Scared of the Rain

46 65
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
2 years ago

What kind of weather do you like the most? Is it a sunny or rainy? How about cloudy or windy, or maybe few here will prefer stormy.

Unsplash - Reza shayestehpour

Me, I will choose rainy. Cold weather, nothing to do, just watching TV while eating your favorite snacks; lying in bed with a thick blanket; watching the rain drops while drinking hot coffee or chocolate.

But this was really different when I was a kid. How much I love the rain now is equal on how I hate it when I was that young. Why and how? That's the topic that I am going to share now.

Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty

But first let me Flex to you my sponsors, one of those persons who guide and support me throughout my journey here. You guys can check them too:)

________________________

Tiyanak

Story telling is one of our bonding moments. Me and my friends like to gather at night in our balcony, form a circle and then put a candle at the center. I'm not scared about the rain, and actually it was fun until one of our friend tell a story about his experienced during heavy rain.

According to him;

Last year we visited our grandma in the province. At night, me and my parents are sleeping in the room until a heavy rain came, I cannot back to sleep so I just look at the ceiling. After a few minutes, I heard a cry of a baby. I got scared but thinking that maybe it's in the neighbors. At the morning I asked my grandma if they have neighbors who have a baby, but she answered "None. If you hear a baby crying, just ignore it. It can be a Tiyanak trying to attract you."

For those who do not know, Tiyanak is one the Philippine mythical creature. A baby monster, which looks like a goblin, if you have seen The Lord of the Rings, you might remember Gollum, who said,"Myyy Precious"

There are beliefs that this Tiyanak came from those babies that was aborted by there parent/s, through reincarnation they became this creature. While on the other side of the old stories, it was a belief that they are children of vampires, ofcourse like parents like children.

Tikbalang

Have you experience this meteorological phenomenon sunshower? This is when the suns shines so bright but also raining at the same time. In scientific explanation this is common.

But during my childhood days, this is what we called "Kasal sa Tikbalang" or Tikbalang's wedding.

Tikbalang is another mythical creature with the figure of half man and half horse, known as the guardian of the forest. They have this golden hair that once you get it, you can say a wish and it will be granted.

Crdts : Pinterest

In Greek Mythology we have this Centaur, human in the upper part while horse in the lower part of the body. This is somewhat different to Tikbalang, as it have head, feet and hands of a horse with the figure of a human in the middle part.

Another story from our old neighbor, that in there former place, there was a Tikbalang roaming every night. Some of them seen it, while some only heard it. As of now, there's no more story about Tkbalang, I don't know if they are gone(if they really existed), or the story about Tikbalang already faded.

________________________

Lead image was edited using PicsArt

****

Author's love message :

Hello lovely readers!

How was your day?

I felt pain in my eyes last night the reason that I wasn't active that time; maybe too much using phone for online class.

Just a reminders for everyone to take care of your health, also your eyes. Say no to sicknesses!

GOD Bless.

Sending hugs.

Ps. Thank you so much Sis @LykeLyca , for renewing your sponsorship. Still so generous. More bch to come Sis! And to @Abubakar9667 , this was really a surprise. Thank you so much! Gonna check more about you. GOD Bless!

October 23, 2021

-Ling

18
$ 3.91
$ 3.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @LykeLyca
$ 0.05 from @GarrethGrey07
+ 11
Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I was once afraid of this tiyanak. Everytime I hear a cry of a baby near our apartment, it gives me goosebumps. But when I found out that it was just a cat those fear went away

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dami kwento na ganyan nung childhood ko pero di rin nmn ako naniniwala, hehe! Cguro i'm addicted to Jesus kaya di sila nag eexist. Anyway. You're welcome and just keep on going..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

To see is to believe nga naman Sis. Si Jesus kasi feel na feel natin yung presence nya. Salamat ulit Sis. GOD Bless!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hays hindi ako medyu takod sa mga tsanak o anu oa. Oero takot talagan ako oag malakas na talaga ang ulan. Ewan ko pero mas matatakot ako sa ulan

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Baka may experience ka nung childhood na naging reason kung bakit takot ka sa ulan Sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Unga ano, na alala ko din nong bata ako lage ganyan kwento sakin eh, pru may isang kwento tatay ko na totoo daw talagang nakita nila ang creatures na yan.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yung Tikbalang daw ba? Kasi yung tiyanak consider nila, na once naka rinig sila nang iyak ng baby. Pero yung Tikbalang ang sobrang kakaiba once makakita ka talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakatakot Ang ulan,, pero hindi sah tikbalang sis hah? Sah kidlat,,ahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I love it when it rains, then I will just stay at my room and read some stuff

$ 0.02
2 years ago

As kids, we all love rainy seasons as what we usually do all the time is play in it

$ 0.02
2 years ago

If it rained heavily and the sun was shining, The story we were told as kids was that a lion was about to give birth.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Rain has been my favorite since childhood. Even today when it is raining, I like to get wet in the rain in my mind.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Mas nanatakot ako sis sa ulan kasi baka bahain dito sa amin.hehehe...Halos sa likuran ng bahay namin ay ilog na talaga dahil sa bagyong rolly..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ingat kayo palagi Sis, mas nakakatakot nga naman yan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

rain and sunshine at the same time is something strange... it's usually called a name here but I can't remember. I'm not really a fan of the rain but when I have company I do 😊😊 just joking though

$ 0.02
2 years ago

For sure Sir, you can have someone to be with:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So goblin is a real creature? I thought is a 'fictioned' creature used in that movie. I wouldn't mind seeing these creatures if I'm opportuned because I never believed all those creatures used in fiction movies are true. I'm still doubting the site existence of dragon that vomits fire.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I don't know if they really exist Sis, but what I have shared are base on real experience of other people. We may not know, maybe they are real. While about dragon, I'm also interested to know about them, we have mini book about this but just an old belief, no evidence.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Rain and me, the strongest bond dear. Love that weather. Hey, I never heard of Tikbalang. This one is new for me.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I love to hear the raindrops but I don't like the road of thunders and the strike of the lightning. I'm scared

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sissy totoo kaya ang tikbalang at mga tiyanak? Nakakatakot kc o panakot lang talaga

$ 0.02
2 years ago

May ibang nakakita at nakarinig na sa kanila Sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like cold weather where are have to stuff my self in a blanket or a woolly jacket all day. It feels like I am actually cuddling with someone haha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I always love rain as well. But not the storm :)...Just a moderate rain. I love to watch the raindrops coming from the roof.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Especially those times, childhood days Sis:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sarap magtampisaw sa ulan :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Takot na takot tlaga ako sa tyanak nung kabataan ko sis, haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ay uso din pala to sa inyo Sis?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Always when it rains and the sun shines there is a rainbow, and in our country they say that at the end of the rainbow is hidden treasure, which is guarded by elves.💎

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, this is also one of our beliefs during my childhood.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

As far as I know, everyone likes rain. I only saw you, that you are afraid of rain.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I love rain Sis, I said it in my introduction :D Things that I have shared was during my childhood :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We must have witnessed many experience during childhood and adulthood....those babies you stated I think they don't exist since I only watch them in movies and they are so scary btw try to take care of your health ok.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I haven't experience it too Sis, but we don't know maybe some really experienced it. And thank you so much, I will:)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Gusto ko din yong rainy season,pero huwag kang yong ulan na may araw Kasi sabi nilà PAg naulan tapos may araw may ikinakasal na tkbalang.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oo nga Sis, ito talaga yung paniniwala dati pa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yon nga yong sabi ng matatanda

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also have same experienced when I was young. Kaya natatakot ako noon kapag umuulan ng malakas tuwing gabi.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yung naeenjoy natin ang ulan sa morning pero pag gabi iba na sa pakiramdan:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kakatakot naman sis. Naniwala talaga ako sa mga ganyan. Yung tikbalang talaga may experience kabitbahay namin. Sobrang nakakatakot. Nakailang ulit na din ako nakarinig ng mga iyak ng baby sis tuwing gabi.. di talaga ako makatulog.😰

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yung current place nyo ba parin Sis, kung saan mo to na experience?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi sis nung andun pa ako sa Iloilo. Gabi-gabi nalang may naririnig kaming bata. Nakapagtataka lang kasi wala naman kaming kapitbahay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakatakot yung tiyak bff sa bisaya niya "Mantianak" sa nakikita ko sa Tv yun dawng hindi nabinyagan na bata at namatay, naging tiyanak daw. Pero hindi pa naman na experience yan, pero ayaw ko din ma experience nakakatakot.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ay tama no, narinig ko na din yan, yung mga di daw nabinyagan. Di pa naman ako naka experience nito. Buti nalang:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Stay Safe Palagi BFF.

$ 0.00
2 years ago