3Cs of Relationship

5 15
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago

I attended my best friend's wedding recently. To be honest, I was thinking of backing out last minute because I was not feeling well, most probably because I was just recently inoculated with COVID vaccine. But because he is my best friend, and he told me that he expects me to be present at his very special event, I obliged.

Photo Credits: Unsplash.com

I arrived at the venue earlier than I was asked to. I don't want to be rushed so as much as possible, I arrive at meetings early. I found out that the wedding is an intimate one, with just a few seats prepared. All the more I was grateful I didn't back out. Rather, I felt elated. Much more when I was requested to be the cord bearer. Ohh, now I am part of the entourage. The introvert in me screams, but the best friend in me prevailed. I obliged happily. 

As the program ensued, I listened intently to the message of the pastor. He explained to the couple about the 3Cs of a relationship. Being married for more than 30 years, he sure has a lot to say from experience. Here are some of the notes I've taken:

Communication

Communication is an important element to any relationship - romantic or platonic, organizational or familial. Without clear communication, relationships will end up in pain and frustration. Especially in marriage, it is important to know and understand how your partner feels and thinks about before jumping to conclusions or making uninformed decisions. Communication is like a thread that keeps the seams of cloth together. We cannot always assume what the other party is trying to say. We have to hear and know it clearly. Communication, or lack thereof, is key to lasting relationships. 

Commitment

Time will come when all the positive things you saw in your spouse will be overshadowed by the negatives. Your spouse will annoy you, frustrate you, disappoint you, hurt your feelings, or might not understand you. When challenges like this happen, how do we respond? This is where commitment comes. Commitment is necessary to keep the relationship strong even when times are rough. Relationships will not always be a walk in the park or a season of continuous honeymoon. There will be periods when things don't seem to make any sense. Overcome all onslaughts to your relationships by committing to stay no matter what. 

Consecration

Another important element to a successful relationship is consecration. It means making God the center of your relationship. It means that when things go wrong and they don't know what to do, they should always go back to the Source of all wisdom. They should also strive hard to live their lives doing what the Bible instructs, and lead their future children to do the same. Their relationship must be offered to God, anchored on God, and must be glorifying God.

I have been to several weddings before but every time, I get too emotional. Weddings are awesome reminders for married attendees to fortify their relationship and renew their commitments. It also serves as a guide for singles looking forward to getting married soon. Personally, I learned a lot from the pastor. His 3Cs will be my guide as I pursue a family of my own, soon!

Read my BCH-related blogs:


Hi, I am Marts! Aside from read.cash, I also run my blog - martsvalenzuela.com. I plan on growing my readership while learning to improve my craft and journey towards my passion to write and publish books that add value to people.

Carpe Diem!

4
$ 9.37
$ 9.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @kingofreview
$ 0.01 from @Momentswithmatti
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Thank you for this article! I clearly understand the importance of 3C's in married couple. Yes, indeed, communication is very important to every single person but much more when you are already in a relationship or when you are already married, as so commitment as this will make your relationship much stronger. But most importantly, consecration, God has to be the center of any relationship to make it more faithful, strong and healthy. 🖤

I'm newbie po! Hello po and thank you for this again!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Glad that this post resonated with you!

Oww, welcome to this site! Welcome aboard, enjoy! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes po! Thank you for noticing my comment! Keep safe and godbless always po! 🖤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

learned a lot from this.. indeed we need to go back to the source of Wisdom when things don't go our way

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's a good reason why pastors and priests emphasize the role of God in a relationship :) He should be at the center :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago