Why always America?

44 64
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago

Today is one of those days when everyone is just watching the crypto market burn down in red hot flames and we keep wondering if to just rush into those flames and salvage what we can from the situation or just let it keep burning with the hopes that it will rise again from the ashes like the Phoenix.

As usual when I woke up in the morning and got hold of my phone, the first place I checked was readcash and I took a glance at my wallet and the amount has reduced, I immediately thought out loud: "not again". I checked binance to confirm my fears and truly, BCH has gone down to $190 💔. I wonder when this tug-of-war between the bulls and bears is going to end.

I quickly closed the binance app and decided to relax my brain before jumping into readcash to engage on articles. I decided to visit nairaland to see if I can find anything interesting but instead, I found something very sad: Shooting At A Texas Elementary School Leaves 14 Students And A Teacher Dead. The next thing I thought was: why always America?

Image source

America is truly a crazy place, anybody can just wake up one day, take a gun and go start shooting at people for no sane reason. There's always a lot of gun violence in the US and it's very weird for a country of that caliber. If you compare the cases of gun violence in other countries that are in the same league as America, you will discover it's way higher in America.

You wanna know what causes all this frequent gun violence? Owning a gun is considered legal over there! A lot of people have access to guns in the US and can easily buy one when they want. I read on Twitter some time ago that over 90% of families in Texas all have guns, that statistics is dangerously high!

There was a piece of news that was trending some years back (I think in 2020) and it was about a man that took a gun to a church in Texas but before he could open fire, he was shot by the members of the church who were all carrying guns as well. Yes, they were all packing heat right there in church! I imagine the conversation some of them will be having on Sundays while preparing for church.

Husband: Aren't you done? We are going to be late.

Wife: I am almost done, I will be out soon

Husband: Bring the bibles while coming out.

Wife: Yeah, Don't forget to grab the guns (like, wtf?!)

Image source

I wasn't surprised when I found out that countries like Brazil, Columbia, and Mexico ranked higher than America when it comes to gun violence, but I was shocked when I saw the Philippines on the same list, also higher than the US! I always thought the Philippines was a peaceful country, but I was surprised that it has more gun violence than America.

Source

Things might have changed now because the last ranking was done in 2019, coz I was shocked when I couldn't find my country on that list and wondered if the ranking is even credible. Those of us in Nigeria know of the frequent gun violence perpetrated by various groups (herdsmen, ESN, ISWAP, and Boko Haram), but let's just leave that topic for another day.

I used to love America when I was younger and I always dreamed of living there but over the years, I have been hearing a series of crazy stories that have discouraged me from visiting. Sure you're going to earn very well if you manage to get a good job but taxes are going to take a large chunk out of your earnings, they pay tax on everything over there.

And let's not forget the issue of guns lying around everywhere. A teenager can just decide to play real-life call of duty or grand theft auto and pick up a rifle and start shooting at people walking on the streets while standing on his balcony. There have been over 39 shootings this year alone, that's like an average of 8 shootings per month.

All these have been happening for years and I thought the US government would have put a ban on guns but apparently they are more bothered with what's happening in other countries (as usual). Right now I am better off living in other countries like Canada, it's a much better country to live in (in my opinion) if you can look past the extreme cold that is over there 😉.

Big thanks to @Bloghound for her sponsorship renewal, I am very grateful for it ma'am 🤗

Thanks for reading 💖💖💖

Wednesday May 25, 2022

19
$ 6.18
$ 5.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 13
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago

Comments

The rate of Violence in America is shocking. I grew up hearing the phrase "America onibon - America with the gun." They are always on guard 🤣🤣😂 sha don't provoke anyone.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

😂 everybody just walking around with guns, you just have to stay humble over there

$ 0.01
1 year ago

😂😂🤣🤣stay humble or stay grounded 🤣😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You can legally get a gun in the US but abortion is illegal😂😂. Make Nigeria legalise gun 🌚🌚

$ 0.02
1 year ago

🤣 e be like say you want this country to sink completely

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You shouldn't be surprised if the Philippines is included lol. Little did u know that Philippines hides the darkest side lol. Well I guess the reason why the gun violence in the Philippines increased is because of the war on drugs during that time. During that time, there are multiple killings happened for like everyday, done by those groups of people pretending to be the people who eliminate drug addicts which the sad thing is that most victims don't even used drugs. There are lots of anti Duterte during that time, even until now. People who hates the Duterte administration, people that will do everything to ruin the president's image.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Wow, this is the first time I am hearing of this and it's actually surprising because I didn't see the Philippines as a country that will be having serious drug war that can lead to deaths

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmm.. Are guns that cheap to have in America? Where I fit find dealer like this? We might be needing some soon in this Nigeria too. I be like "Buhari here I come! 😎🔫"

It's sad that even wrong people have access to guns, as Americans take dey suffer from depression like this, anybody wey get small skosko for head go just run berserk.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

🤣🤣🤣 shey you dey see. If person head begin dey malfunction, the next thing na to carry gun enter street begin shoot people

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mehn, that scenario of guns in church is maddd! Imagine the priest preaching with a personal gun with him 🤣🤣🤣.

I've heard a lot about this gun violent and I do wonder the risk in living there

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I won't be surprised if I see a priest preaching with an AK-47 around his neck 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahah🤣. Las Las it be like "God is not dull"

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omor....this much killing and guns are still legal? Na Wa ooo..

Person carry gun go church. That's it for me. The government never ready to so abi? Until one of their relatives die first.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

More than half of the church members were with guns 😂 America na mad country

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You see the right to carry arm has been embedded in America and it's hard to remove.

But such a rule won't work in our country. Over there they have a good track record of guns and bullets. I'm glad you can see that in the list that America isn't on top. Most of the gun violence are committed by people who are mentally ill or racist.

Everyone having a gun also helps in a way to prevent crime, you think the herdsmen would attack a community when they know that fire would be returned on them?

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yeah I know the reason is because they want the citizens to be able to defend themselves, but there's always going to be side effects to something like that. Guns and bullets can be traced back to person that used it, but it won't be any good when the person have already killed lots of people with it, just like the person in the news I posted

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Well the reality of the world is that even countries that don't legalize gun have this problem.

In UK it is knife crime, people stabbing people.

America is awashed with guns and it will be extremely difficult to roll back.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Definitely, I guess that's part of the reason that haven't put a regulation on it, it's already too late at this point

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I heard that one can easily buy a gun over there just as how he could easily by "klin" at a shop.. It's not as if the country is plaqued by insecurity like ours. I wonder how the almighty american government in a it's infinite wisdom could legalise the use of guns for all her citizens without any restrictions

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It's right there in their constitution, it guaranteed "right of the people to keep and bear arms", I wonder what pushed them to make such a stupid law. They have guns shops over there that are dedicated to just selling guns, one alaye can just enter a shop and start pricing any gun he like 🤦

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's insane to think that just about any random individual can have access to guns in the U.S I mean how freakish is that? I used to think guns were/should be held only by security personnels or, police men, even soldiers. But civilians? Come on! The story was really heartbreaking. I never liked going to the U.S, much to the fact you mentioned as causes. Although, they aren't the only ones with huge taxes and the whatnots. The U.K has always been the dream country. Canada, Spain, and France are on my wishlist of travel visits, too.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It's written in their second amendment that every citizens have a right to carry guns and that right shouldn't be infringed, that country is just crazy abeg

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My Lord. Chai. Crazy stuff right there.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Philippines is number one? Oh my! I guess that's because of the war on drugs by President Duterte, but it really helps a lot. Anyway, I saw this news early in the morning and I was truly shock that another incident happen and many kids had died.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

According to the report, it said that the gun violence in the Philippines might be related to drug wars, I didn't even know the Philippines have a problem with drugs

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is really painful man . Their gun regulations are as weak as the security here in Nigeria. How do you let an 18 year old boy be in possession of firearms that even the army doesn't possess. What's the rationale behind it.

These useless people will be playing COD with someone's life. RIP to the dead.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I just don't understand the reason behind them legalizing guns, is it that they want the entire country to always be in preparation for war? The thing is just messing up the country and they still don't want to put a regulation on guns

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have heard about the shooting incident and I cannot even look at the pictures of the kids 😭

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It's just so heartbreaking, innocent kids were just killed for no reason

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha, Philippines is a peaceful country but there are some places which is quite dangerous.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

There's always a certain place in a country that's very dangerous, I guess most countries have dangerous places like that as well

$ 0.00
1 year ago

America really looks scary to me too. When I was a child I have always dreamed of going to America but after finding out about all the gun shoot happening there I don't even want to come near that country.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I prefer going to Canada or even Germany there are lots of other countries that are better than America

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I know a little something about Boko Haram. What they do is terrorism, not gun violence. You say 90% of Texans have guns. It's worst than that. For every 100 persons in America, there are 120 guns, these don't include the ones used by the uniformed men

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You're right, Boko Haram is terrorism and shouldn't even be counted under gun violence. I guess everyone is armed because they want to protect themselves against others, but that also has its consequences

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omo, imagine if they come legalize gun in Nigeria for every citizen, someone will just mistakenly match you and the next thing is a gun on the person's head before he says sorry, It's like Obama once tried to the ban guns in the US and the police were using that electric gun, but I guess it didn't last long.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Now wey gun isn't legalized in Nigeria we are already having all these issues, if them comer legalize am na that very days full war go start

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omo😂 people go do odeshi may them nor die easily.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We are living in a world of fear , we all just need to very careful this time around. Even in Nigeria now, we all know what's happening

$ 0.00
1 year ago

:(

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You remember we had that interaction some days back about want what others have .. now most Nigerian students want to travel to America to study and live a better life of course that is a good dream but do you know how many times they have had this kind of shooting in 5 years ? I saw someone said he prefers asuu go this after seeing the shooting

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Guy, in just this year there has been 39 shootings in various schools from universities down to elementary schools. I am always saying how my dream is to japa abroad but US no just follow at all, I rather be in a European country

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly bro I rather go to another country because there are a lot of psychopaths in this country call America

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is serious, may God help us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago