The acrostic challenge: can I do it?

21 62
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

When I saw this challenge on one of Jane's articles (read it here: the will to write), I was very impressed by the way she did it and I asked myself; will I be able to do this? Jane encouraged me to do a version of it as well, but I was lost on how to go about it.

How should I even start? What topic am I gonna focus on? Am I going to get the same smooth transition from letter to letter that Jane and Coquicoin got on their articles? (Click here for Coquicoin's version).

Yesterday, I finally summoned the courage to start working on this article but as soon as I wrote down the title, I lost focus again. I couldn't find the right inspiration because I still couldn't figure out what to write on. I ended up forgetting about it as I got occupied with other things, but after I saw Coquicoin's article earlier today, I knew I had to go back and finish what I started.

Now I have decided to just let everything flow. I am just going to write out my thoughts and make an article out of anything that flows within my mind space, let's just say this is a freestyle writing with a bit of premeditated contents.


On getting to this point, I became stuck and I ended up checking google for words that begins with an O πŸ˜† I saw some pretty good words but I just decided to stick with what I already had in mind.

This challenge is beginning to get a bit stressful as I have spent a couple of hours on this, so I took a break to enable me clear my head. I opened up nairaland.com to check out some news articles and to know what's going on around the world.

A particular title caught my attention; Man caught after poisoning his friend's Coca-Cola drink. According to the narration on the post, the person went out to pee and his friend poisoned his drink but someone caught him during the act.

Can you imagine how desperate he is for him to try and poison his friend in a public restaurant. After he has been caught, he is now begging for forgiveness but what if his friend ended up drinking that Coca-Cola drink?

Right now I remembered what I talked about in my last article (smoke and mirrors; deceit and betrayals). I said we should be careful of the people we trust these days, as betrayal can come from people we least expected.

Our friends can decide to turn on us tomorrow because of little issues like jealousy and envy. I wonder what that guy did that made his friend decide to poison his drink.

Situations like that should give us a wake-up call to evaluate the type of friends we keep. Always prioritize quality over quantity; having lots of friends can be disastrous on the long run because you can never tell who is planning against you.

The thing is, trustworthy friends are hard to come by these days and we should try our best to cherish the friends we have right now. Treating people right goes a long way to ensure we are on good terms with them but we can't please everyone the same way now, can we?

I always try my best to be friendly and open to everyone I meet. Apart from helping to being on good terms with them, it also helps my mind to be free of negative thoughts.

Certainly, it's not possible to please everyone but at least my conscience is clear and I know I haven't wronged anybody that choose to put me on their death list.


Closing thoughts

Well, it looks like I did it πŸ€— Just in case you haven't caught up yet on what this article is all about, look at the highlighted letters of each paragraph. Bringing out the letters and arranging it will give you "Why not acrostic". Yep, that's what the challenge is all about.

This was originally started by @McJulez and you can check out the original article here; why not acrostic?. I encourage you to also take part in this challenge, that's if you're interested.

One thing you should know about challenges like this is that it might look hard at first but the moment you take that first step, everything else starts to fall into place.

So, instead of asking yourself "can I do it?" you should instead say "I can do it!". It's the same words but what matters is the way you arrange it πŸ˜‰

Thanks for reading πŸ’—πŸ’—πŸ’—

Lead image credit: People photo created by wayhomestudio - www.freepik.com

Tuesday October 12, 2021

13
$ 6.07
$ 5.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @CoquiCoin
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 7
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Comments

That is bad of the guy who wanted to poison his friend. Like what does he stands to gain if he ends up killing the friend? Some people are just too wicked to live on earth. They are beast in human form. We need to be careful who we call friends. Great! You did well with the Challenge.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I have heard of so many cases like this and everytime the victims aren't lucky and they end up drinking the poison, thank God this one's life was saved

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have read ate jane's version of this too, and I was amazed at how she construct all those ideas. Same as yours, you guys are awesome

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah it's a fun challenge and I will like you to try it too πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh My, I also want to try this but I can't think of what to write right now. I'll do it once I think of something. This is actually cool

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I will be expecting your entry too Ruffa, I have no doubts that you will wow me with your entry πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Too bad, what will someone profit from taking the life of a fellow human,?

You did a great job, this is worth giving a try, I just hope I can do thism

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm definitely sure you will be able to do it Sir, you're also one of the great writers on this platform and I don't think this will be too difficult for you 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know why so people are so heartless to the point of taking another person life, his Friend for that matter , that's so bad.

Yeah , you tried in the arrangements of those letters, it's looking difficult, I might try it, but I'm not promising you, but if I do it, you'll be notified.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You're already good when it comes to writing, it shouldn't be too difficult for you to handle πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol, I'm not perfect, still learning .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You did great!! I love the way you did it. All the ideas flow well. Congrats!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much ma'am, I'm glad it turned out well

$ 0.00
2 years ago

KodusπŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰ You are damn good with words creativity. More ink to your pen and more BCH to keep gingering you. I feel like joining but I no fit crack my brain on thisπŸ˜‚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You can do it bro, it's not actually hard if you know how to start it. It's that first step that's hard

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow❗ You did great with this challenge. I was also thinking to join this challenge yesterday but I didn't continue writing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You should try to complete the challenge, it's actually easier than it looks 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow you nailed it to the cross, maybe I will try to take part in the "Why Not Acrostic" challenge too. And for the video you posted, I believe that, if it was on a road side restaurant the man was caught, they would have forced the drink on him or he will get a proper beating from the youths πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
2 years ago

He is even lucky that it didn't happen in one of those crazy cities, they won't even bother trying to force him to drink the poison, it's instant burning with tyre.

You're very much welcome to take part in this challenge as well bro ✌️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahah. I died laughing at the O. πŸ˜‚. I look excellent. Better impossible. Congratulations

$ 0.02
2 years ago

🀣 thank you Sir. I'm expecting to read your entry for this challenge as well 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago