How to boost Wi-Fi signal

50 94
Avatar for MarijaJak
3 years ago

A wireless network is convenient because it allows one device to cover a certain area with a Wi-Fi signal, but it is by no means an ideal solution. Often in such situations there are so-called. blind spots to which the signal does not reach for some reason. These can be parts of the room behind a few thick walls, a space on the floor where a wireless router is not installed, and similar things. The simplest solution is to place the wireless router or modem at a central point in space, but even then it is not possible to always cover all the "holes" in signal reception. Fortunately, there are ways to amplify the signal for free, or with a small investment, enough to provide normal Internet access from every corner.

The first, free way, is to place a conical barrier covered with aluminum foil on one side of the router antenna. Although this seems ridiculous, in practice it works, because the signals are reflected from the aluminum and directed in a certain direction. The disadvantage is that the signal weakens in the direction behind the aluminum foil.

If you want to amplify the signal in all directions, there are two solutions. The first is to place the antenna upright if you are not. They are designed to propagate the signal perpendicular to the antenna axis (at an angle of 75 to 105 degrees). If the antenna is placed horizontally, the signal will spread vertically (on the floors), and in case it is placed vertically, the signal will spread horizontally.

Another solution is to purchase an external Wi-Fi antenna. Such antennas do not cost much (from 10 to 20 euros), but they can effectively increase the signal range. You can install an external antenna if the original antenna on your router is not fixed to the chassis, or if it can be unscrewed. Simply replace the antenna and the signal will be amplified. The reason is that standard antennas on routers usually have a gain of up to 3 dBm, while external antennas that can be purchased on our market have a gain of 5 to 9 dBm. You won't amplify the signal exactly two or three times, but you will certainly get enough amplification to get a stable and solidly strong wireless signal.

An even more efficient, albeit slightly more expensive way is to purchase a Wi-Fi repeater. Their purpose is to take the signal from the router and to repeat and amplify it, thus effectively increasing its rank. This solution is especially effective in houses that have multiple floors, where the router is placed on one floor, and Wi-Fi repeaters on all the others. Unlike the previous methods, this is not a plug-and-play solution, because it requires configuring the repeater, but you don't have to worry. It is a simple enough operation that (almost) anyone can perform it. Such devices cost from 25 to 70 euros.

Of course, you need to protect your internet Wi-Fi network with a password, so that you are not in a situation where someone is connected to your Internet and thus slow down your internet speed.

If you have problems with the Wi-Fi signal, try some of these tips. I am sure that at least one of the mentioned ways will amplify the signal in your home enough, that you can use it in every corner, even in the farthest corner.

After these tips, I want you to use your internet connection to relax with some interesting movie or some nice music.

Greetings from @MarijaJak !

11.11.2020. (20.41 pm)

25
$ 3.38
$ 3.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @GreenOasis
$ 0.05 from @deki
+ 1
Sponsors of MarijaJak
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MarijaJak
3 years ago

Comments

Some great tips, unfortunately, I don't think my wifi signal is the problem here after reading your article. I did learn something new with the aluminum idea, however!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for reading these tips, and I hope that the method with aluminum foil will improve your Wi-Fi signal. Greeting!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I honestly have not tried it, simply because it was a coax cable outside that was causing problems with my wifi!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Its a big opportunity to get some idea from your Wonderful article about WiFi speed boosting.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, here are some tips on how to improve your Wi-Fi signal strength ...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have an apartment in my apartment, since I have a lot of partition walls and it is not possible to cover all the rooms with just one router, I have another additional router that is placed near the bedrooms. That's how I solved the problem, it's not an expensive solution and it's effective.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, you are right. We can solve it that way, and a signal amplifier is not a bad idea either, and it can help a lot in signal strength.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have been facing wifi dbm signal and i am going to try this process too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

With these tips already written, I would recommend that you do not hold the router behind the TV, and that it is not near mirrors and microwave ovens.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We constantly have a problem, we have 2 routers and often we don't have a signal.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Try to apply these tips, if you have two floors, I advise one antenna to be turned horizontally and the other vertically. And don't place routers behind the TV, in rooms where there are a lot of mirrors, or in the kitchen if you have a microwave.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In case of a single floor but very large, what will you recommend?

$ 0.01
3 years ago

I definitely think that the best way is to place the antennas vertically in the case of one floor, if possible somewhere in the center of the floor.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh, thanks for your recommendation. Should try that way.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

hellow .. Dear sister thank you for explain abiut wifi fast Boosting.. Its really very Usefull topics

$ 0.01
3 years ago

You're welcome, friend! I try to write useful and interesting topics! Welcome!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We had a problem with the network. The apartment is on 2 levels and the signal could not be caught on the upper level. We bought another router and connected. it's much better now, but on the lower level I have a problem in one room. namely, as those from the technical support said, due to the large number of mirrors in the hallway, the signal is weak. I didn't know this about aluminum foil and thank you. I have to try this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Routers should not be placed where the mirrors are, then behind the TV and near the microwave oven ... This can interfere with the signal!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A wireless signal accompanies us at every turn at the present time. At home, at work or on the go. Because of its convenience, wireless internet is popular with all users who like to browse the web anywhere in their home, both behind a desk and in a comfortable couch.Thatsway wi-fi must working good.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I absolutely agree with you and that is why I chose this topic for writing the article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If you have problems with the Wi-Fi signal, try some of these tips. As soon as i arrive home, i'll try these advices :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Try it and let us know your impressions ... Thanks for the comment, friend!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

very interesting information, so far I have not had any problems with the internet connection, I will use these tips from you dear, thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're welcome, dear!It is good to know this information just in case, if a problem occurs.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you very much!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is so great! These tips are so good. There is solution also with aluminum can from Coca Cola, for example and wrap around antenna.. Protection of password is very important especially in the buildings. I use wifi adapter with usb connector for my PC and it has very good flow and high gain ability.. Thank you so much for this article, it's very useful!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're welcome, buddy! I'm glad you think these tips are helpful. I hope it will help someone who has a signal problem.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I really unknown about this great informative article.It will help me to improve my wifi Renge.Thank you dear for your this kind.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Ahb
3 years ago

You're welcome, friend!Try these tips. I believe it will benefit you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have a problem in my room with the wifi signal. It interrupts me and my router is in another room, I will try to do something, thanks for the useful article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Try some of these methods, I hope you find them useful! Greetings!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I honestly didn't know about you fi repeaters, it's a really great device. I haven't seen it sold at ours yet or I haven't paid attention.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It can be bought in Tehnomania, the price of the cheapest is around 2000 dinars.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very useful device,.but in case of a signal floor but very large. What will you recommend 🤔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If the antenna is placed horizontally, the signal will spread on the floors, if you need it?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice post dear sister.. Please keep written like this... Always 🤲🤲🤲🤲

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks, friend! Welcome! Greetings!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You just Nicely explain about WiFi services and about its Boosting

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you very much for this nice comment!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will also try this once and say you the improvement too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope you see an improvement. Try it, I believe the signal will be better.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I've heard of foil ... in the past we used to put foil on radio antennas to amplify the signal 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh yes, that worked a lot for us :) Aluminum foil can be used for many things...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is really great! I will try some of those, and they seem very good to me. I will definitely try those in my home, with my wi fi. I sometimes have problems with very slow wi fi and that is annoying, sometimes, when I need it the most it betrays me and make me a problem.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm glad that maybe this article will help you improve your Wi-Fi signal, I think these tips are ok.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good solution dear.I have a wifi connection in my house.And also in a certain point for reserve to connect all rooms.But its showing poor network because of you explained reason.Thanks for your solution in next morning by following your instructions.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Ahb
3 years ago

I'm glad you found the solution in my article! and thank you so much for the comment!

$ 0.00
3 years ago