Pohela Boisakh: Happy Bangla New Year 1429

54 72
Date: 14th April, 2022
Thursday

Hello my beautiful friends. I along with my all Bengali friends wish you all ❝ শুভ বাংলা নববর্ষ ১৪২৯ ❞ which means Happy Bangla New Year 1429. Yes, my friends, today is the first day of bangla new year and this day is highly celebrated all across the country with happiness and more celebration. The celebration is not bounded in my country only. West Bengal, India where I was born, also celebrate it with proper functions. I'm lucky to have this celebrations all across the two countries I love. Being Bengali, I feel proud. This is the biggest part of our culture and tradition. This day the world witness the massive procession brought out by us and we show the beautiful traditions to the world. This is not just the beginning of new year but it is also the beginning of new hopes and desires. So my dear friends, allow the Devil to take you all to the greatest Bangla culture and make a visit to observe the tradition.

Brief History: Have you heard the name of the Mughal emperor Akbar? Well, he was one of the powerful and kindhearted emperor of Indian subcontinent. He ruled the country with care and always praised the subcontinental cultures. He started the process of counting Bangla year and from then, we are now celebrating the 1429th year of bangla calendar. It is based on solar calendar. It was actually created to help the farmers so that they could have the exact time for harvesting. Who knew that the simple count calendar would become the biggest cultural festival of us?

Pohela Boishakh: There are 12 months in this calendar which starts with the month of 'Boishakh'. The first day is called Pohela Boisakh. The festival starts with the rise of sun as I told you before that it is solar system based calendar. It starts with the rise of sun. People dressing in their Bangalee attires, welcome the day with honour, desire and grand wishes. You want to know more? Come with me.

Celebration: The celebration starts with the beginning of the day. Fine Arts Institute & Shilpakala Academy manage the whole process. The day before it, the students of Fine Arts make designs on the road where the next day rallies will be held. This is one of the most beautiful thing to witness.

The cultural function starts under a great banyan tree known as 'Ramna Batamul' which is organised by Chhayanaut. Renowned artists from the country gather there and along with the people, they sing the welcoming song of Pohela Boisakh. This is just the beginning as the artists continue the festival adding other folk songs which are highly praised by the audiences. After that different types of classical dances are performed by the artists and students as well.

Procession: Colourful processions are out next. Trust me, it is worth watching. People of all ages wearing the traditional dresses join it. Men wear punjabi, dhuti while women wear sharee. Different types of masks, related to our cultures, phrase & idioms, old stories, relatable current issues are wore by the public. The teenagers use garlands and paint their faces too. This is called ❝ Mangal Shovajatra ❞ means the rally of blessings. Tourists from different countries join us too to enjoy the day. I cannot explain the day in words.

Foods: Talking about pohela boishakh, I must say that we have traditional foods on this day. Definitely it has different significance too. The Bengali people love Fish-Rice too much. So the day specifically idolize this one. Rice soaked in water known as Panta Vhaat, Hilsha fish fry with onion and chilly and dry fish are eaten graciously. And of course, we have it in plates made of clay. Sweet shop owners face heavy lines of customers and they happily manage it. The festive vibes spread all over the country.

Other Programmes: Every educational institutions along with other cultural organisations celebrate the day by arranging different programmes. Print media publish special articles on this day. Radio and Television airs special programmes. Shop keepers decorate their shops and open fresh account books. They welcome their customers with sweets and the relationship between them grows more.

The day of Pohela Boisakh, first day of Bangla New Year marks a day of cultural and traditional unity where people of every religion take part and celebrate it. The whole nation prays for the mankind and thus the beautiful message is spread all over the world. Now, it’s time to say goodbye but before that I want to say thank you again and wish you ❝ শুভ বাংলা নববর্ষ ❞ means Happy Bangla New Year.

  • All the pictures in this article belong to me, taken screenshots from my fb. It was from 2017.

  • I want to thank two beautiful souls @Talecharm & @BCH_LOVER for continuing their love for me. Honoured.

Follow me: Hive - Twitter - Telegram

Thanks for being with me.

©Lucifer01

31
$ 3.61
$ 2.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @TheGuy
$ 0.06 from @Ling01
+ 23
Sponsors of Lucifer01
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Pohela Boishakh is a very traditional day. On this day, eating hilsa fish with panta rice is popular. Fairs are held in villages. An atmosphere of joy is created.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Bangla New year to you luci and to everyone out there, it seems fun to celebrate new year with those people we are closed with.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Agreed dear. It was fun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAppy Bangla New year to you mate and to all in your country as well whose celebrating it

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's an honour dear. I wish you too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Bangla New Year my dear cousin! I am happy to see you glowing and blooming :D

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same to you. Those are my old pictures dear. But thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Who was that pretty girl in one of the pics?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Didn’t know dear. Just interviewing her at that moment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That sounds interesting! I hope to celebrate it there with you some day. Sounds fun!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I will be so happy at that day. Eagerly waiting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Last celebrated in my childhood, when my mom was alive cooked yummy hilsha fish curry and fry, miss those days!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wait, what? 😔 I'm so sorry. I didn’t know. You never shared it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm. I remember when we celebrated Bangladeshi Independence day since months ago. Now, we are thankful to the creator for getting to celebrate Bengal new yearr... BTW, is that Mr. Marc with you in the third picture?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

No no dear. Just a foreign friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Bangala new year. May Allah show you this day again and again. Stay happy Luci!!.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks a lot Ayaan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish many rulers who would rule with care were rampant everywhere...I just wish. Happy Bangala new year to you..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same to you dear. After a long time, I saw you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

শুভ নববর্ষ ১৪২৯ (Shuvo Nabobarsho 1429)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

শুভ নববর্ষ দাদা ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Bangla new year. It's fascinating getting yp know more about different traditions and culture around the world.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's way we know each other's culture and tradition. Wonderful earth.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's my first time to hear this. Happy Bangla New Year luci! 🎉While I'm reading I have so much fun too. It's really fun luci. The enjoyment is really unmeasurable. Enjoy luci. ❤️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You didn’t know? But now you can.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes luci now I know.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, happy Bangla new year!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcomee.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is the celebration day and this day is most worst day for me. Because i lost my best buddy . It was his death anniversary. I miss him a lot. Wish for you bro.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I know brother. We both have lost the most amazing brother of our life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I felt cry when i miss him. He was one of the best to me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so interesting. Happy Bangla New Year! It is nice to read and find out something about your tradition. When I was a child, I had some books of Indian fairy tales, you look like a character from those fairy tales, dressed in this suit, punjabi. 😊 That's so cool. 😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you. I mark these words as an appreciation. ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad to hear the way you all celebrate the Pohela Boisakh ,the first day of year in Bangala. I really want to enjoy these tasty and delicious foods.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You haven’t? Oh dear! Be my guest please.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Bangala to you Luci. It's an interesting celebration and culture!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same to you angel.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Bangla New Year🎉 I'm pretty sure they have the great culture and food as well

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right dear. The day is observed with traditional ways.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Bangala new year. But it’s pretty far days from the English own. It’s a day to enjoy.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, the timing is not the same. But of course it is a day to enjoy a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Bangla New Year to you Luci! And to everyone out there. Enjoy!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Happy Bangla New Year Luci. It's my first time hearing this celebration of new year in yours. It's another gain knowledge for me. Enjoy the celebration Luci.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Now you know. You can find more articles online.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let me express my greetings to all people out there who celebrates Bangla. It's sound enjoyable.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is. Thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy New Bangla Year, and I must say you've covered the importance and cultural aspect of the topic quite well. I am delighted to read something new.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You may found more on internet. Thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Bangla New Year,,,, Let the new year begin remove all the dirt from the back,,,,,

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Let's pray for the best.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy New year 🎇. In our tradition we have also a procession in having a fiestas. Just enjoy the moment celebrating that occasion. It's happen once a year so you must enjoy and enjoy the moment.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Big world, many people and new culture to know. Good to know about yours too. Thanks dear. Glad to see you here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A big world that we can be united. Thank you good to know this too it's my first time to have knowledge about your new year. Your welcome and glad meeting you too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago