Oh It's Cold in the Philippines

31 54
Avatar for LucyStephanie
2 years ago

Yes, you read that right. I just got home from my first travel in 2022 when I started writing this! No I am not freezing because we don't have snow. And I don't live in Baguio City or Tagaytay as well so let's not get too excited. πŸ˜†

If you don't live in the Philippines you might think it's weird to have cold weather here if we're not in the mountains. After all we live in a tropical country. But thanks to hanging Amihan (cool Northeast monsoon wind) it's always cold during -Ber months until January.

When I was a kid it would get cold even before December. These days it's only really cold during December to January. (Blame it on global warming and all the pollution we've been doing.) By cold I mean maybe around 22Β°C? I'd love to say it's colder but our weather bureau says otherwise. πŸ˜†

Screenshot from PAG-ASA website, Jan. 2, 2022.

See the pic? Only 22.4Β°C and that was early this morning. Well hey tonight it feels like it's colder. Felt like I was inside an airconditioned place while I was on my bike.

What was I doing outside today? Well since mid-December I rarely go far from home. I think I've only commuted to farther places around 5 times since I came back here in Metro Manila.

Of course I went out maybe around 10 times or so in total if I add going to the nearby sari-sari (variety) stores. No need to go far for food when I can buy rice, egg and some canned goods nearby. Hehe.

So today I used my bike again only for the 2nd or 3rd time since I came back. (I love how cycling saves me fare money. Haha. I can exercise too!) Went to buy a tablet cord, went to mass and also had a massage! Oh yeah. ❀

My first travel of the year went really well except for the cold weather. Huhu. It was bearable though. Felt like when I went to that property development in Batangas last month. That area is supposed to really be a bit cold because it is near Tagaytay, the second coldest place in the country. I can imagine how it must be colder there now. πŸ˜…

At home I have been wearing my jacket almost all day everyday since I came back. It's only natural to wear one inside the house when feeling cold you know. I don't like the cold unless it's summer.

Ok so I went out around 5 pm so it wouldn't be hot outside. I knew the sun would still be up because it's early in the year. Oh I was clearly not thinking of the right weather even if I thought of the longer daylight. Hello self, it's not summer! πŸ˜‚

Forgetting it is still the cold and rainy season in my country, I went out without a jacket. Makes me laugh now. I have been wearing one at home but I went outside and didn't think of using one. πŸ˜‚ (Somebody bring back my brain! πŸ˜‚)

I didn't feel the cold until I was pedaling. Goodness gracious. I didn't think of going back home even if I was still nearby. So I went all the way to the electronics store and bought the cord.

Thought I wouldn't sweat at all but I got a few drops running down my cheeks and neck. Good enough for me. Usually when it's summer I'd be soaked. I love this kind of weather only if I would be doing physical exertions like exercise. Hahaha.

After I bought what I needed I went to the church for the 6 pm mass. This time there was a bit more sweat but still my hair wasn't dripping so bad at all. Yay for cold weather! πŸ˜„

I was 15 minutes early but I forgot to go and have some mass intentions done. Ugh. Blame it on me despairing over my back phone cam issue instead. I mean, the interior of the church looks wonderful because of the Christmas decor and I couldn't even take a proper picture of it. No thanks to Instagram Reels! πŸ™ŠπŸ˜–

How dare you get corrupted? Why oh why?!

That's the only new thing I've been doing on my phone the past week. It actually caused overheating several times but I thought nothing of it. And then suddenly when I tried using the back camera all I could see was a black screen. Huhu.

Y u do this to me Instagram? Y u do this HTC U11, Android 9? πŸ˜– I already updated my phone but still the back camera doesn't work. HTC online support doesn't even reply at all. I even contacted Android by Google. Haven't told Instagram about it though. Hmmm must inform them what happened.

This phone situation is just terrible! Why not when it means I have to buy a new phone again just after 2 years! What the f---. I can use the front cam but the back is useless! 😣

Maybe I will just buy a DSLR instead. Would probably spend the same amount of money anyway, or maybe half. I haven't checked yet. Ah well...

Here's that crappy front camera photo of the church altar and its decorations. Didn't feel like looking very silly in front of other people when taking a picture using the front camera so, voila!

Anyway thank God for the new year. Even if last year I wasn't at a good place financially at least I was able to travel to 3 provinces! Hurray!!! πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘ (Batangas, La Union and Cebu) I was even able to go on a plane again after less than a decade! Hahaha. I love it.

After the mass I felt the cold air once more. Still I am thankful because I didn't sweat that much while biking all the way to the spa. Woohoo! That was about less than a km away from the church. It's a new place I tried for the first time because I wanted a dry massage.

Of course no picture again because of my busted phone cam. Place didn't look Instagrammable anyway. Even the interior was just so-so. The aircon is too weak. Not that I want it very cold but without it the air was kinda stale. Told the massage personnel that it was kinda hot so she went and told the management. After a few minutes the air was finally cooler and better.

I got the Shiatsu massage and boy did it feel real good. Haven't experienced Shiatsu in years! Haha. My back and neck has been hurting since I came back so it's definitely good I finally got that much needed full body massage.

The experience was top notch! Wow. My body was happy the whole time, especially my back and lower legs. Haha. Didn't think I'd enjoy it that much. Next time I might go back but I just don't like the ambience of the place. Not sure when I'll get to travel again after today's trip.

Oh and guess what, despite the cold I bought some local ice cream along the way! Dang. Haha. My favorite flavor was sold out so had to resort to the second best one. Mango Pili by Papa Didi's! (Sorry no pics again because I still hate my phone cam. πŸ˜…) After I paid for it I went straight home, took off my pedal pants, wore a jacket, put on my shorts and used a blanket as skirt! Ah finally I was warm. πŸ˜†

The only reason I went out today was because of the roving barangay (village/district) vehicle that made a megaphone announcement: Stricter quarantine is back in Metro Manila. Yeah starting tomorrow, January 3, it will be Alert Level 3 again. It made me think of doing everything I did today before most businesses close once more. That means just going out of the house qualifies as kinda major traveling since the pandemic started. πŸ˜‚

Still got some food from New Year's Eve so might as well stay home until it's all gone. πŸ˜† Meaning I won't be going out again for several days. I am still not safe from the cold weather though. πŸ˜‚

Hope you're feeling the cool Amihan too! Despite whatever bad thing might be happening to anyone, at least the weather is not hot at all. It's just the right temperature imho. Oh yes indeed. ❀

Now where's that healthy superfoods coffee of mine? Forgot to buy some to keep me warm. πŸ˜‚

XOXO,

@LucyStephanie

* * *

Lead image from Unsplash.

Not a member of read.cash yet?Β Click here to join us so you'll have some Bitcoin Cash too! Let's microblog onΒ noise.cashΒ as well!

8
$ 5.34
$ 5.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @bbyblacksheep
+ 6
Sponsors of LucyStephanie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for LucyStephanie
2 years ago

Comments

Ok lang sana kung malamig lang. Pero dito samin palaging umuulan. Pagkatapos ng bagyong odette mga ilang araw lang na umiinit the rest ulan na.πŸ₯Ί

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww hirap tlga pag may bagyo...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabi pa rin mandin ang lamig, kahit ngayon nga ee naka jacket ako at sobrang lamig talaga. Epro ang maganda lang dito ee ang sarap matulog sa gabi baga haha. .. anyways, sana lahat nakapag pamassage na πŸ™ˆ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga eh, sarap matulog. Haha. Baka meron home service massage s inyo. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was indeed cold especially in Batangas! Been there to visit my inlaws Haha,maybe you need to buy for a new phone

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ba? Brrr. Haha.

Maybe I can buy a new one if cryptos go back up again. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

tsaa

Oo sa akin nga kapag may ng forward ng video sa messenger hindi ko minsan maplay nag kusa na close ang appπŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is no more cold there 22.4Β°C is normal temperature i think we feel more cold becuase here in our country Pakistan,there are four weathers summer winter autumn or spring and in winter the normal temperature is below then ,-12Β°C and very cold and we cycle there in this temperature and every where is snow falling,You enjoyed your cycle in coldπŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah it's not cold for those who have winter. Haha. But since we don't it's already cold enough for us. Not too much but just enough. πŸ˜ƒ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah now in our city temperature is 19Β°c.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh that's cold indeed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A proud Pinoy here haha, apaka lamig talaga sa Pilipinas lalo na pag rainy seasonπŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha kaya nga eh. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I envy you for travelling to Batangas, La Union and Cebu. I would want to visit the last 2 as I haven't been there yet.

It is really sad that we only get to experience the cold weather for a short time. Huhuhu. I do not want to blame the global warming or the climate change but I would want to blame us. πŸ˜”

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayun n nga, tayo rin may kasalanan sa mabilis na climate change...

Mapupuntahan m rin mga yan soon. Hehe. Planuhin na yarnnn. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Naku sa ngayon takot pa talaga ako lumayo ng byahe. NakapagNorth ako late last year pero para sa business nila Kuya ko. Yung pasyal ang hindi pa. Takot talaga ako. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako rin puro not pasyal dahilan kaya ako napadpad sa mga lugar na yan. Sinisingit ko lang makagala pag nagka-time para di sayang punta dun. Haha. Pero sa La Union wala tlgang napuntahan. Dagat lang. XD

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa La Union kung pupunta ako doon ay una para sa mga virtual friends natin na tiga elyu, para matuto magsurf, para sa vlog at para maghanap ng boylet. 🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually kung may time and extra cash lang ako gagawin ko rin yan nung pumunta ako doon eh. Olats lang kasi yung van service gabi na dumating kaya nasayang yung isang araw na binayad ko sa hostel. Saklap. Haha.

Palusot nila umulan daw kasi ng malakas at nagkatraffic kaya delayed ng ilang oras. If I know tlgang gabi naman byahe nila sinabi lang na afternoon para sumama ako sa byahe. Kakaloka.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay nakakainis yang ganyan. Dapat sila magbayad nung 1 day na yun sa hostel.

By the way, dito ka sa Metro Manila lang?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala eh, may palusot sila kasi umulan nga naman ng malakas nung hapon... Oh well.

Yup. QC me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice. 😊 san ka sa QC? Ako malapit sa Sandiganbayan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Near Sikatuna.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice. Malapit lang. Pwedeng magpaGrab sa inyo. Hehe. Si Firenze ang kadalasan napapadalhan ko sa virtual friends.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

me imagining i get to also have a massage... happy new year!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha pwede siguro home service kung meron diyan. Happy new year too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aee same here sis. Its hard to took a bath everyday because its super cold. Lets keep dry !! Its raining everyday.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha sa Baguio noon tlga hirap maligo. D ako naliligo unless may mainit na tubig.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Auhahhaha ang ginaw kc

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly my thoughts 🀧 it's been raining here continuously for a week now. We are sick as well because of it. Keep safe lagi kayo jan sis. Happy new year, by the way. πŸŽ‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayun lang. hehe, kailangan uminom ng hot coffee or hot choco palagi. Or tsaa. Hehe. Keep safe too and Happy new year!

$ 0.00
2 years ago