A Decade of Learning and Growing while Working

10 25
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Employment, Work, Office, Life, Blogging, ...

I'm not into celebrations. If I'm the one to decide, birthdays and anniversaries may pass with just a sincere prayer of thanksgiving, and that's it. I don't even know how to react when "Happy Birthday" is being sung to me. But for the sake of the people who care for me and value every milestone, birthdays and anniversaries are worth celebrating. 

Photo Credits: Unsplash.com

No, it is still months to go before my birthday. But every June 7, I commemorate the day I first got employed. For the record, I've been formally employed for 11 years, not including the other gigs I've been to. Hmm, "Happy Employment Anniversary" to me, I guess. :)

Here are the lessons I've learned from my employment history.

Health is a wealth

When I was still a BPO agent for a local account, I was assigned a graveyard shift. It was all fun at first until my body began to complain. I became sickly and thin. I realized health must come first. I have to give up my work because I can't keep up working at night and sleeping in the heat of the day. Salute to all graveyard shifters - you have my respect. 

Patience is the key

I learned the value of patience when I served as a preschool teacher. Dealing with toddlers with tantrums, nosiness, and hyper-activity is not just a physical workout but an emotional gymnastic as well. Every day I ran after the kids, shouting while trying to remain calm (how's that possible?), teach while nobody seems to be listening, dance and sing even if I know I have no talent nor grace to do it, and deal with parents who tells me how to be a teacher. My patience was honed and stretched during that one whole school year. Little did I know that it was a preparation for bigger things in life.

People might fail you

As an accounting staff, I learned to swallow a bitter pill: people might fail you. I have high expectations from people I work with but after an audit report came out, I felt betrayed. Since then, I have learned to manage my expectations. Hope for the best in people, but leave room for mistakes. And if they do commit mistakes, help them get back on the right track. At one point or another, we are all vulnerable and needy. We need someone to journey with us to the right path. Too bad for that person, he committed suicide. 

Bloom where you're planted

Currently, I am serving as a bookkeeper in our church. But more than doing accounting duties, I'm also tasked with different ministries, mostly no longer related to my job description. But I don't care! This is where my job and my ministry meets. I've been doing this for eight years already and I'm still learning and growing in it! Just so you know, I prayed for this since I am still a student, and since it was given to me, I do my best to bloom where I am currently planted. Mine is not a high-paying job, but God has never failed me yet. And I know He never will. 

Final thoughts

In addition to what I currently do, given a chance, I also want to be an entrepreneur. And while that dream is still on its way to be realized, I'll give my best to bloom where I am currently planted. 

Read my other BCH-related blogs:


Hi, I am Marts! I am a writer, and aside from my stint here in read.cash, I also have my blog - martsvalenzuela.com. I appreciate it if you visit me! I plan on growing my readership as I learn to improve my craft and journey towards my passion to write and publish books that add value to people.

Let's rock!

4
$ 5.36
$ 5.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @kli4d
$ 0.02 from @charmingcherry08
+ 1
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Employment, Work, Office, Life, Blogging, ...

Comments

you're a good writer, i enjoy your articles.. what church are you working for?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks! A Christian church in Marikina. If you've heard of Foursquare Church, I'm a part of it :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i see.. glad to meet Christians in this platforms..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

@iammerryandmary and her ate too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

who's mary's ate?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe I forgot her username, sorry :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its fine

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe napaka versatile nyo po. Daming naging work, lalo na yung pagiging preschool teacher. Di ko kakayanin yung makukulit na bata kasi maikli lang paensya ko hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha grabe yun. Isang taon lang ako, baka makulong na rin ako pag tinuloy ko pa e. Totoo, mahirap kapag maikli pasensya. Kaya saludo sa mga totoong teacher hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe sa makulong 😂. Anyways, proud of you 👌🏻. Laban lang hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago