Toxic Days With Toxic Patients

24 56
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago
Topics: Random, Life

Usually we call those irritating people- toxic, but at work toxic also refers to patients that have quite a number of precautions, namely cardiac, pulmonary, sensory, blood pressure precautions and etc. Good if we only have to deal with one of these, but what if you need to take heed for all those listed, it'll be a tiring and complicated caution every time. Of course, not all patients are toxic and having them is a breeze to work with, however, our body is an unpredictable engineering marvel that would surprise us there and then.

The past two days I was not able to publish anything because work has been so physically demanding from toxic patients and toxic days. They drain me physically, mentally and emotionally. In these kind of days, I will reach home really exhausted, I only got to rest for 30 minutes before shower, then eat my dinner and while staring at my laptop to start digging my thoughts to write, I just doze off effortlessly to dreamland.

The other day I had one elderly patient that had hypoglycemia while having her rest interval during exercise. She only performed 20 repetitions of leg exercise and in about a minute while resting, she got drowsy and almost fell off of the chair. Since I have known her history of diabetes, I am certain that she's having hypogylcemic attack. In this kind of scenario, orange juice or any kind of juice would suffice the sudden decrease of blood sugar level, however, her daughter should still have to buy from a neighboring retail store and that would really take some time. The next option would be a candy or any chocolate, thus I grabbed one Honey chocolate bar I find near the TV set, instructed the patient to have a bite. Thank God! My patient got well and alert again. Turned out that my patient had only eaten a slice of pizza for lunch, when she's used to be having half cup rice and any fish or chicken dish. This would be a lesson learned for them, patients should eat a complete meal prior to any physical exercise. Anyway, all good, but the Adrenaline rush that time weakens me after work, it seems the emotional ride makes my head hurts.

Adrenaline, she's not my friend. But, yesterday, she's with me again. Sigh. Another terrible day.

I got this stroke patient fresh from hospital discharge, and while attending for her PT session today in her home, was another more challenging occasion. In the rehabilitation of stroke patients, blood pressure monitoring is vital. Thus, we monitor it before, during and after treatment. Checking her BP beforehand, it reads 120/80mmHg, taking note of the patient in the supine position. So, I proceed with the electrical stimulation and the bed exercises, then after that I checked her BP again at 130/80mmHG. All good, so I taught her how to sit up with her legs off the bed, this time I know there will be changes in BP especially for some patients who just got discharged from the hospital, so I checked again and it dropped slightly at 110/80mmHg. This is not an alarming drop, so after 10 minutes of sitting, I encouraged her that we could at least try to stand with her affected leg supported. She agreed because she's feeling okay and somehow the BP was fine too. The first attempt was fine, the toxic scenario started on the second attempt, she complained that she needed to lie down because she poop. Now, she had cold sweats too, and later on notice tremors in her hand, I kept asking her questions just to validate her consciousness and wakefulness. While the caregiver rushed in cleaning the patient, I was taking her BP too, and it dropped more further to 80/60mmHg. Certainly, it's postural hypotension and lying down would normalize the BP, however, I have doubts with the tremors. Still, I try to remain calm and assured her that her anxiety came from the poop and that she will be fine when she'll be clean. Indeed, after the caregiver cleaned her, she's feeling much more better. I texted our doctor to inform her about it and called me to talk about it later.

Going home, I was feeling more weary than the previous day. I hate working with Adrenaline because after that I felt so beaten up, making the rest of my day really toxic. Toxic days means either I have a headache or I won't be able to visit read.cash and do some of my favorite routines in the evening.

Oh well, I'm here venting again. I have a couple of articles that I started writing, but unable to finish them because of the past toxic days. Hopefully, my week will end wonderfully still.

At the end of every toxic day, I thank God for the wisdom and calmness that He bestow on me every single time I need to handle emergency situations. I thank Him for the strength that is equally enough for each day, and renews it every morning! Praise God!

I think this would be it.

Almost 12mn now, together let us say "Thank God it's Friday!"


Photos from Pixabay (no attribution required)

Content is MINE. All Rights Reserved.


Article checked via https://smallseotools.com/plagiarism-checker/

100% unique


17
$ 7.50
$ 6.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.10 from @bbyblacksheep
+ 9
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago
Topics: Random, Life

Comments

Postural hypotension. Nangyari sa akin yan. Basta may pinupulot ako nun tapos yung position ko yung parang nakaupo sa legs na parang nakatiptoe. Hahaha. Ang hirap iexplain. Eh ang tagal ko nakaganun kaya nung pagtayo ko bigla, nagcollapse ako then nagulat na lang ako pinupunasan na ako ng towel ng tatay ko sa ulo tapos yung nanay ko naghhysterical na. Sabi ng doctor, dapat daw kapag ganun na matagal na may pupulutin ako, wag daw dapat bigla-biglang tatayo kasi yung ginawa ko daw na posisyon ay nakakapagpastop ng blood flow na wala daw umaakyat na blood sa brain. Kaya nung tumayo ako, bagsak. So kung ganun daw either upo na lang daw sa floor or dahan-dahan stretch daw yung isang leg then saka tumayo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha you vent and earn $$$ wow we are so lucky to be here right? XD Toxic people or not it is still something to share for us to know what goes on in sessions like that.

It's really hard to live with someone who has diabetes and the people around are unaware of what to do. When we were kids I had a grandma who had it too. And one time she was just sitting in the sofa under the sun and we thought it was weird, next thing we know she had to be taken to the hospital. Oh such a sad way to grow old when no one really knows how to take care of you. :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Patience is the key, doctora! Kudos!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks madam... uu nga kelangan natin yan lalo na sa panahon ngaun, minsan nkakainit ng ulo ang PPE hahah!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

korek, doctora.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Relate ako dto. Naalala ko mga previous patient kong pasaway haha..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Totoo yan. nkaka drain sila..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nararamdaman ko yung pagod mo doc. Better days will come. Fighting ! 💗💪

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Better day lang hehhe! Sunday na eh.. Thanks!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Habang binabasa konto, na feel ko din ang pagod. Di ko talaga ma keri kung nag med ako ng course hahaha. Di ko keri kasi mabilis ako mataranta, mairita, makakalimutin pa. Nako, baka matsugi ang pasyente ko pagnagkataon hahab

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha! hindi maiwasan mataranta pero presence of mind lang talaga para iwas problema.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You actually have tiring day doctor. In behalf of all commoners I wanted to thank you for your service. Kudos! And Godbless on you

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you po! and you're welcome! Pero hindi po ako doctor hahah! God bless you too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can tell how bad you day was and It really takes a lot of patients in attending to these kinds of matters..Anyways ..these kind of days shall pass too.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Indeed. I know it does not happen so often and I thank God for that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i could sense you are very tired of how that day went. dealing with situations like that made me don't want to take any course anything related to medicine... when is your day off? I hope you get to rest well on your rest day...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sunday! and I hope there won't be any on-call patient.. hahah! or else sawi na nmn ako. God willing, I would love to take that ME time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

y! and I hope there won't be any on-call patient.. hahah! or else sawi na nmn ako. God willing, I would love to take that ME time.

I hope you had a great ME time dear...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A little patience that better days will come. And I hope they arrive soon for you! Cheers!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Better days, hopefully soon. I will be off tomorrow, so I got tonight and hopefully the entire day tomorrow. Yey!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I understand that feeling of adrenaline rushing in the presence of a patient who is decompensating. When the adrenaline goes down, there is a bodily sensation of a total emptying of the organism. As if all the energy vanishes and needs to be recharged again. Working in a health team gives many satisfactions but we are human beings and we wear ourselves out for others. Congratulations for your noble effort my friend.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are so right about it being in the medical field too. I love my work because seeing patients recover is rewarding, but sometimes it's just so tiring. Congrats to us for all our efforts my friend and God bless!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Makapigil hiningang scenarios doc.. but by God's guidance you did well! Waaah ... Ang hirap nun .. buti di ka panic .. ang haba din nga ng pasensiya mo ano?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Uu nga at magkasunod pa talaga ng araw parang 1 week din ung pagok ko. Haayy kelangan talaga hindi mag panic kc dag2x problema if magka ganun..

$ 0.00
2 years ago