Weigle's Types of Creation Myths

48 76
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
2 years ago
Crdts : WELS

The world is full of mysteries, from the fact on how it was created, up to how things like this or that happened. We may be curious about a lot of things but science try to explain everything. But how about in the world of mythology? What's the concept of how it was created?

In my previous articles, like in Greek Mythology, Visayan Mythology and, Hebrew Mythology; the, world was created in different ways, but did you know that myths are classified into types too? These are Marte Weigle's Creation Myth.

Marta Weigle is an American Anthropologist, and these types of creation myth are based in her book Creation and Procreation: Feminist Reflections on Mythologies of Cosmogony and Parturition.

Finally I am going to share another interesting topic about mythology. So here is it.

Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty

But first let me Flex to you my sponsors, one of those persons who guide and support me throughout my journey here. You guys can check them too:)

________________________

Ex Nihilo

Crdts : Classically Christian - WordPress.com

"Ex Nihilo" is a Latin phrase which mean "from nothingness/spirit", this is the term that used to describe cosmologies in which the creator creates the universe by means of "speech, breath, dream, thought or laughter."

In Christianity, particularly in the book of Genesis, the world was created by the speech of our God; and God said "Let there be light". God only used His words to create the world, then Hebrew myth is considered as an Ex Nihilo Type of the World Creation Myth.

Deus Faber

"Deus Faber" is a Latin phrase which mean "Maker god". This myth states that world was made by a god who crafts like an artist or sculptor.

If you have heard the story about the creation of a woman where the god form humans and cook it to give life, the reason why people have different colors is considered as an example of Deus Faber.

In Christianity, still in the book of Genesis, it states that God created Adam from the dust of the ground, He mold it according to His image and breathed into Adam's nostrils to give life. How god created the human is based on Deus Faber type, he mold and craft a human.

Two Creators

This type of myth states that the world was created by the combined efforts/conflict of two gods. These two gods have different characteristics, one maybe more moral or compassionate than the other; the reason why in life there is a lower and higher class, or good and evil.

Crdts : Gods and Demons Wiki - Fandom

Example of this is the African Myth, when a god created an egg, inside it are two pairs of twins, both have one female and one male. They must wait until they fully develop but then because of selfishness, one pair of twins wants to rule the world, so they break the egg; the reason why we have imperfect world.

Emergence

This type of myth states that the people already exists but they only transfer in this world after a long time; that the first creatures(what we called humans) enters our world from the other world. According to Leonard and McClure 39, "The first world parallels the womb and is often too small for its occupants", the reason why people leave the place and transfer to a much larger and bright world.


That's it for today everyone, see you again on the next part of this article

________________________

Lead image was edited using PicsArt

***

Author's love message :

Hello lovely readers! How was your day?

The topic that I've shared are only based on mythology, my goal is to share this knowledge and describe how tricky yet amazing the world of mythology is. Hopefully you learn something from it.

Btw, thank you so much Sis @honeyflex360 for your sponsorship. This may be late but I am really happy when I read your comment. Thanks for giving me another chance to accept your request :)

GOD Bless. Hugs.

January 21, 2022

-Ling

22
$ 4.72
$ 4.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @honeyflex360
$ 0.05 from @Jeansapphire39
+ 17
Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Knowledgeable jud ka bff ba in terms of mga ing ani. Miss you Bff❤️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Uy bff, gi visit ko baya profile nimo natingala ko dili ka active, basahon ko unya recent article nimo. Miss you too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oops, so sorry sis. I mistakenly made an upvote of 0.50 on your comment ... You could keep 0.10 and give me a 0.40 If you wish . Lol, thanks.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahha don't worry Sis. I also experience this, don't worry I will give it back to your article :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you ☺, that's so sweet of you 😘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is really an interesting read BTW. I have never been a fan of mythology, although u have started developing a certain interest on it lately, just to broaden my knowledge and views. I have always believed in divine creation

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Actually Sis, the Christianity and Islamic belief of world creation is under Ex Nihilo:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow you are a great genius I don't know much about these big sis but I am just hearing of them may be I should read more of them to really know what it means

$ 0.01
2 years ago

If you're interested in this topic then you must read more of this, it will waken up more your interest :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mao jud ni ako ganahan nimo sis ba ky naa na sd ko knowledge aning history ky cge rko pamayabas sauna hehehe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Actually Sis dili pud ko ganahan ug history hahha sa mythology and folklore ni sya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mao rna sis linyahan ra jpon na mao nosebleed na sd ta nimo ba hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The one with the egg had no idea about this one. Interesting. The world is a complex internet place. If the planet were even tilted a few centimeters to the side, life would be impossible

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We can say that the universe is perfectly made, with organisms with perfect imperfectly made:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are a creative and extraordinary talented girl...we can learn many things from you mate

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks Shohan, I just love this kind of topic:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

God uses his word to brings those things from existence. Yes I do believe in that because it logical . We believe God is responsible for the existence of the universe and planets, it is very astonishing that we are one of his creatures.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I highly believed on this too. I know that different nations and cultures have different beliefs, we just need to respect while to stand still on what we are believing :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely that's right Ling , we must respect each other as long as they are teaching the good ones, but we make intervention if they did wrong. Thanks ling you really makes every content interesting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have opened my brain to think pragmatically, often myths are considered reasonable and interesting, so that mythology is food to always trace its existence. However, what actually happens is always based on the beliefs of each human being. the teachings of each religion are often different for the creation of this universe, that's what happens so that many myths and conspiracy theories are not in line with the spiritual teachings of religion. For me, too, I believe that the contents of the Bible are the basis for everything in the image of the life of the universe. it may be a question of why the makers of myths and theorists do not believe in biblical truth.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I do agree in you, but the Bible that we have, in the book of Genesis was according to Hebrew mythology :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes that's right that's the diamond i found today from you my great friend. I used to not know to understand.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess I could say I'm a firm believer of Ex NIhilo. The world and all of existence was created by a simple word, light as well using the words "let there be light".

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're a Christian right? Then we must:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I am.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is really creative of you. I have learnt from this, thank you so much 🤗

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm happy that you learn something from this. Thanks Queen:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I so much love these kind of mysterious mythologies. It make me to think and reason far. Now I'm reasoning why we have different colours...when the first human were of the same colour

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Some of the myths explain this matter, it was based on their beliefs and tradition :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ni e article buddy. Good job...god bleSsings

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It’s all about ancient myths and the explanation is still going on. I am thinking about researching something more about Mayans.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mayans Civilization is interesting too, I've read only few about it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

honestly I didn't understood anything sorry ling, but it is good of you that you showed up with a content on something which i never read before.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's okay Trofi. But you know some of Mythology stories right? So those stories are classified into types, and those types is what I've shared:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes indeed)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm always trying to find something new in your article. I found something new that I didn't know about before. So it felt a little better.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sorry Sis I haven't share this kind of topic for so long since I know that not everyone can relate, so I try to share something life daily chores:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I learn this article sis. Thank you for sharing this. I encounter a new words. I learn some definitions like "Ex Nihilo" so now I know already the meaning, it's from nothingness/spirit. There are some also. I love this kind of topic sis. I remember when I was in college my professor always talk about God's.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Walang ano man Sis, interested din talaga ako pag ganito na topic e, kaya ayon sinusulat ko talaga para di ko makalimutan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis. Napaka unique nga kasi minsan lang ako nakakabada ng ganito na topic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very interesting sis thanks for sharing ,like I study again

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're welcome Sis:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat sis ngayon ko lang talaga nalaman na Ang sabi ng Panginoon, " Let there be light "at yun na nagawa na ang mundo.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes Sis. Ginawa niya yung kalawakan at mundo gamit lang ang salita Niya, yung tao ang inukit niya talaga:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow sis, you deserved that but actually am an inquisitive guy who likes to appreciate things he likes, so you may change that to 'bro'. Nice write-up though and that's the reason I loved your penchant for writing.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wait, you're a boy?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sis, and you may applaud my brother @officialrosh1. He made me know you were a good person to relate with.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

what! Really? Why Rosh always surprise me with his relatives here haha btw, thanks that I met you:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago