Happy World Physiotherapy Day!

27 62
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago

Today, September 8, is World Physiotherapy Day, at the same time I just got back working too yesterday after nine days of self quarantine. Yay! Happy days!

I have gotten so bored with the quarantine, so, when I was notified to undergo RT-PCR (swab) test last week, Friday, I have decided to give it a go and hopefully be my ticket to freedom, lol! Saturday, I got the test and eeeww the feeling of that thing on the innermost cumbersome part of my nose sucks. I hate it. That was my first time and hopefully the last, God willing. I don't want to endure another. So, please keep me away from Covid19, Lord! That's me praying while waiting in queue for my test.

Finally, I got the result Monday, this week, and the result was negative. Praise God! So, Tuesday, I'm back on track. Three patients greeted me in the morning, what a toxic comeback, I thought, lol! But, anyway, I'm grateful to be working again, I kinda miss the usual routines, though I did enjoy some days off to sleep longer, write more, exercise regularly, and start making noise again in noise.cash. I'm still thankful for the break I had during quarantine. Win-win for me for sure.

Anyhow, let me go back to my topic for today. World PT Day, nothing much special because of the pandemic, but I'm glad that the world celebrates with us, virtually.

Photo from Facebook

I have seen some post on Facebook with this image, that I wish to insert here too.

Now, let me take this opportunity to explain what Physical Therapy or Physiotherapy, as what they call us in other countries.

By definition,

Physical therapy (PT), also known as physiotherapy, is one of the allied health professions. Physical therapy is provided by physical therapists who promote, maintain, or restore health through physical examination, diagnosis, prognosis, patient education, physical intervention, rehabilitation, disease prevention and health promotion. - Source: Wikipedia

Thus, we play an important role in the patient's recovery after injury, or an illness, like stroke, traumatic brain/ spinal injury, fractures, back pains, Bell's Palsy - these are just the common cases we deal with. For us, we make sure that our patients may function on its highest functional level and quality of life.

In my facility, the bulk of our patients usually comes from neurologic disability following stroke or Cerebrovascular Accident. After the nurses or an attending physician restore a patient physiologically with stable vital signs, he/she will then be referred to a Physical Therapist for evaluation and treatment. There are no shortcuts in undergoing PT, every session is a goal to increase mobility, flexibility and function. Pain, exhaustion, patience, hard work, and focus are expected. It is a conservative management of a disease, so expect no instant and quick results.

However, there are still some people and medical professionals who coined us to massage therapists, and reflexologist. Thus, some doctors don't refer their patients to a PT, and often times these patients would come later when the problem worsens. For instance, stroke patients usually have favorable outcomes in the first six months following the attack, if a patient comes later than that, recovery will be so slow. Some also have complications of prolonged immobility that is so difficult to deal with. Thus, in stroke, the acute phase is crucial, make sure your loved ones are given the needed care.

These are just bits and pieces of what Physical Therapy is all about. I think it would be better if you can consult the nearest PT rehab unit in a hospital near you if you need any help.

Today, to celebrate World PT day, we just had a short zoom lecture on the role of PT in Covid19, that was this morning. Later in the afternoon, I have a patient for homecare, then passed by the hospital to receive the good news! DOH just handed us our hazard pay, yes! After a century, kidding, just a year lol! Not much really, I don't know how they compute it, but it's an unexpected blessing that I am so much grateful. Thank God!

It's a coincidence, that we are all wearing a green PPE too today, so we had one snap for PT day.

If you have seen one of my post in noise about me exercising, you will know myself from here, lol!

Green is the color of hope!

Let us keep our hopes high and our prayers higher for a Covid19-free community.

Cheers for life and good health!


Related Articles:

Toxic Days with Toxic Patients

Life of a Traveling Physiotherapist


Lead Image/ Photo 1 from Facebook

Photo 2/Group Picture by ME

©️ LykeLyca


15
$ 7.35
$ 6.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @sgbonus
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
+ 10
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago

Comments

I believe that Physiotherapists are vital for many patients. Happy day of Physiotherapy to you!

And how good that your Covid test is negative, and you've come out of quarantine.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you and the result was a relief indeed! Free again!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pa PT ako. Sakit ng tuhod ko haha! Happy Physical THE rapist day :D lol!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahah! di ko naisip yan ah, hahha! Ngayon rapist na lol!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha! Un kuya ko PT din. Ganyan ang joke nila e hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Double congratulations, for your negative swab test and for the world physiotherapy day, have a good time.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

A great day indeed! Thanks!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Belated Happy PT day doc 🤗. I guess ikaw ng nag lingkod ? Hihihi not sure tho.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks! Sakto jud ka haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're the one sitting down. Happy PT day sis. Thanks to God that your swab will be negative.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahah! How do you know? Thanks btw!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy PT day sis.. and yes green is the color of hope..money too in BCH's case

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes! Korek jud 💚💚💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's your day. Happy PT day 😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks madam!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy PT day! Yey, finally you're done with 9 days of self-quarantined. God bless youuu sis. ❣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Finally! Gikapoy nag muk2x, karon kapoy na pud work hahah! Makalibog! Hahha! Naa jud makurat anang akong libog dira bah.. 😅🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy PT Day to you all and may you continually do your magic through your healing hands to make every other patient become better. And praying that your swab will be negative. I heard from my husband that the thing they insert in the nose for the test is very long and it tickles then afterward hurts.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, i don't like it, di ko maintindihan ang feeling.. Thanks po!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Belated Happy Psychotherapy Day to you Ma'am, keep safe always. We're so proud of you frontliners. GOD Bless!

Btw, what course did you take to be Psychotherapist?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Physiotherapist po, hehe! The course is Bachelor of Science in Physical Therapy. Thanks and stay safe too..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Double congratulations to you my dear friend. One congratulations for your restart at work and the other for being the physiotherapist's day. In my country this figure is very important. I have had the help of my physiotherapist friends twice in my life. What good therapies they gave me. Thank you for belonging to such a prestigious guild.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks! Ah yes, I remember your post before regarding sciatica if my mind serves me right lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is true, you have a very clear mind. lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my! Hahah! Awesome!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Physiotherapy day ❤️ Stay Safe and stay blessed ❤️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you! Stay safe too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago