Filipino Time

33 57
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago

Today, I went to my aunt’s place, an hour ride from home by bus. My aunt had a neighbor there that needed Physiotherapy, so I’m off to check it out and quickly endorsed it to a PT near them. After the sumptuous lunch and chitchat, I hurriedly said goodbye because I still have a patient in the next municipality that was recently referred by our Physiatrist.

 Anyways, that’s not the topic actually, let’s talk about some funny ways of Filipinos. I don’t know, I might be biased to generalize it on our race, so forgive me. But, somehow I’ve seen and experienced it with a lot of us, so this is just a mere observation, not all actually, because I for one isn’t like this haha! Defensive? Yes, I always try to come on time.

So, while I was seated in the bus, my sleepy head wanted to doze off to dreamland. My eyes were closed and my consciousness was about to wander into oblivion, however, I got interrupted by this middle-aged woman beside me, with a very loud voice on the phone. So ooopps, forgive me, I’m eavesdropping on their conversation with her husband. Am I? But, she wanted everyone on the bus to hear her, perhaps not eavesdropping after all!

Then, I just heard something silly that made me chuckle, she actually and seriously told her husband: “Okay, hun, I’ll meet you there at eight o’clock sharp, and try not to be on time, will you?”

 LOL! She’s just being honest. As they say, Filipino time.

Of course, this is not something to be proud of, being late is not a good habit. But, how did Filipino time come to be considered tardiness? 

I have read an article about the Intriguing History of Filipino Time, and realized that this bad habit has been notorious not only in the present time, but way back in history. Popular political leaders, even the famous books of Jose Rizal mentioned this mañana habit - Filipino time, a negative practice that has been persistent until now.

Moreover, this habit patterned us in making excuses, or worse, lies. The most popular excuse actually for not coming on time is the traffic, lol! But, traffic is just horrible most of the time in the Philippines. True! But, we can always do something- leave home early, drop your car for gas refill in the evening and not before work, make a simple breakfast, or iron clothes and ready everything in the evening. So easy, right?

Last Thoughts

Filipino time, we should just laugh about it, and not apply it habitually in our lives. As some people say, we can always do something to improve ourselves, if not we can just sadly turn into making excuses all time. It’s just a matter of disciplining ourselves that something can be done. Just commit.

Do you have recent experience of this seemingly bad habit? What can you do to stop it?


Some of my articles that would stir motivation:

Laziness is Bondage

The Awesomeness of Freedom 

A Lifetime of Questions 

Go Higher in Motivation 

Grace Under Pressure

Pull It Off


Heaps of thanks for all your support, guys!


Lead Image and all photo from Pixabay (free images, no attribution required)

All Original Content (unless specified otherwise)

01/28/2022

©️ LykeLyca


Write articles and join us! Click read.cash

Make some noise by writing short posts. Click noise.cash

Follow me in Twitter @LycaLyke

Start mining, trading/ copy trading in Bityard



18
$ 8.81
$ 8.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @JLoberiza
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 15
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago

Comments

I have a worst experience with this Filipino time. But yes, hindi talaga to maganda na ating ipractice. I have attended trainings hosted by non-Filipinos they will really start on time, kahit wala pa masyado participants. Sana ito yong ma improve ko sa 2022.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ay totoo yan sis, kakahiya talaga sa ibang foreign delegates kc ung iba pa importante..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako po ininiwasan ko po na makagawian na laging malate at hindi sumunod sa call time. Kahit noon pa pong nag wowoworking student ako ay pinipilit ko po laging makapasok on time sa school man o sa work po. Pero ako po maraming kaibigan na ganyan, kapag may mga lakad po kami panay ako ang naghihintay sa kanila pero hindi ko naman po mapagalitan dahil wala ako sa posisyon at baka may ginawa nga po silang importante.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ayyy I feel you sis, paano ba magalit sa mga taong late..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi ko nga pong magawang magalit sa kanila eh dahil baka sabihin po ay unconsiderate ako hahahha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have practice these bad habits of coming late to school lectures and so on . But I just think the best thing for me to do to cure these habits is to learn how to be punctual

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think Time maintain is not so hard work. We just need good mentality to reach anywhere in just time. But maximum time we don't able to reach some place in just time. It is very bad.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kc nman matraffic sa pinas kya lage late 🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

excuses!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had been trying to come early but my experience is this, ako ang early bird and it takes a lot of waiting time so the next meeting, I'd slack a bit but end up still the early bird.. sad life

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha! Grabe talaga ibang tao notorious na for being late..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People here also tend to not be on time and to come out with excuses out of the blue. And it really bothers me when it is an appointment because it's like detracting from the value of other people's time.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's everywhere haha! Sad that some people don't respect other people's time..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As a person who handles a lot of people I don't tolerate tardiness. That's why they call me strict but I don't mind as long as they don't ignore the rules I'm fine with it

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ayyy korek ka jan sis, rules are rules talaga dapat..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naexperience ko yan Noon nag aaral pa ako. Kaya tuloy ako nahahawahaan na kasi alam kong late naman dadating mga kausap ko ee di magpa late na din hahaha. Pero di naman lagi, kasi mas gusto ko din talaga tumambay sa school non so kahit late mga kasama ko keri lang hahaha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Uu nga noh, minsan ganyan din nangyayari.. pero kainis pa rin..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This so called Filipino time is not only from the Philippines, it is extended to several countries. For me it is a lack of respect for the person waiting, I don't like to be kept waiting, so I don't make them wait for me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Really lack of respect for others..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can go to school 15 minutes before time but when it comes to church, no matter how hard I try, I am always late. For me, it boils down to your commitment. Maybe I have had not the same commitment in church as I have at school.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are certainly right! It boils down to commitment..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is one of our bad habits indeed. I always try to be on time. If I would be late for just a minute, I'm already so embarrassed about it. Sometimes if I know that I won't make it on time, I'll just call for absence.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Really embarrassing.. I don't know some can take it..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's one of the things I hate the most because I don't like waiting lol!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

same here..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol sis , what a coincidence. Its called African time down here. Really quite frustrating when someone you are expecting keeps you waiting.. I think mist f us have gotten used to this already

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol! So, this is everywhere!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In my country people are also used to arrive with excuses for being late. I have never liked to be late and I have also trained my son with the same discipline. When I am late it is my strangest excuse in life. And I'm sure it was caused by obstacles on the road and not by my lack of time.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sure is. The discipline must start from our home indeed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi lang pala satin ganon te haha mas natawa ako dito sa unang nag comment 😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

uu nga kahit saan pala haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We here too, have what we call African time, anyone telling you he or she will be on time expecting the person to be an hour late,but as you said Is a bad habit that we all need to work on.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

An hour late is just annoying for me..

$ 0.00
2 years ago