3
$ 4.60
$ 4.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Peter-Molnar
$ 0.01 from @trixdawson
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I am a big music lover. I don't listen everything, but 80's synth pop is my favorite. I also listen late 70's progressive rock. One thing I can't listen is today's music.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with today's music. You gotta filter through a lot of trash before you can get a few good stuff to listen to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm a kind of person who loves music po, I listened to music every single day! Music has a lot of benefits to me, it can also serve as my stress reliever most of the time! Thank you for this po, waiting for more! 🖤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe good that it helps you get boosted! :) Good music indeed is beneficial :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes po! Music gets me boosted most of the time. Hehe sad songs are good music for me. I'm a fan of sad songs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago