What have you stopped believing in?

32 58
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago
Topics: Prompts

Hello everyone, how are you today? It has been raining heavily over here for over two days (not continuously) and I am loving the cold weather that accompanies the rain. I used the earlier hours of today to play a game a friend recommended to me, it was recently launched earlier this week and a lot similar to call of duty ( Apex legends).

Anyways, I will be taking part in the prompt that was introduced by @Theblackdoll some days back (see her version here). The whole idea is to talk about what you were in your past and what things you did in your past that you do not do or believe anymore. So, let's get right to it.

Used to believe in the system

Image source

The system I'm talking about is the usual school-job-money system; go to school, graduate, get a job and start making money. Back when I was a kid, I so much believed in this system and see it as having no flaws, it's a sure way to having a good life but it turned out it wasn't so straightforward.

Back then, I took schooling so seriously and will always be at the top of the class because my goal was to get into the university, graduate, and secure a job but everything changed when I finished high school. I became more exposed to life and I had my first job, although it went quite well, I realized that's not what I wanted.

It was also from there that I got to know that the system is actually very flawed; lots of graduates are jobless because apparently they believed in the system as well and thought all they just have to do is to graduate with good grades and boom! They immediately have a job, but the reality is far from that.

Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty

Luckily for me, I figured that early enough and saw the need to not fully put all hopes in the system and start looking for alternatives. And that was what influenced me to start scouring the web looking for money-making opportunities as far back as 2015. I did a lot of things online and just kept exploring, gathering information, and acquiring knowledge on how to improve myself.

The truth is, school doesn't teach you much about life, you just have to figure out a major part of life all on your own and you won't be able to do that if you're stuck under the illusion that school is all you need. I have seen people that perform excellently in school but are terrible when it comes to life.

I can't remember the number of times I have heard people talking about some of their classmates they meet after several years of graduating from the university, you will hear something like "But he was very intelligent back then in school, what now happened?" Life happened, performing brilliantly in school is no longer enough, you have to know how to navigate life and that's something school doesn't teach you.

Used to be very selfless and a people pleaser

Image source

I am laughing right now as I remember what I used to be in the past, it's funny that I failed to see what I was doing to myself back then. I used to go the extra mile for people even to the detriment of my own needs, I could just give out everything I have to a friend even if it means I will have nothing left, I guess I was very naive back then.

I had lots of privileges as a kid and my parents always gave me lots of money as my allowance which I usually spend on food and drinks, and my friends greatly benefited from it πŸ˜† sometimes I will buy something to eat and they will ask me to give them some but I will be like; "why do that when I can just buy for everyone?", And with that, I will order the same thing for all of them even if it means I will have no money left.

It went on like that until my parents started complaining that I am spending money too much; the allowance that is supposed to be for a week will get finished in about 2 days. They ended up reducing my allowance very much that it even made me weep πŸ˜‚ my so-called friends started drifting away from me because I could no longer afford most things, and I started feeling a bit depressed.

Image source

Do you know what's worse? I started blaming myself for how my friends started treating me! πŸ˜‚ I was wishing I had more money so I could buy myself back into their group, I was truly naive and stupid back then but that experience taught me something very valuable: always put yourself first because people are still going to disappoint you even if you are nice.

You can cut off your right hand for a person and they will still complain that you cut off the wrong one, there's just no pleasing everybody. I am happy that I figured that out early enough and I just stopped trying to please people, it did a lot in improving my mental health and I feel very free because I know I owe nothing to anybody.

These days I just do something because I want to and not because I want to be validated by someone, unlike what I used to do in the past when I will be like "oh, I am sure he/she will really like this, let me do it the way they want". Honestly, it's the best feeling when you do things you want to without feeling like you're offending someone out there, because no matter what you do you're always going to offend one person out there, so why not just do it your own way? You just have to realize that you can't please everybody, knowing that will make it easier to not seek anybody's validation or acceptance.

Image source

Conclusion

Writing this article has actually given me a moment of self-realization and reaffirmed some of my new beliefs, I have weighed the whole thing and discovered I so much love the way I am right now compared to who I was in the past, I seriously cringed as I kept remembering what I was in the past, it's embarrassing πŸ˜†.

I seriously recommend that everyone take part in this prompt and have a moment of self-reflection and look at aspects of your life that have changed over the years. The great thing about doing this is that you might not only discover the negative things that were holding you down before, you may likely realize the positive ones you have forgotten over the years, and it may turn out that your old self was the better version but you won't know until you have taken the time to think about it. πŸ˜‰

Thanks for reading πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

Wednesday May 18, 2022

23
$ 7.25
$ 6.62 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 15
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago
Topics: Prompts

Comments

Totally out of context but I've stopped believing in Nigeria and well, that can pass for not believing in the system too any more. I want to leave this country and be praying for them from diaspora.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ that's the goal most of us have, I don't have any hope for this country any more and the best thing is to just relocate abroad and keep praying for things to get better here

$ 0.01
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£ thank God I am not alone.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't believed in what people are saying that if you finish school you will get a great job and a money, because nah as I look at some of people in our city who's a graduate on their school but I see them doing nothing and still dependent tontheir parents, so school is just some kinda requirement I think but it's on us on how we will go on and how we will get the success we want in life. Also some people doesn't really want to be with you, they just see you an opportunity or they just want something from you so they try to get to close to you and if you haven't got that stuff they want anymore they will just leave you.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

School is just a stepping stone towards having a comfortable life, but it doesn't guarantee that you will have a job and live comfortably after you graduate, and that's why it's important to learn other things outside school

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I fall in these categories✌️. School is fine, yeah very fine but it's majorly there to give someone upper hand incase if anything is cooking, but the other side, it's almost useless if smartness is not applied on it. To be sincere, I'm kinda regretting how I Carried this school for head at the early stage of mine and neglecting spreading my hands and legs to other good things

$ 0.02
1 year ago

School is just a means to am end, but many people see it as the end. That's why you will see that after school that it's those people that hardly come to class that will end up becoming successful and that's because most of them know how to network with people, and that's something school won't teach you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly, all school teaches is the academic initiation and little tips of life but fail to go deed to the basics of life, which we are to learn outside on our own. The connection is the Koko

$ 0.00
1 year ago

School - Work - Money is the biggest illusion in the world, I pity anyone who believes in the system!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It does work for some people and they end up with a job, but it's only the smart ones that later realise it's all a scam and still find ways to fix up their life before it's too late

$ 0.02
1 year ago

This is nice ..I love it .. this will help one to ascertain his or her priorities .. anyways to answer your question I stopped believing in man United

$ 0.02
1 year ago

🀣🀣🀣🀣 this one off me

$ 0.00
1 year ago

More and more people are awakening and now wanting to break-free from the system. You are amazing to have learned that early and I am pretty sure you will do better.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I have learnt not to depend completely on the system by not putting all my eggs in one basket

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's very smart of you Kushy :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

People pleasing doesn't get one anything but more hurt and that's it cos no matter how hard you try, they will never be satisfied.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Trying to please people is enough stress on its own and you will stille end up unhappy

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pls don't change o. Nigeria needs someone like you to redistribute her wealth not the set of leaders who keep the nations resources within their cycle. At least, you will chop your own, we see we chop our own. Kushyzee for presido 2027 πŸ˜…

$ 0.02
1 year ago

🀣🀣🀣 see this werey, if I mistankly become president I will make Buhari look like a saint, all these rumours going round that he sold the country to china will become real if it was me πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ahan, why will you want to sell our Father's landπŸ˜…πŸ˜‚πŸ’”

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I stop believing in the fact that people will always be there for you because it is a lie, they will always be there for you when you have money and they will be there to spend your money with you

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly bro, most people will stick by you mostly because of one benefit or the other and when they can no longer benefit from you, they leave

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜… some people still believe in the school system of working under a company, since is easier than building their own company, that's why they still like it.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Imagine working under a company and be collecting 50k till you die 😩 God forbid abeg

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That doesn't make sense at all, like how will the person have money to hold eh body after he pay rent and buy other major things like food and etc. Money done finish be that na.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly, but some people just feel like they don't have a choice and will rather be earning that small amount without much stress

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same here, I used to believe that having a degree will eventually give me a better life!. But its not, it could be on a ladder but not a guarantee. Sometimes its not about being intelligent but being street smart

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly, school is just something that helps you on your journey to the top but it doesn't guarantee you will get there

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Finally, I have a topic to write on tomorrow 😁 Although people can take advantage of your soft, caring heart, don't give up on doing good to and for people. Just don't do it at your detriment

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's exactly my point, I just do it when I now it won't affect me too much

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank goodness your course is a good one 🌚🌚🌚

$ 0.02
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚ aswear o, coz I no just get power to carry office file and be trekking round the country looking for job

$ 0.00
1 year ago