Popular punishments back in the days

46 48
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

I got the idea for this topic while I was in church yesterday. At one point we were told to raise our hands and give glory to God, after a while my arms started aching and my brain flashed back to my childhood and the occasional "raise your hands and close your eyes" punishment back then in school.

From there I started thinking about the other punishments I had to endure back in the days, I will start listing them from the most popular (this is just from my experience, so the punishments might differ for you 😁).

1. Raise your hands and close your eyes

Image source

This one is quite common as of then and the beauty of it is that it can be used on a wide scale, which is why it's the go-to punishment of most school teachers. It's stress-free for them, coz we were the ones doing all the work. All it takes is for the class to be noisy and the teacher commands everyone to stand up, raise their hands and close their eyes.

Our hands remain suspended in the air and after a few minutes, you start feeling the pain. A couple more minutes and the pain becomes unbearable, you start adjusting your arms in different positions and heights all in a bid to cushion the pain but after a while, it doesn't matter anymore and you start sweating profusely.

There are two variations of it; either you stand up to do it or you're kneeling down (this one is much worse). Some teachers will be lenient enough to let us go after some minutes, but the really wicked ones will leave us there for over an hour or two.

2. Flogging (ass-whopping)

Image source

Now, this is my mom's favorite πŸ˜† I got flogged a lot when I was a kid and I sometimes wonder if I was adopted. Teachers in school also love this method coz they always want to see you cry very fast, unlike other forms of punishment that will take time before the tears start flowing

The usual style is to ask us to stretch out our hands and we are whipped on our open palms. Y'all know the skin on the palm is quite thick, so a lot of us can easily deal with the pain, which is why some teachers prefer flogging us on other body parts like the ass, back (I hated this one), or even sole of the feet.

The usual tool of the trade is cane, but some extreme parents make use of horsewhip πŸ’€ you wouldn't want to get whipped with this one.

3. Frog jump

Image source

Ah, the favorite civilian punishment of Nigerian soldiers. Whenever you step on the toes of a Nigerian soldier and he wants to punish you, just know that this is the one he will use. Teachers use it also in school and it's usually used to punish those that came late to school since it's a punishment that can only be effective in a wide, open field.

It involves squatting very low, with both hands holding your ears, then you leap forward (like a frog!). You keep doing that and moving forward till you get to the end of the field (or till the punisher is satisfied). This has a long term effect on your things because they are going to feel really heavy and quite painful when you wake up the next day

4. Seat on the air

Image source

This one isn't very common but it's still used back then by some teachers who want to be versatile when it comes to punishments πŸ˜†. It usually involves just squatting down and pretending you're sitting on an invisible sit, with your hands stretched out in front of you

This punishment is a two-way attack; one on your outstretched hands and the other on your thighs. After a while of remaining in that position, your legs and arms start trembling and then you start sweating like you're in hell (it feels like it as well).

The worst thing about this punishment is that you might think you're feeling the worst pain right there, but just wait until you wake up the next morning and you can't even move your legs, it will feel like your thighs have been crushed with a sledgehammer.

5. Pick a pin

To be continued...

Big thanks to the wonderful trio of @Jane, @FarmGirl and @foryoubtc09 for their sponsorship renewal, this is a triple blessing all in one day 😁

Thanks for reading πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

Monday February 7, 2022

18
$ 5.33
$ 4.94 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 12
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Comments

Mi maestras nunca me castigaron, porque habia un protector llamado lopna, pero mi mamΓ‘ si me castigaba y bastante, ella si medio o me tiraba la chancleta, tenia una punteria que no fallaba y ella decia que la chancleta era mejor que un psicologo, ah y el palo de escoba, detras de la puerta, claro nunca me dio con eso, pero me amenazaba, y agarraba la chacleta.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Seeing such punishments reminds me of my childhood. Because I got a lot of such punishments in my childhood.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol, the same thing with me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All these were tough and horrible to us but they made all those days fun... especially remembering them now. Talking about flogging, do you know that there's a common pattern adopted to bear the pain with ease? Putting a granite seed(that type that's gotten from rivers) in the mouth while the teacher whips the back. 🀣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

All those tricks never worked for me, I still felt the pain very well πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Flog me, tell me to kneel down but never tell me to pick pin or seat on the hair. 😭 cause those two are the worst.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Guy, I hate them with passion, especially that pick pin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's this wicked chemistry teacher who also doubled as the discipline master back then in secondary school... The kind of evil evil punishment wey that man dey give ehn go make you wonder wether he got it from textbook.. he hardly flogs but he invents new killer punishments every term. Na the male students day suffer pass for him hand Sha since they no wan hear word.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We have someone like that too back in secondary school, the man na sadist and he is the king of punishment in the whole school

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never experienced those. Lol! I was always a silent child but I experienced sitting in the air when I was in college, that was only a part of the initiation rites for the organization I joined.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh, lol, I was a very stubborn child so I experienced all those punishments a lot

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh gosh that ass whooping, mom's favorite sometimes she use slippers, hanger, a bamboo stick ot whatever hard the she can grab while in rage 🀣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚ my mom mostly uses cane, it's a specialized weapon for ass-whopping πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never experience even one Kushyzee. If I have an experience, for sure I will cry. The "Frog Jump" I can't imagine myself doing this. The other one is "Seat on the Air" it's really Kushyzee. My knee, arms and feet will surely experience a super pains.

I watched some videos about this too Kushyzee. I'm really weak. I couldn't bear it. Now in our country, punishing students are not allowed already Kushyzee and there are laws also.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow, you never experienced any of this? Your childhood was a very smooth ride. Most of us got punished a lot back then, but now kids are no longer punished

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes Kushyzee I don't have any experience. Yes that's what I've notice too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In my country mother's are usually have methods of punishments once their kids are naughty or done bad, usually there are placed weapons on the table and the kids will be the one to choose which gonna whip on their asses. In school before our teachers punished us by letting us squat for 20 to 30 minutes with books on hands to make us suffer more. But now punishing kids on school is greatly forbidden by the law that's why kids nowadays have no respect to elders and teachers cause they are lack of discipline.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly, kids are hardly punished these days and that's why we have a lot of rude children that have no respect for elders

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm. Church going seem to be quite the development, I do wonder what is behind the development *PutsOnThinkingCap

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You suppose know say nobody fit push me to go church πŸ˜‚ I went for a baby dedication jare

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No wonder πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've experienced all the punishment you've listed while in my secondary school since it was a government school they punish us anytime we make noise or anytime we attend school lately hehehehe..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol, same here bro. I was a very noisy student and also a chronic latecomer, so I got punished a lot

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ouch! Frog and squats are the most commonly punishment I received when i was young. Haha. Still remember it clearly, its good to remember those good old days.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, it's good to remember our childhood, both the good and the bad experiences

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Where's chicken pose? 🀣 Ass whopping was my nightmare. Mostly i got hit by my madam. Because mam didn't like me and hit me everyday.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh, I know chicken pose but I didn't experience that. Ass-whopping was very common back then and I got whipped a lot πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uhh your speeches remind me a lot of memoriesπŸ₯΄ Back then i was not a good student and i got whipped too and chicken pose in front everyone was more sadistic

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ass-whooping would always be the most superior of all HAHAHA. But I also did seat on the air for 30 minutes in our class when I was in grade school because I did something that makes our teacher mad HAHAH but that was a fun experience tho

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ass-whopping is the king πŸ˜‚ it's the favourite of most parents and teachers

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha why does I experienced all of this haha especially the sit in the air, haha that's the worst punishment for me my knees are weak enough to hold much longer hahaha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol, that's a very painful punishment, your legs will be shaking after some minutes

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Legit, I can't help but to almost teared up while looking at my teacher.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I think of punishment, I think of childhood. Because then there is no accounting of how much punishment I received.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same here, I was a stubborn kid so I got punished a lot

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The one I hated the most is that seat in the air and a similar one called seating on the wall.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sitting on the wall is even better, because you can rest your back

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahha I was punished, squat because of being too noisy back thenπŸ˜‚. While ass whopping from my Mom because I was a restless kid back then

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I was also a restless kid back then and very noisy, so I got punished a lot πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my.. I remember I did squat in front of the class because I forgot to do my Math homework πŸ™ˆπŸ™ˆ.. Since then, I have always done my homework at home.. It was really embarrassing

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Most of us still didn't learn our lessons even after the punishments πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just remembered by cousin who did cutting classes, i saw them being punished by their teacher by sitting in the air, with books in the head and in the arms. That's painful and tiring

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's the extreme version of that punishment, some teachers put weights on your head and hands just to make things worse 😒

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, that's why my cousin can't go to school the next day because he felt pain because of the punishment

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The good old days haha. The one u suffered the most was pick a pin. I once suffered a bleed in the nose as a result.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Damn, that's crazy sha. I guess it's because blood flowed the wrong way due to the position of your head

$ 0.00
2 years ago