Locked Out Of the House Because of COVID-19

30 52
Avatar for LucyStephanie
2 years ago

Smart move of the day: forgetting the house key INSIDE the house. Egads. What the heck. There I was staying at home for more than a week and then I decide to go out.

The water dispenser was already running out of water so of course I had to buy some. I emptied the remaining liquid into drinking glasses and got ready to go out. There's two round containers I need to bring to the nearest water station and then I also planned on buying some rice and egg.

πŸ”Έ Before I Was Locked Out

On Monday I finally paid the On the Job Training (OJT) I keep harping about. Can't procrastinate forever, and time is gold. Used some of my savings just to finally get it done.

Yeah as mentioned I just can't cash out any cryptos now since the crypto market is down. No choice but to use available cash for now. Sucks but such is life. Need to get on with it or else. πŸ˜…

So I was getting bored of waiting for the call of the person in charge of telling me about the rest of the requirements. (Let's call the person Mr. M.) Since I couldn't wait for him to call, this morning I asked the other person (in charge of other things) when I should expect his call. She said she'd follow up and that I should expect a call within the day.

Past 1 pm apparently I got a call but my phone was charging in the living room so I didn't hear it. Saw the text message of the caller (Mr. M) and that I should call back when I'm available. Sent him a message and was told to wait around 3 minutes as he was just eating real quick.

Mkay, 3 minutes was up and he still didn't call. Well I had things to do so I checked if my keys were in my pocket then carried the two water containers and locked the house door. I was just three steps out when oops, my phone rang. Darn. Answered the call while getting the key out of my pocket. Once inside the house I was able to talk properly.

πŸ”Έ OJT is Finally Almost at Hand

If you've been reading my articles here and my posts in noise cash then you'd know I have been talking about this since a month or so ago? It all started after my new career training back in May. The reason I went to Cebu City was to attend the 5 day face to face classes.

Even before that was over I already knew about the OJT. However since I felt it was expensive at the time I didn't even think of doing it at all. Recently I changed my mind only to find out the price has almost doubled. I wasn't prepared to do it then but if I did go as early as back then maybe I wouldn't be writing here anymore. Haha.

Unfortunately if only I didn't procrastinate and put value in time maybe I wouldn't have wasted months. Imagine, my procrastination took 4 months to end? Haha what's up with that? Took me a while before I could decide to go through with it. Sheesh. Blame it on suddenly thinking about being a nun. πŸ₯΄ It gave me a reason to finally just get on with the OJT I had been thinking of for the new career instead. πŸ˜‚

So when I answered the call from Mr. M today, I was finally relieved. Didn't have to anxiously wait anymore. It was a short interview of sorts as well as telling me some things I should expect.

The latest I would start on the OJT would be by mid-November. However he assured me I will likely be advised to go to the location earlier than that. Woohooo I'm kinda excited even if it will take 1 to 2 months.

Now what should I do? Lol. I should go finish that other TESDA online course hey! I haven't visited the website since last month. πŸ˜† It's going to be my refresher course before my OJT. Hehehe.

πŸ”Έ Absentmindedness and COVID-19 Made Me Do It

Can you guess what this is?

This is the gaping hole where a door knob should be. πŸ˜‚ Yeah I got locked out today because silly me, after the call I went ahead and brought the empty water containers to the water station and buy food. When I got back, surprise! I didn't have any keys! πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈπŸ˜‚

I thought the keychain was in my pocket but nooo, I went back in to take the call right? Well I placed it on the table and not back inside my pocket. πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ Good job self! This is what I get for not sleeping when I should be asleep. Brain cells are just not cooperating as best as they used to. πŸ˜‚

And so I texted an aunt living in another unit to ask if I could borrow the spare key. I also went to their unit and pushed the doorbell several times but no one answered. Even the water I ordered had already arrived but I was still waiting for someone to answer. Oh my. So I called her up on her mobile phone several times as well but it just kept ringing. That was weird. I thought she might be sleeping and wondered what might have happened for her not to answer.

I chatted up a cousin-in-law to ask our aunt's phone number because she might have a new one or something. Oh boy, I found out our aunt got COVID-19 last Thursday. Whoa. Don't know how and why but it seemed like it's a mild version so it's all good. No wonder nobody was answering the door and my calls/texts.

What great timing eh? They were confined at a faraway hospital because of the Corona virus. Ugh. What else was I to do since I could not pick the lock? I checked some YouTube videos but I didn't have anything on me to use at all.

My younger cousins already left for the States early this month and my brother have already gone to work in another country just last month. How else was I going to get inside our unit? Nobody else with a spare key was around!

That's why our house door just has a gaping hole now. Had to ask someone to break the doorknob with a hammer. I asked for help from our uncle's former employee. That guy told me to ask help from another guy he worked with nearby. He then said he would drop by tonight or tomorrow to put the new door knob in.

Good thing our door has a latch with chain plus there's also a screen door outside with another door latch. The problem would be when I need to leave the house.

Actually this lock out incident is the second time it happened after three or four years I think? The first time was because someone stole my purse where my phones and keys were. Ah why don't I listen to my instinct?

Before my purse was stolen I got the urge not to put my keys in my purse but decided to still put it in there. Today I did get an urge to not lock the door but thought it's absurd if I go out without locking the door. Should have checked my pocket instead. Ah my poor brain. πŸ™ƒ

πŸ”Έ I Left Our House Open and Without a Doorknob

Yes folks, how audacious of me. πŸ˜‚πŸ€­ Of course I covered the hole up with a cardboard or something so it wouldn't be so obvious it had a hole. Since there's a screen door nobody would really be able to see it's wide open unless they really check.

Hey I had to buy a new doorknob you know. Actually I wasn't able to eat lunch because of what happened. It was already almost 4 pm when I was able to go out after the door was finally open. No wonder I bought a lot of food. πŸ˜‚

I bought a slice of green mango on a stick, California Maki, donuts and munchkins, a bento meal plus some groceries for the rest of the week. πŸ˜… No pics of the first two and groceries though.

Once I got home I ate the mango slice with bagoong first. Oh, long time no eat green mango! Boy did it taste really good. Haha. Food really tastes great when you're famished. And then I ate the 4 pieces of maki next. πŸ˜‹ Thank you Lord! Didn't take any pictures because I wanted to eat everything. Hahaha. And then after I took some pics of the other food and put away all the rest, I ate the bento meal.

So anyway, maybe I should try assembling the door knob on my own huh? That way I wouldn't have to pay someone to do it. However I wouldn't know how to so I might just leave it to the experts instead. πŸ€” It does come with an instruction manual I think. Hmmm. Will watch some YouTube vids first and try if I can do it on my own. Haha.

After today's ordeal I feel like everything is back to normal like nothing happened. Except for the hole in the door I am thankful I am safe and cozy inside.

How about you, have you ever had your doorknobs destroyed just so you can get back inside the house?

XOXO,

@LucyStephanie

* * *

Lead image via Pixabay.

Other slice of life articles:

Not a member of read.cash yet?Β Come join us! Let's microblog onΒ noise.cashΒ too!

17
$ 6.53
$ 6.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @JustMyRambles01
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 8
Sponsors of LucyStephanie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for LucyStephanie
2 years ago

Comments

Saklap sis, nangyari sa akin din yan kamuntikan na masunog yung bahay kasi I was cooking rice at sa gasul pa man din. Sunog yung rice buti na lang anjan lang yung landlady kundi sunog buong compound.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aguyyy hirap nga yun pag nasunog.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah kasalanan ko pa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha next time make sure to have enough sleep so you won't forget the key. 🀧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haaaay. Maglalagay n lng din ako ng spare key sa wallet. Kaso pag di ko dala yun like kahapon e wala rin pala. hahaha. Baka dapat nakakabit sa phone para lagi kong dala. πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha mabuti pa nga. Isabit mo sa phone mo madam hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bibilhan ko pa ng casing para lang malagyan ko ng susi. Sana makahanap haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha pwede rin gawin mo earrings

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exagg n un hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ilang beses nangyare sa akin yan, kasama ko anak ko tapos naiiwan namin yun susi sa loob ng bahay. Ang ginagawa o naman eh inaalis namin yun jalousy na salamin tapos dun ko pinapasuot anak ko para buksan yun pintuan,hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti pa sa inyo naaabot yung pinto from bintana, sa amin hinde. haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

no choice ka nga kapag ganyan,hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

waahhhh why naman yun yung huling photos, I've been craving for donuts huhu, matagal tagal na akong hindi naka kain niyan HAHAH

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww yun lng. hehehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel like what happened to you is a long and rocky adventure aguyy. Bat ka kasi puyat ng puyat πŸ˜–. But anyways, basta safe kapa rin naman goods na yan. Di pa ako naka experience ng ganito kasi lagi lang nasa bulsa ang susi ng bahay. Pag di ko ginawa baka mapagalitan ako ni mudra aguy talaga haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ewan ko b s brain ko eh, iniiwan ako ng walang pasabi. πŸ˜‚ Bad habit tlga magpuyat.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Natawa ako sa hole from the doorknob πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Tapos naglaway na naman ako dahil sa donuts huhu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha d ko p kinain lahat. πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So far di pa ko nanira ng door knob. Pero padlock, yes. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha pangalawa ko p lng. πŸ˜‚ Mali p ata ako ng biniling door knob ayaw kumagat pag nilagay ko ung takip ng screw. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope your aunt has improved. And rest so she doesn't go through another such important forgetfulness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for dropping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha seeing the hole I was laughing but believe me I am sad at heart to know the trail you faced by putting keys inside while you were on call. I hope you buy a new door knob soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes new one just needs to be installed properly. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahahha stressness ses... anyway you'll get a new door knob tomorrow. Oi lock up ha..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually kinabit ko kaso may palpak. Bukas ko n lng ayusin. πŸ˜… Or ipaayos ko n lng.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis, meron sakin pero door NG sasakyan naman. Kaka hiya kasi sa boyfriend NG friend ko yun kotse, parang Di ako marunong gumamit NG door NG kotse kasi iniwan ko yun susi kahit Alam ko ilolock ang pinto hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay mhirap din ung ma-lock out sa kotse haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah I hate it when these things happen, when your brain suddenly decides to stop working and starts doing silly things like forgetting keys!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, sad how we cannot control our bodies that much. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago