Life of a Traveling Physiotherapist

14 52
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago

Today, July 8, 2021, I want to take you to my world... A day in the life of a traveling Physiotherapist (or Physical Therapist). I do traveling three times a week and the rest of it I'm on hospital duty except Sunday, that is if we don't have on-call for in-patients on that "supposed- to-be" rest day.

A shot from our uniform, the embroidery of the text wasn't really good. Yet, we still use this in our Facebook page. 😅

Anyway, since I don't have much inspiration to write about other things at the moment, I want to take you instead on how my usual day went when I'm traveling to patients who needs Physical Therapy services at home. Usually patients under homecare PT are either bedridden or bedbound, or sometimes they're just difficult to transport in a nearest hospital or center with PT, or maybe no one can drive them to and fro at a regular basis, however can afford to pay a traveling PT. With my patient's case, she needed homecare because she's an elderly patient, who lives with her elderly husband and no one can drive her regularly for PT sessions. Also at this time of pandemic, senior citizens are afraid to go out especially to the hospital.

Yesteday, I got this new referral with a below knee amputee patient. She got amputated a year ago because of Diabetes, and received PT right after surgery for home instructions about exercises and proper care of the amputated limb. This elderly patient have second thoughts of getting a prosthetic or artificial limb so it took a year for them to decide. Her daughter that has been working in the UK as a nurse wanted a prosthesis made from the best Prosthetist in Manila, however with the current pandemic situation it seems impossible to travel just for this reason so instead they opted for what was available in the city.

Below- knee prosthesis / artificial leg

They had prosthetic planning a month ago in our hospital and just yesterday the limb was ready for donning. We met in the department yesterday together with the prosthetist and our physiatrist for co-management, planning and etc. So today, I'm off to see her at home.

In the morning, I still have one home PT for an old patient with stroke, the patient's home was near my place just 10 mins walk. I would spend there for an hour and 30 minutes for her PT session, that includes Electrotherapy, standing balance and tolerance exercises and gait training. This patient has cardiac precautions, so usually we have rest periods in between and that would mean a time to do some breathing and more chit chat, lol! That's part of the program, I guess.

In the afternoon, I'm headed to the new amputee patient. But before that, I have to make sure where I'm traveling and with the bliss of technology and internet, google map revealed that I would be driving an hour and five minutes to reach my destination, if I won't make wrong turns (google sounded so specific and completely trusted my driving, lol). Anyway, it's not my first traveling to this place, so I was a bit confident that I won't get lost.. I really hope so though.

On the way, I got a call from the patient and instructed me that I have to make a right turn from the highway, and then a left turn from the barangay road. The first turn was easy because landmarks were all familiar from the national highway. The second turn from the barangay road was hardest because the landmark was just a description of the path, and all the rest I could see in the road were trees, and more trees! Sigh and long sigh**. I have to make a stop and call them again perhaps someone can fetch me in the corner where I should make the left turn. They agreed and yep, I was half kilometer short before making the turn. Glad I made a call or else I would just keep driving further and away from the patient's home.

So, as you see no landmark to check, just trees and more trees!

The PT session was just an hour and 20 minutes. Prosthetic care and donning - doffing instructions were given to them yesterday, I just reminded them again for familiarization and compliance. She performed some exercises without the prosthesis mostly muscle strengthening and some stretching of her hip flexors. For amputees this muscle is most often tight, though hers wasn't really that tight, because she's so active despite on wheelchair for a year. She also performed exercises with prosthesis on, and gait training with a walker. I'm pretty sure, she can ambulate well in a month or so, though I'm not sure if she can walk without a walker because at her age at 76 postural and balance problems that comes with aging is inevitable.

Patient's case and condition is not difficult to handle. Though she's diabetic but not under insulin injection, so her blood sugar is well controlled by medication and diet. I also learned that lady's-finger or okra water is a good way to maintain the blood sugar in normal levels for patient's with Diabetes. She has been taking a glass of this water every morning after waking up, she believes that it does wonders! Well, I do believe that with the old couples' lifestyle and location far from the city would hone them with better food choices.

Took this image in front of the house across the street.. again more trees and weeds 😅

Going home, it was nearly dark when I almost reached home and made a quick stop to take a photo of the beautiful sunset. Looking at it and the cooler breeze does refreshes my mind and body. That's one thing nature can do. Praise God for this beautiful world!

Sunset on my way home

Work does not stop there for me at this time of pandemic. Everytime I arrive home, I have to rest for a bit in the garage, and head directly to the bathroom to shower. Only then I can say that the day is over.

Tiring, but there is always something to be grateful for in every single day despite of busyness and the tiredness.

I thank God...

... For my work and his provisions...

... For the strenght, the wisdom, and the skill.

... For the protection and safety, covered by His blood.

... For the passion that makes working a joy to achieve.

... For the things around me that sustains wellness in my mind and body.

... For this platform and community to vent out and share my thoughts and life in writing.

There are really lots of things to be thankful of, thus I think that too is part of my day before I end the night.


Photos are all MINE...


12
$ 19.61
$ 18.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @sgbonus
$ 0.15 from @MizLhaine
+ 9
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago

Comments

Ang ganda naman diyan. Is it in a province? It's nice to work and travel at the same time. We get to see the beauty of the world instead of always being cooped up in the office or at home. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm really proud of you that you go that far just to treat patients. Continue being a great therapist and continue making other peoples lives better for the future. Keep safe po always!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a great job that you do. Thanks for giving us a glimpse of it. I loved the photographs you took during your day. Cheers!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

God bless you sis.. aside from this job, you need to also be friendly and all to your patients... minsan mahirap yun.hehe may mga patients ba kayong may attitude din?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I salute you for doing a great job at your work. Thanks for sharing us a glimpse of how your life goes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naa pud kay mga saputon nga pasyente madam? Haha. Murag di man jud na mawala. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahhh. Bliss!! Nature at its finest, doctora!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I thought it's a worth it day. You can feel the beauty of a nature. I love the sunset, it's really beautiful.

Still, stay safe always especially when driving. God bless you.🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tiring it was... but the beauty nature offers is the best cure to behold.. ingat sa palaging pagdadrive out of town for duty.. I think sgbonus is also a PT

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wao, that is nice you are Physiotherapist. I am vet doctor both have common factor of God's creation Services. Great Applause from my side.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks and more power to health workers indeed!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a wonderful ending for a day, a lovely sunset and gratitude. It's good that you have a car otherwise it will be a challenge to do what you do. It's funny that you say Google trusts your driving. I don't trust Google most of the times lol! Sometimes it indicates landmarks where it wasn't supposed to be :D I'm glad okra works for her. Maybe she should look into ginger and turmeric as well :)

Stay safe always!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

My parent's car hahah! Hinihiram pag malayo at medyo alanganin ako sa pag byahe. Totoo yan wala minsan sa ayos si google map, sabi 1 hr pero higit pa pala hahah! Cguro mabilis magpatakbo toh si google anoh? 😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha! Oo nga. Kelangan ng mas magandang mapping ulit. Need na mag update ni Google :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago