Making Lemonade out of Rude and Abusive Neighbors, Pt 1

67 81
Avatar for LucyStephanie
2 years ago

I am freewriting this because I just have to share it to the world. Might as well get something out of my misery eh? I shall make lemonade out of lemons today. I've been having these lemons for more than a year now, it's time to finally make something out of it.

You see we have "new" neighbors in our apartment. They moved here back in 2018 I think. I know because suddenly out of the blue there was some kind of duck or chickens across our kitchen window. It used to be an open space with just some wild plants and such. One day it just suddenly had some rooster/chicken coop. Suddenly the world was not that quiet anymore. Nobody even said a word to me.

At that time I had just ended my dual job. Oh boy that was really hard. Haha. Working as a real estate agent during the day while working as a call center agent at night is not easy. 😂 I just thought I'd try it because I could.

The worst part was not being able to sleep enough, the best part was my considerate manager. 😂 I remember I became a regular sleeping quarters resident, something that I had never been before. Also was happy the BPO company I worked at had a shower area. Ah thank God for that. I was practically almost living there during weekdays. Haha.

So anyway as I was saying, in 2018 I needed to rest. I got really tired working two jobs. At least I had accomplished such a difficult thing. 😂 I decided the new year would be a time for me to stay home and not work for a while. Meaning I didn't apply for a new job once my contract in both companies were done.

And then I started writing online for another pay-to-write site. At least I was earning something even if I didn't really have any work. I had access to the internet thanks to my sibling.

As early as that time I was already a "work at home" individual. Meaning I just wrote online and did nothing else except rest my tired body. I remember the distinct sound of this noisy and distracting animal. It looked like a duck and because it was noisy I took a video of it.

The neighbors

In 2019 some of the neighbors began using the open area as workspace. Sometimes they would put tools and random things I consider junk under my window. I mean come on! One time upon seeing all the chaos and scattered plywood and tools I couldn't help but loudly exclaim, "What? Is this a dump site now?"

And from then on, they finally cleaned up their stuff. However the "new" neighbors, married couple I will call Guy and Gal, turned out to be the new property administrator. How that happened I am not sure, I was probably already back to working in late 2018 that I was unaware of it.

During that time until 2019 the guy would be occasionally drinking with some buddies outside our bedroom windows. It's an open area between two units and was meant to be a place to hang and dry clothes. During this time they slowly began to make it a public area to celebrate birthdays or anniversaries. It didn't happen often so I was fine with it but I could hear everything they were talking about. One time they even talked about Biringan City too! Pffft. The things people talk about when drunk.

Fast forward to 2020 and the pandemic happened. Guess what, instead of people staying inside their units, these two neighbors began "expanding" their property. More roosters were added behind our unit and instead of the previous junk dump under my window, the senior neighbors across our unit put a mini potted garden. Okay, since it made the area "beautiful" I didn't say a word and I'm not against it. Better to have plants than a dump site.

Take note, Guy and Gal lived on one of the higher floor units but they are using the ground floor as if they own it too. My problem is really these newbies and only slightly the senior couple living across us too.

I didn't even know Guy and Gal have become "in charge" of our apartment. Didn't attend any "election" meeting so how should I know? I've only ever attended one and that was when our uncle was still in their unit and that's it.

(No I am not someone who would go out and about getting to know my neighbors. 😂 I don't talk to strangers that much but if they have talked to us before of course we would nod and such when we see them.)

My sibling was the one who found out when one time suddenly Gal knocked on our door and asked for payment of monthly dues. Huh? We've never even heard of such a thing in all the years we've lived here. We've been here for more than a decade and no monthly dues at all.

Apparently there is an overdue amount for several years. Seriously? He paid some and I paid some as well. My sibling even asked if there were other amounts needed to be paid. The couple would never even bother to give a list to him even if he asked several times.

So anyway the pandemic happened and Guy and Gal + seniors and outsiders would gather round the table and chairs they moved to the open space. Wtf. They would cook, eat, talk and smoke around the table like it wasn't a pandemic. Wth? They even watched TV in that area. Correction, they watched online sabong (cockfighting) at night while smoking and drinking. Plus add the roosters and wow it has become such a disruptive place to live in.

At first we didn't care about Guy and Gal until they became inconsiderate, rude and abusive people. Who in their right mind would smoke and be loud and put noisy roosters in front of someone else's home when it's not even theirs? Of course we were the only ones who mainly get bothered by it because those animals were right in front of our windows!

And then they kept smoking everytime they were in the open space. All the second hand smoke would go inside my room. I asked them nicely the first few times to not smoke there but I was met with disregard. It took months of constantly telling them not to smoke before they actually stopped doing so. I even had to put a no smoking sign several times just so they will be reminded everytime they go to the open space.

The incidents

One time Guy and I even had an argument in front of his "buddies" where he did not even have the guts to talk to me. I caught him smoking and he hid the cigarette! Just had his back turned to me the whole time and his lackeys were the one talking to me. One of them said I should close my window. What, I don't have a right to fresh air? I only had one window slightly open and they pollute the only air coming in? Why would I close my window? Why can't they move to another area instead?

Another neighbor even apologized for Guy's behavior probably because he was just looking at the TV and not responding at all. WTF. It was not only him who was smoking but he is supposedly the "big boss" around here and yet he can't even do something so simple? Well what can we expect from irresponsible cigarette addicts huh?

Remember this was last year, a time when everyone was new to being supposedly locked indoors. So of course in consideration I only asked them to stop smoking in that area and didn't even tell them to transfer back to the previous public loitering area where more people would equally be bothered by their noise.

It's been more than a year and they constantly made the open space as their meeting place like it's the public living/dining room. Hah! Before my outburst, as early as 7 or 8 am they would be there talking and eating as if they didn't know noise travels easily inside all the units in this building. Seriously I think they feel privileged just because they are in a position of "power".

They even have a kagawad (councilor) in their pocket! One time they held a drinking session in the open space in the middle of the night. Hey we were in quarantine and they were having a drinking session with a kagawad and his people? WTF?

There was also a time when they held sabongs during Sundays so of course they were noisy! Geddemmet. One time I heard someone said a policeman was asking around if there was some sabong going on here. Hah, that scared them. Finally they have stopped doing it here.

Pwe marunong naman pala matakot sa pulis.

Anyway they also did stop smoking in the area but I would still smell it from time to time. And yet even up to this year his lackeys and "guests" would loiter in that open space and smoke.

You know, here in the Philippines, guests are brought inside the house. INSIDE THE HOUSE. Everyone here in this apartment building does so except them and the seniors. Amazing huh?

One time they even set up the swab test for the whole apartment in the open space. Wow, I asked the organizers why did they put it there instead of in front and beside the stairs where everything was usually done? I said, "so that's why it's noisy," bla bla bla. And then I saw Guy so I asked him why he had the swabbing area set up in front of our windows. And of course he made up another implausible excuse to make it seem like it's plausible. I didn't bother arguing.

This all happened in front of other neighbors waiting for the swab test and the swab test personnel. Why? Because as mentioned, if you're nice to them, they will disregard you. And this was actually so I had witnesses in terms of my outburst and my "testimonial", haha.

So I kept talking loudly telling Guy they are always noisy and have made the place a loitering area since the pandemic started, bla bla bla. What, I always have witnesses because I do not want these people to lie about the situation they've been doing since last year. They are manipulative and abusive people. I know how to deal with such types having been exposed to these people my entire life.

This is me being a nice neighbor even if they are the ones completely overstepping the line which escalated last year. Just this month I again publicly confronted Guy and company because some outsiders were again smoking in the open area. Guy and "friends" already knows people shouldn't be smoking there and yet not even one person told those outsiders/lackeys of his to smoke elsewhere.

In my annoyance I told them to stop using it as a loitering space. He angrily replied back saying it is a public area. Duh, it's a public area for drying clothes and not for people to make it their outdoor living room (like a pseudo house extension). For years no one had been noisily using it to disturb others except for them. They were doing the opposite, instead of not having meetings and such during the pandemic that's when they started mass gathering! (How smart of them.)

Of course I'm sure the neighbors heard everything.

But wait there's more! This is getting too long so I will share what happened next in Part 2.

XOXO,

@LucyStephanie

* * *

All images from Pixabay.

Not a member of read.cash yet? Come join us!

13
$ 6.98
$ 6.46 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @rebeysa85
$ 0.07 from @fantagira
+ 10
Sponsors of LucyStephanie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for LucyStephanie
2 years ago

Comments

I read it it and do not know what to say...sounds like some neighbours I had (dog fights and burning trash underneath my bedroom window), parties, drugs...

I would not pay for service if I never received or better signed for it at the moment I signed the contract (rented the apartment). Besides there is always an owner (or police) which I would contact.

It's time for G&G to move out!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know if G&G owns the unit or if they live there and whoever's mom invited them to live with her. Hopefully they move back out again otherwise I probably will soon if my future job pushes through.

Will see if the local officials will do something, if not I will check with the police.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We will always find these kinds of neighbors. How badly they behave every day and you are very patient with them. I do not understand how that kind of human beings do not mind disturbing the space of others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me too, I don't get why they don't care at all about others except themselves.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Inconsiderate neighbors. That is why the Commandments of God love thy neighbor is hard to follow because of these people. I have lots of neighbor that act like this. They even made a jumper and telling us wala silang pbayad NG kuryente pero may pambili sila NG drugs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True. Hay ewan sa kanila. Yung may jumper pwede i-report sa Meralco hehehe. Inulit ko comment kasi na-mark as spam. Whew.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have neighbors who are like yours, inconsiderate, rude and who think they are more than anyone, just thugs. Now they are keeping a low profile because my next door neighbor came back and she was a police officer and her boyfriend is an active officer too, plus their friends are police also, so, they can't do much out of fear of the law hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha maybe I should call the police too and have them take the roosters away. They are such bad and abusive neighbors who even get offended when they are the ones causing discomfort and annoyance to other people. Tsk.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish u put some poison to that lemonade xd jk. kakapal ah HAHAHA ganyanan daw kahit mali na sila tama parin sila

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually hahaha I wanna put some kung pwede lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kung owede talaga e kaso wala masamang pumatay 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga, kung ipis lng sila nakuuuu. hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i can't imagine having chickens and roosters in my window and random people too... instant alarm clock eh?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jusko almost everyday instant alarm clock. Tapos di ka makatulog kahit anong oras except gabi kasi maya't maya daldalan sila sa labas. Sinabihan ko n nga wag tambayan aba akala salas tlga doon walang patawad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So seeking the help of the barangay would be useless because one of the kagawads is a member of their group?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think so. I do not know the name though because I can only hear them talking and saying kagawad and that's all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

kakapal nang mukha ha...sila pa yung nasa mali tapos sila pa yung nasa taas pero di sila marunong makisama..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga, sana naging masama na lang ugali ko para mawala n rin sila dito eh. haha ewan ko ba. Nakakasawa maging sirang plaka.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

intayin ko part 2 para maging kumpleto din ang inis ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahahaha, sige may isa pang confrontation sa part 2. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yun yung hinhintay ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Neighbors can be abusive. The worst are the neighbors of my wife in their family house.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awtssss. Hay mga neighbors tlga...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gurl, calm your nerves. You'll get hypertension with that. Kidding! Hahaha. Just secretly take a video or picture of them every time they loiter and anonymously report to the police, so the police will take action upon them. You can't keep up with their abusive actions if you just confront them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah I can't take a secret video or picture because when you go to the open area you are very visible to everyone. One day I will take a picture. That is my problem as well, I don't have any physical evidence of what they keep doing. Haaaay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can't you take a picture secretly in your window? Or you may ask your other neighbors whom you're closest to help you. Ah, your situation is troublesome. Haha, just file a complaint in the Barangay if they wouldn't stop, if you are bold enough. That's quite risky, though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakow, kakutsaba lahat dito. Ung iba walang pakialam. Dinede-escalate ko na nga pinapalala tlga nila eh. Tsk wag na wag lang lumala at naku haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ano lang ba ginagawa ng landlord/landlady niyo diyan? Dapat eh sila nag-aasikaso niyan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wla kaming landlord/lady dito. Sa lola ko 'to eh. Pero abusado tlga sila mismo mga bldg admin. Sarap tuktukan eh ayoko lng ng away kaya di ko masyado pinapatulan kahit abusado.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay naku, kayo naman pala may-ari eh. Dapat sabihin monsa pamilya mo na palayasin niyo na yan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Apartment bldg 'to sis maraming units dito hahaha. Ndi amin lahat, isa lang tirahan namin dito.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww, ang hirap naman nang ganiyan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sawa n nga ako maging sirang plaka. Parang mga walang tenga. Tsk.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maglagay ka na lang air purifier or room deodorizer sa kwarto at saka mag headphones. Ikaw na lang mag-adjust, total ikaw lang naman pala may reklamo. Hahaha 😄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang pag-iingay n lng tlga yung problema. Yung yosi bihira n yun. Abangan m bukas yung part 2. Hahahaa~ Siyempre sa unit namin tinapat malamang kami lng magrereklamo tlga. E kung ilipat ko lahat ng manok sa tabi ng unit nila baka mag-alburuto pa mga yan. 🤣🤣🤣 World war 3 n nun. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay naku, mahirap kasi kausap mga ignorante. Ikaw lang ma highblood sa mga yan.

Aba sige nga, maabangan nga yang part 2 mo. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True kaya pagkakitaan n lng ng BCH hahaha sawa na ako mabwisit tlga. XD

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We also have that kind of neighbors before like the drunkards and noisy ones. My mom couldn't take it anymore so she reported them. Glad that they didn't do it again and find another place to annoy others. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well these people have been reported several times. They were fined one time for having a birthday party but then now no one else has been reporting them. They still continue gathering tsktsk.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my. Do they have respect? I bet they don't. 🥲

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly. They only care abt themselves... haaaay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ugh! Nothing's more annoying than having neighbors who are noisy asf. Kung ako yung nasa apartment mo, siguro hindi ako magtatagal hahha aalis nalang ako kasi baka makahanp pa ako ng gulo, Ang bilis ko pa naman mainis at magalit HAHAHAH

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. Nakakahayblad tlga sila. Malapit na ako lumayas tlga dito. Whew. Barubal ugali eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your neigbhors inavding your privacy you can report them in your barangay. I hope your brgy. Captain can help you on this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my gosh they have not done anything. So sad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay bakit po? may kapit po sila sa barangay?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think so. May kagawad silang nakakausap at dinala pa dito nag-inuman. E kinukunsinti pa sila at tinuturuan na pag ano daw dapat may picture as ebidensya. Ay sus e siya mismo alam nagpapasabong dito tapos ganon sasabihin? Juskolord. Baka binibigyan ng lagay kaya ewan ko lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I cant wait to get to the lemonade part! Hahaha. Next time they gather, kunan mo ng video, send mo sa IATF or kaya kay Idol Raffy.

Pero yung manok, adobohin mo nlang kaya. 🤣🤣🤣🤣. Teka... Hindi pala manok yun... Si Daffy yata yung nasa kulungan a.

Pero masarap pa ring adobohin yan. 😆😆😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Back in 2018 it was one Daffy. Hehe. These days puro pang-tinola at adobo na.

Naku yun na nga ang problema hindi ako nagpi-picture at nagvi-video tuwing nasa labas sila. Siyempre pag dumating ako dun at makita nila yung phone ko baka ano gawin sa akin. Sus. Everytime I confront them di ako nakaka-picture and video sa inis ko nilalabas ko na lng sila agad at kinakausap. Haaay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pasimple ka lang, kunwari me kausap ka sa phone mo. Tutok mo cam sa kanila. Siguraduhin mo lang na off ang volume mo baka me mav text o tumawag at mabuking ka. 😅😅😅😅

O kaya eto ang gawin mo. Bili ka ng papaya, dahon ng sili at iba pa. Tapos magluto la ng tinolang manok. Tapos bigyan mo sila. Sabihin mo peace offering.

😅🤣😅🤣😅😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha baka ipakulam ako ni Gal. Hahahaha. Sabagay barubalan ang gusto nila eh. 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my Lucy. Your neighbors are truly troublesome. You have your own problems to deal with and they add to that. I guess it's really time that you report them to authorities.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know right? They are really bad but the authorities still have not done anything. I think they are waiting for me to file a formal complaint. Tsk. Why can't they just do their job instead and establish peace and order... Haaay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well I can understand you on that since the system here is the same as what you said. But if they don't move without filing a complaint and your neighbors become too abusive, then perhaps you need to file if you have time. They are really disturbing your peace.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I pray it does not get worse otherwise I will really file a complaint. Aba nakakarami na sila naku. Pinakamalala e nasa part 2. Haha. Di naman sobra pero un ang latest nangyari.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama yan. I am with you in this!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the support! Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm afraid of confrontations, a chicken you might say. But hey, you go girl! People like that need to be taught a lesson.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hah if you will be harassed by someone or even bullied you have to fight for yourself otherwise they will just continue to abuse. The thing is I am just too nice and considerate even if they are bad neighbors. Hahahaha. That's why I still have the problem and it's been over a year.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hate talks but I could do with punches. hahaha! I might get myself put to jail if I let my temper get the best of me. So yeah, best if you call them out and take action(not physically of course). hehehe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay hahaha. Yes do not take such actions naku delikado. Hahaha.

I am praying it will not grow worse for us here. If they keep being abusive they will regret it. Lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Call the police if you must. Best if you keep Police station's numbers and/or Barangay posts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah I have their numbers but I hope we won't need it. I really hope for their sake because they will be the ones who will lose.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Prayers' up, then? God bless you, girl. I hope this gets fixed soon!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen! Thanks, I will think positive and hope for the best. I'm tired of being angry hahaha. My gosh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

takes a lot of energy to be mad, right? hahahah! positive vibes, let God deal with them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Super, aba isang taon mahigit na ako nagagalit nakakasawa na. Hahaha. Dasal na lang tlga after gawin lahat ng pwede, bahala na si Lord.

$ 0.00
2 years ago