The beauty of darkness with the single light of candle

36 73
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
2 years ago

Sunday with full of love, another week of job well done. Hopefully everyone had a great morning, some of us went to church while some attended online mass. I came up with the verse;

"For it is you who light my lamp; the Lord my God lightens my darkness"

- Proverbs 18:28

This means that we should not be afraid of darkness as there's the Light; our Lord our God. He will serve as the love in all the hatred, the hope in all the discouragement, and solution in all problems that we have.


Yesterday, I read Sis Jramona's post about her two sisters, in which she discussed their favorite childhood activities. This reminds me of those times when I used to play "Bahay-bahayan" too, but since I previously mentioned it in my first article, then I'll go with the candle.

Unsplash - by Rebecca Peterson-Hall

Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty

Flexing my sponsors, people who guide and support me throughout my journey here. You guys can check them too:)

________________________

Even in the midst of the darkness, I remembered how precious every moment was when I was a child. As I observed kids now a days are irritated when there's no electricity, so different from the kids before. Can you recall your neighbor's reaction every time there was a brown-out/black-out? We can actually get more precious reaction on this every night, when the electricity back again everyone in our neighbors are clapping and you will hear children shouting "There's an electricity!" It was like you're the hero is you are first one who inform everyone that there's already an electricity.

Now, I just want to highlights those things that we like to do when there's no electricity;

Playing with the shadow

Have you ever tried to make an animal out of your hand's shadow? This is one of our favorite games to play when there's no electricity. Birds and fish are the easiest to make. I have a friend who is quite skilled at creating animal shadows, whereas another friend is unable to do so appropriately; as a result, they will end up fighting. Aside from that, we enjoy dancing and seeing our movements in the shadow. If you've seen the El Gamma Penumbra on Asia's Got Talent, you'll see that we're aiming to be like them.

Story Time

Just like most of us who likes to share and listen to stories I also like to do this with my friends.

We like to gather in our house, we have this friend who have a mini sari-sari store and it's his task to bring candle. Did you know that we also have this attendance checking everytime we do this? Yes, and it's me who hold the attendance list. We put candle at the center and start to share some stories, until we end up with horror stories, my favorite part.

Abacadabra

Who is in here experience to be a magician using candle? Because I'm one of it. Another friend of mine who shows a magic trick, we make a circle and he is the one at the center with this candle. He then passing his index finger in this burning part of the candle and said "Chada! No pain! ", and we was like "wooow!" while clapping at him. Everyone of us tried it, and so happy with the magic trick. Now I realized that one second fire is not enough to feel the pain.

Experiment Time

Since the kid's imagination is so wide, me ans my friends made some experiment too. What we like to do is dangerous, but we tried to burn different kind of plastics just to observe how it works, and what we like the most is the stick of lollipop, the way how it melt and give drops is so satisfying. Another one is shaping the melted part into a new one. Lastly, we drops the melted part of candle to the water.

On the other hand, if we look at the other side of life, we can see that there is beauty in everything; perhaps you're currently preoccupied with darkness, but remember that even if there is only a small candle to serve as a light, you should try to make use of it and do things that will make you feel better. It's not so much about the situation as it is about how you respond to it.

We tend to focus on the darkness of problems and struggles in life, without appreciating the light that can serve as our guide through happiness. But then, still our choice to imprison ourselves with darkness or to make the use of candle.

Unsplash - by Ayrus Hill

To my ever generous sponsors @LykeLyca and @GarrethGrey07, thank you so much for renewing your sponsorship. GOD Bless!

________________________

Images were edited using Canva/PicsArt

read.cash|Telegram|gmail

February 27, 2022

-Ling

25
$ 3.79
$ 2.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @Xakia
+ 22
Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

After reading this article, I came to Smriti.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂😂😂 you made me remember childhood times when I am usually fighting like power rangers and ninja with my shadow I almost broke my arms

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku, sis, natry nyo na din ba magpaitiman ng ilong nung wala kayong kuryente?..hahaha..naalala ko dati sa province nung wala pa kaming kuryente..alam mo yung mga butas ng ilong namin, puro agiw ng lampara..ang iitim..hahaha...gasera kasi ang gamit namin noon..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dear friend, you said very beautiful memories. You reminded me of my childhood when there was a power outage. We were happy even when the power went out and we didn't stop playing. We loved the flicker of a candle that burned in the dark. As you said, in the dark, instead of focusing on the dark, why not drown in the beautiful flicker of candlelight.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaaha I used to play shadows din kapag brownout pero mas masaya yung story telling tapos puro horror stories haha. I realize na tinatakot ko lang pala sarili ko before ahha🤣😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo Sis, yung matutulog ka na dala-dala yung takot haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here i also share similar happiness of going out electricity and when it comes someone who wanted to be the first shouts out in a high voice. And we also used to play with the shadow though I only know how to make snakes and eagle with it. hahah I laugh myself when I read the one second magic ahahahahah.

You know we were in such a school and when in evening the electricity goes out they don't turn on the generators I used to feel that someone just spreads the magical moment, we don't have to study woowwww! And especially when we were being punished and the lights goes out seniors can't see who are having a relax time there haahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I felt that you're studying in a private or a school with nice building. And yeah those moments are so fun, I live in the city and kids here are not having fun like how we used to be when we are just a kid:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yeah true, but I attained my education from a military school. not a private school

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahh, while reading I was assuming myself in the article and the characters seemed like I was playing with my siblings. I remember we make faces in shadows to look more dangerous and scare other children.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This makes me smile, cousins love to this prank:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

the verse of the word that I can imply with current events because the world is currently at war, when the darkness of the world is being haunted because there is a battle this verse gives enlightenment that there is no need to worry about life's problems because everything is under God's control, because bright light will always shine on the right people.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Right,this can be applied to current situation, like this international problem. If we just apply God in every decision that we do then no need to fight

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How easily you connected me with the childhood! Making animal shapes in shadow was the coolest thing. And oh yes! Elders forbade us to watch at our shadows. They told us that there would be ghost taking shapes of them.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

So cute:D actually before, my imagination to shadows is so wide like I'm just scaring myself haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I once experienced playing with my shadows when it's dark and the only candle light served as the light also I remember walking in the sea side while the light of the and stars are the only light.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Bet ko tung paglalakad sa dalampasigan while tinitingnan ang mga stars Sis, sobra.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The beauty of the darkness. The best fun you can have is in the night. I remember fun we used to have in the night, the tales told by grandma. It was fun.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

My grandma is far from our house, I rarely talk to her; only when we visit them, but those memories are gold.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, they are extraordinary.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. Same Tayo sis naranasan ko din mag laro sa shadow at kapag brownout ay NASA kwarto lahat dahil takot

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Prepare na ang makapal na kumot Sis para after laro, story time na naman:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Making me feel feel nostalgic dear... Story telling under the moonlight makes the night so beautiful and memorable

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is, and what I like the most are the stars:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Childhood time is one of the best time of our life. Because everybody we had good memories in that time.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indeed, memories with full of laughter.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naranasan ko din walang electricity sis pero ang saya parin. Ngayon iba na talaga sis compare noon na mga days. Yung story time sis yan talaga favorite ko. Yung mag tipon² kayo pag gabi tas yung pag usapan mga kakatakutan kahit nakakatakot naaaliw ka pa rin. 😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo Sis, yung magtatakutan at the end mag-aaway haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis haha. 😅 Ganyan talaga sis. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung paglalaro sa shadow ang palagi naming ginagawa noon sis kasi wala pa kuryente that time. Lampara lang yung gamit namin o kundi kandila at ngayon pag brownout yan din ginawa ng mga bata

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ang cute Sis at ginagawa din to ng mga kids mo, they really enjoy their childhood.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis, tuwang-tuwa pa yan sila pag ganyan yung ginagawa nila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If I could only turn back time, I'd love to go back to my childhood days when our grandparents used to tell us stories of tales, legends and fables under the moonlight. Priceless.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Even me Sis, especially before going to sleep

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In ancient times, even though we have the less facilities but we enjoyed a lot we have a lot of interesting activities but today childern didn't enjoy these things

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Now they are occupied with gadgets and other material things, I think those who can still experience this are the one who live in provinces/villages.

$ 0.00
2 years ago