Smoke and mirrors; deceit and betrayals

26 63
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Deceit is part of human nature and at one point or the other, we have all experienced this vice. Typically, humans rely on deceit when they want to take advantage of the next person and it goes hand-in-hand with cheating.

I recently finished watching the popular Netflix series; squid game and it's all thanks to the recent poor network service I have been having since yesterday. I couldn't grind on read.cash and noise.cash, so I used that opportunity to complete the squid game series.

Spoiler alert: if you haven't seen squid game yet and you're planning on watching it later, you should probably stop reading at this point because I'm going all out 🤣

Image source


The episode I love most is the sixth episode and you know why I picked it? It is the most emotional episode of the entire series (in my opinion). In that episode, they played the fourth game and I got to see how human nature can change within few minutes.

Betrayal, deceit, backstabbing and sacrifice were some of the things I saw during that game (the one that involved marbles). You guys saw what happened to Ali, right? I was heartbroken, and it clearly shows how humans turn on each other when situations get tough.

Sang-Woo took advantage of Ali's naivety but I wouldn't blame him coz he clearly didn't break the rules of the game, although the way he got the marbles wasn't honourable.

Seeing what happened to Ali reinforces the mentality I have of never fully trusting people. Ali was clearly naive and believed Sang-Woo will stick with him no matter what, and Sang-Woo took advantage of that. He forgot they were playing a game and everyone there is a competition.

Sang-Woo has been good to Ali and have helped him out multiple times, they have been really good friends but Sang-Woo didn't think twice before betraying him. This sort of thing also happens in the real world; I have seen very good friends kill each other just because of envy and jealousy.

And what of Gi-hun and the old man? He took advantage of the old man's memory loss (which he was faking!) to try and win the game. Despite he and the old man promising to be friends forever, Gi-hun was willing to win the game by trickery and sacrificing the old man.

But shouldn't we say the biggest deceiver in this episode is the old man? Before getting to the end of the series, I was already suspecting the old man and he was just using "dementia" as a smokescreen to conceal who he truly is.

I have been seeing hints throughout the entire series and I have been wondering how the old man have been surviving. The puzzle was almost complete in this fourth game after I observed the way he was acting, and the camera didn't show him getting shot.

Despite surrounded with treachery, betrayal and deceit, we saw an act of love and sacrifice from two girls that have barely been friends for a few days; Sae-byeok and Ji-yeong.

Ji-yeong sacrificed herself and deliberately lost the game so that Sae-byeok could progress. According to her, she doesn't have anyone that's waiting for her to return and she doesn't know what she will do with the price money if she wins.

It's just too bad that Sae-byeok couldn't make a better use of Ji-yeong sacrifice till the end.


Concluding thoughts

Squid game is a very interesting series and it's certainly worth the hype it received. There are lots of morals and lessons to learn from the movie, the games reflects some of the harsh realities of life.

From most of the games, we can learn that anyone can betray you anytime things gets tough for them. A friend that is always helping you today can sell you out tomorrow when he/she has been pushed to the wall.

But I just gotta ask, what would you have done if you were in Sang-Woo and Gi-uhun's shoes during the fourth game? Do let me know in the comment section below.

Thanks for reading 💗💗💗

Monday October 11th, 2021

13
$ 6.38
$ 6.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 6
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Comments

I have not started watching this series in all honesty. But you know when you are betrayed, the feelings of hurt are there to motivate you. You can't keep on investing in a person, getting no returns.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You're right ma'am, getting betrayed by someone feels like all our efforts we have invested on the person becomes a waste. You should make out time to see the series, it's really interesting but I hope you can handle the violence that comes with it, it's a bloody movie

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Will surely check on the series, Kushy! 🙂 Good evening!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This one is really an awesome series. You can get a lot of lessons ang you will come to think a lot about life and reality. This fan really happen in real life, betrayal? They can easily do that for their own life. Who will sacrifice themselves just to let someone survive right. And all just about the money, aigoo

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Money can bring out the worst in people, that's why you will hear people saying someone has changed after they made lots of money. Have you watched the series yet?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I watched it already 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Is that sang-woo I hate most but at the end he made sacrifice. I hope the season 2 is released soon

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes he sacrificed himself at last for his friend to win. The season 2 will probably be released next year

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have been seeing memes of squid game and I think people really like the series, though I haven't watched it yet. But I will sure make a time to watch it soon.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The series is really interesting, I thought it will be one of those over hyped movies that ends up being rubbish, but this one is worthy of the hype it got

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Definitely checking it out soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the lessons from the series that each of you have shared here. Betrayals and deceit happen everywhere even inside a family which is really sad. But that is the real world we live in. We just have to be tough to survive too :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly ma'am, we all have to be careful of who we trust in this world, betrayal can come from anyone. Have you seen the series yet ma'am?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True that Kush! No, haven't seen it. I decided to postpone seeing it until next year haha. I will end up not watching it because it's bloody :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oops 🤣 you might end up knowing the entire plot of the series even before next year, there are lots of spoilers online. The movie is indeed very bloody and most of the deaths are brutal

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, it's okay Kush. I don't mind :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha you completely spoil those who haven't watch it. Hahaha. I cried also in that episode especially when Ali found that he got stones and his marbles was taken with Sang woo. My heart feel the bullet when he got shot huehue

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I felt it also, I could see the pain in his eyes when he realised what Sang-Woo did, it was really painful 😖

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Este serial está duro a y llamativo a ya que cada jugador saca en sí todo tipo de sentimientos y personalidades por tal de ganar unos cuantos miles de dinero. Tiene una gran enseñanza este serial Linda noche. Te saludo desde Cuba.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

el dinero era mucho y la película muestra de lo que son capaces los humanos cuando se trata de mucho dinero. saludos desde Nigeria 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That’s my favorite episode too, I actually cried, but I can’t hate Sang woo even though he was such a jerk in this show. Whenever I tried to hate him, I would always remember how he was good in prison playbook where he played a protagonist. The lessons in this show was so great too. And even though how violent the show was, it didn’t stopped me to finished it.😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I can't hate Sang-Woo as well and I actually feel he is the only one that played the game well; he set his emotions aside and completely focused on the game, even though he was being a jerk about it.

Congratulations on finishing the series, aside for the violence and brutality, it is a great movie with lots of lesson to learn

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Without a doubt, I agree with you. In this episode it is shown that we can all react in an unexpected way to a situation of real danger, even betraying friends in a very low way. Others sacrifice themselves. Very entertaining and eye-catching.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That episode got me thinking deep about what I would do if I found myself in such situation. Something like that can completely change a good person into someone crazily evil

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is really very interesting...and lots of lessons to learn... That episodes made me shed tears

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I almost shed tears also but I just had to hold it. I didn't shed tears when I watched titanic, I'm sure not going to shed tears now for squid game 😔

$ 0.00
2 years ago