Better Together

48 47
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago

Before starting, let me play this song from Jack Johnson. I was reminded of this song a day ago, from a photo I took in the front yard of my patient's house. Likewise, it reminds me of a good friend back in the academe days, Lina, not her real name, when she married her best friend.

Lina and I had a catch-up a week ago, when I met her while grocery shopping after work and went to continue our chit chat over dinner in a restaurant just inside the mall.

Let me tell you a short cute story of them. I told her that I'll share it with my friends in the virtual world, and she disagree. But, when I blurted out to make it cute and superficial, she then gave me the okay sign. Well, I hope I could keep the promise, lol!


It was a Saturday afternoon when her husband asked if she'd like to see a movie that night.

"Sure," she replied.

So, about 9PM after the baby had gone to bed, she sat on the couch as he inserted a DVD into the video player.

"What movie did you get?" Lina asked. "I thought we'd watch My Best Friend's Wedding," he responded with a nod and a twinkle in his eyes.

He then handed her a glass of wine and hit the play button. But instead of seeing Julia Roberts come up on the screen, she realized suddenly watching a group of familiar faces... and the beginning footage of their wedding day five years ago.


Aww, isn't that the sweetest? Indeed, it was her best friend's wedding, eh?

When he proposed to her to level up their relationship, Lina never had second thoughts. She reassured herself that she won't lose him along the way, and he promised her as well that entire new level of intimacy would never spoil the friendship that was formed by time.

And, indeed, they somehow make it work until now.

"The best love is finding your soulmate in your best friend." - Unknown

That's what she told me when I asked her why they end up together... maybe forever.

Trusting was a smooth resolution for her each time she needed to confide about something. There is a commitment that was built in time and experience that they both shared in the toughest and the longest of time, being best friends for 6 years and dating afterwards for 3 years.

Indeed, your best friend, shares with you every pain and happiness, celebrating with him in the ups and cried with him down in the dumps. You both, knew each other so well, compliments each others weaknesses, laugh, speak, understand and fight sometimes.

That all, made her realize that, "we are better together."

Somehow, it works for them, and some just don't. I think it all depends on the level of understanding and respect that you both have for each other.

What do you think?


This was the photo that triggered all the lovely thoughts around my head couple of days ago. The meet up has been a complimentary experience to finally come up a lovey-dovey article, lol!

The view of my patient's frontyard, posted this yesterday in noise.

Video from YouTube

Lead Image/ Image 1 from my photostream in Flickr

Image 2 first appears in noise.cash

Content by me. 10/20/21

©️ LykeLyca


22
$ 8.95
$ 8.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @Geekgirl
$ 0.10 from @Pichi28
+ 13
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago

Comments

Pwede din ito sa kantang "I Fell in love with my bestfriend" :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe ang kulit nung part na yung wedding nila ang naka play sa halip na yung movie ni Julia Roberts. Lakas maka surprise. Lahat talaga ng love story nag uumpisa sa friendship. Dun naman kasi talaga nadedevelop sa next level habang lumalalim ang relationship. Kahit sakin ganun din. Friends muna kami at naglalaro ng rpg game bago ko sya naging bf. God bless sa married life ng friend mo.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ayyy cute din story nyo sis. Kapatid ko rin naging husband nya ngaun ang spouse nya sa game dati..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

kita kaya when? mostly my guy best friends are all married and my lady bestfriend is engage too.. aguy sana coming na si destiny hahaha

swerte si Lina for fingding her soulmate in her best friends body ehehehee

$ 0.02
2 years ago

mao jud parehas sila og commitment level mao ng okay kaau jud.. kita ani coming soon pa daw sis hehe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

paabot lang ta kay basin nasaag pa ug giagian beb hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truly cute indeed hehe. I like the song too. First time to listen to it.

That is how we start, as friends and take it to another level.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sana all!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Is always good to marry one best friend, although it doesn't work out for some. I pray I marry the right person too

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, it didn't work with my guy best friend either. But, I'm glad coz we remain friends till now. I'm sure you'll find that right person soon. Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Diyan naman talaga nagsisimula dapat yung relationship Ms. Ly.

Sa part ko naman, from strangers to friends to lovers yung flow nang love story namin.. Hehe..Wala naman kasi akong tinuturing na Best friend na tao. Si God yung Best Friend ko. o:-)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ay ibang level nmn si God sis, of course He is the ultimate Best Friend and the Best in everything.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wowowow. That is very convenient way to be in love with. Imagine. You are best friends. This person knows every little detail about you including your flaws and the troubles that comes with you but still loves you anyway not just as a friend but as a partner.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true sis, I think i can embrace every imperfection as a friend, but when i think its a different thing if mahimo ng life partner heheh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maganda talaga pag bestfriend to lovers. Pero yun nga, sa iba nag wowork sa iba hindi. Sa experience sad nako, I only have one boy bestfriend to court me before. Niya kay siya ra man lagi usa, mahadlok ko maguba amoang friendship maong wala ko nisugot, I let him understand and he did. Now, happy na siya with his partner and same with me, and we stayed as bestfriend. Share ko lang ate. Hahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Parehas ta sis. Though sa ako akoy nilayo after ma feel nko na naay something, pero until now friendship lang gihapon, naa na sad syay family na iyaha..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i first heard this song from Us the duo.. do you know that couple sis?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The couple in my article is a friend of mine, wala ko kabalo anang sa Us the duo. Checking it pa lang..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mas maganda talaga from friendship to lover kasi naka built na yong closeness and trust.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Mao jud sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lovely story and song. I believe that some best friends are meant to be. Like your friends. :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, so happy for them.. Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is a very good love story that began as a great friendship.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Maka LSS ang song ate haha. Wala akong crush na bestfriend ko . at naniwala ako sa expect the unexpected HAHAHAA

$ 0.02
2 years ago

As in nice jud ang song, dugay na kaau na nga song oi underrated kaau.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aguy.. Sarap siguro na kasama mo sa buhay ang taong komportable ka sa kanya, at alam nya yung mga bagay na nakakatouch ng puso. Yung magkasundo kayo sa pahat ng bagay at nagkakaunawaan.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kaya nga sis.. Haayy nasan na kaya sya hahha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aguy, baka natraffic pa!! 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww This is the best feeling ever Getting married to my best friend is what I’ve always prayed for I pray God keeps their union Happy married life to them both

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aw, I hope that will come to you too someday.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for sharing the Song, I love the tone of it. Sometimes bestfriends they are the best to loved.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh! One of my fave songs, keep going back in my all time fave playlist..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice story, surely it was already a platonic love that became a reality, who knows. Long marital life.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Indeed, I think it's a matter of commitment, I wish them the forever too..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes ma'am Lyca. I think mostly will turn out into a happiness one when bestfriends turn into lovers since both of you know each other well. There is a widen understanding and I know it will going smoothly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for this awesome article For me I think not all best friend can become lovers like they do. because immediately some best friend enter into love affair they start seeing the flaws of each other. Some best friend and meant to be best friends and some you can go into a relationship with them but the major thing has rightly said by you,it all depends on the level of understanding and respect that you both have for each other. Understanding ,Respect,Wisdom matter a lot in a perfect marriage and relationships. Thanks.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Well, I agree with you. Some best friends getting into an intimate relationship end up losing each other. just sad. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you very much for your upvote it really mean alot to a new member like me and I hope some you be part of my sponsors that day will be most one of the happiest of my day on read cash. Thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have had the possibility of having good friends in life. Luckily I have been able to count on them in difficult moments, but also in moments of joy.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

They're good friends indeed hard to find them nowadays.. Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

weeehee i clicked play ..while reading the story!!! :) cuuute

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Cute ng kanta kaya dapat cute din ang storya hahah! Gusto ko sana fiction kaso hirap brain cells hahha!

$ 2.01
2 years ago

True bagay nga sa story! Ang galing lang kasi pareho silang invested sa friendship at sa pag level up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true sis kaya it works for them...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ikaw sis... Kelan ka mag aasawa? 🤭

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Next question please... hahah!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Loveydovey talaga, doctora hehe!

$ 0.02
2 years ago