What Superstitious Beliefs You Have?

17 73
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
1 year ago

Another topic inspired by Sis Yhanne's article which she shared about "Some Superstitions that has been part of my(her) life". Here in the Philippines, superstitious beliefs is so common, especially when you live in a province, or you grow with grandparents, or maybe you have this kind of parents who embrace these kind of teachings.

For now, I would like to share what are those superstitious beliefs that I learned before, that we still believe until now. Maybe you too can relate this, or you can share more about this:)

________________________

Seeing a person without head indicates death

This sounds scary but yes this is a sign that something bad will happen, that if you see someone without head, he/she is giving a sign that death is running after him/her. I've shared a story about my mom's co-worker that they saw him walking in a distance without a head, so what they did is to approach him and said what they saw. So that man, burn his clothes, on what he is wearing that day to cast away the bad luck. Of course prayer is more important.

Saying "Tabi-tabi po"

If you're a Filipino, then this is very popular words of respect, saying excuse to supernatural entities. There's this priest who said that saying "tabi-tabi po" is not good, and that what we must do is to castaway spirits, by immediately saying the name of our God. I understand his point, but I personally still say "tabi-tabi po" , because I do believe that not all supernatural entities are bad, and like human they deserves to be respect.

Whistling at night is an act of calling spirits

I remember when I was a kid, I visit to my cousin's village and we are having fun that time, playing, until one of my cousin whistle. His intention to call the wind, I don't know if you believe this too, that you can call the wind through whistling. Our grandma hear my cousin whistling and scold him, telling that he is calling spirits; until now grandma still believe this.

Knocking on the wood

"Knock on the wood to avoid bad luck," this is a saying or an idiom, which is popular not only in the Philippines, I guess. So, if you're talking to someone saying negative things, like a person will say, "what if he will die?", then you can knock on any wood, most of the time in house appliances made with wood to avoid it going to happen.

Black cat indicates bad luck

I actually don't like this beliefs because it ends like a "discrimination" to all black cats although they are good. But I do understand why some people believe this because bad entities, particularly the aswang, when they transform into an animals, they like to transform into a black cat.

Howling dogs means there are spirits around

When I was on highschool, there's a time that we are discussing when all the dogs in other street howling, it is so loud that we hear it inside the campus. Our teacher said that we just stay inside and maybe there are spirits outside.

Brown butterfly inside your house indicates that your love one who passed away visiting you

I already mentioned this before when I shared about superstitious beliefs, and yes until now we still believe it. It can be a sign of good luck, but most people believe that it's a spirit of your love ones, or a butterfly serving as a messenger to comfort you.

________________________

Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty

Flexing my sponsors, people who guide and support me throughout my journey here. You guys can check them too:)

Ps. Thank you so much Sis @GarrethGrey07 for renewing your sponsorship. GOD Bless and more bch to come!


Images were edited using Canva/PicsArt

read.cash|Telegram|gmail

May 14, 2022

-Ling

27
$ 7.29
$ 6.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Unity
$ 0.10 from @OurKitchen
+ 22
Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

When I was just a kid my grandmother told me that a black cat crossing your path brings you bad luck. Since childhood I used to believe this superstition but then I grew up and now I know there is no need to believe in superstitions. They are all based on lies

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hala yung pag sipol sa gabi creepy hahaha ang hilig ko pa namn gawin to kasi pantawag daw ng hangin ngayon ko lang nalaman yan sis na spirits pala ang tinatawag hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha iba talaga pag pinoy ang daming paniniwala.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

True, at advance mag isip haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have come to realise that Filipinos have some common superstitious beliefs as Africans. Almost all of them applies to Africans too.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh really? I haven't read or heard about African superstitious beliefs, but I guess almost the same:D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah. 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Luh, just now I heard that whistling thing; yeah, I am also amazed sometimes that when we make that sound, the wind is cast; I don't believe in dog howling meant spiritual something, hehe

$ 0.01
1 year ago

If this is the case maybe naririnig tayo ng hangin hahha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My people have this superstition that seeing a chameleon is a sign of death approaching

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Chameleon is not common in our local, so it's my first time to know this:)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

These all are social maths that are not supported by any logic and reason. Human has created them by their illiteracy

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's true, but then there are superstitious beliefs that shows some evidences.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The black cats and the whistling is some that I don't believe that is true, the truth is that most people hate anything black and they always use it to define wrong evil

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You have a point, maybe that's the reason too. And black defined as bad while white is good.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmm. I don't know if you know this ate. “Do not stay in the door when there's a pregnant woman inside the house”. I often heard this to elders.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I haven't heard this one Denn, ang alam ko lang pag may nanganganak, dapat walang nakasagabal sa pinto.

$ 0.00
1 year ago