Writer's Block exists

24 53
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago
Topics: Writer's Block

19th of February 2022

Lead Image

As much as I wanna talk about the fact that I've begun to experience something called a writer's block, a part of me tells me not to do so or it would look like I'm making excuses out of my unwillingness to write a sense making article. I remember reading @TengoLoTodo's where he said "there is no such thing as a writer's block".

I agreed with everything written in that article based on the examples cited and various situations addressed in his write up. In fact, I added in the comment section that writer's block doesn't exist but there's only something called laziness, procrastination, and excuses made from our unwillingness to move out of our comfort zone. But now that my brain is blocked and there's zero writing inspiration I guess I'd have to disagree with the fact that "writer's block do not exist".

Woke up early this morning, looked at my time and it was only 6 am, and I shouldn't be awake by this time since it's a weekend and weekends are for rest. I went back to sleep and didn't wake up finally until 9 am or so...

Apart from the fact that it's a weekend, I had to sleep for longer because I didn't sleep well at night due to the mosquito invasion. Those guys sucked more than 50% of my blood and went out to call their friends. I had to resort to setting up a mosquito net around my bed at midnight in a bid to escape their wrath since I didn't want to wake up this morning with over 90% of my blood gone.

I finally Woke up and realised breakfast was already on the table waiting for me, I had to sanitize my teeth with something called a toothpaste, after which I devoured the rice and beans before me. I took an extra round as well and kaboom that was it.

I decided it was time to write for today and suddenly realised that I had nothing in my upstairs. I stared at my laptop for 2 hours plus but nothing came through... at this point I remembered Mr. Tengolotodo's post referring to the fact that writer's block doesn't exist but procrastination and laziness, and comfort and excuses and blah blah blah....

I instantly began to disagree with that statement for one simple reason which is that I'm actually willing to write and not procrastination or making excuses yet my brain decided to fail me by being empty. At this point I must say that I'm not only having a writer's block but a brain block as well. A situation that puts me at disadvantage considering that my "yes to writing everyday" must stand except in special cases where I get sick or perhaps got so busy with something called life and it's complexities.

As much as I want to write something meaningful today, I just can't... All I want is to sleep until my brain comes back to full capacity.

I believe my major issue is lack of adequate sleep!

Happy birthday Sis

In fact, it's my sister's birthday today- my elder sister, and I'm meant to write an article about her while singing her praise and talking about how wonderful a sister she has been since our parents left... Brain block wouldn't allow me as well. What I'd gave to do for now is gather enough sleep so my brain can be active once more, after which I'd write a 2000 word long article talking about her degree of awesomeness.

I joked with her this morning that she's the one absorbing all the food I've been eating since we were born. I eat everything and anything yet it doesn't show in my body, I remain my tiny self. But my sister on the other hand doesn't eat as much yet she's 3 times my size. Absorption no Jutsu at it's finest- Naruto fans like @Jinifer, @FashTioluwaand so on would understand.

13
$ 4.27
$ 3.94 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.05 from @JustMyRambles01
+ 8
Sponsors of Kristofferquincy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago
Topics: Writer's Block

Comments

I still would agree that there is writer's block because someone can have enough to write but laziness wouldn't allow such. I have always Experienced it and would keep looking at my screen for hours trying to get something to write. Many times, there would be a title but coming up with words wouldn't just come unless I research and read a little, then boom, I get inspired to make something out from it.

Happy birthday to your sister.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

These days I get too busy that it has become difficult foe me to read a lot of things and write out of research..

Thanks for the birthday wishes..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think for writing we need good mood.If our mood is good then we can wtite about lot of things in short time. Many many happy returns of day to Your sis.I wish her have a blessfull life with good health.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you so much!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Always wellcome dear❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All I can say is I don't write when I don't feel good to write haha Also happy birthday to your Sis, wishing her all the best:)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Even when I don't feel good, I force myself to write since it has become a part of me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I felt sometimes too Kristoff. I think the main reason too when we are weak due of lacking sleep. My brain doesn't function well because of it. I realized it's really important that we have an enough sleep kristoff. Sometimes when I felt lazy too, I felt demotivated.

Happy birthday to your sister kristoff! 🎉❤️ Wishing her the best and always in good health.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That lack of sleep is the major issue I'm having..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes kristoff that's true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Writer's block do exist, more like brain freeze, when you don't have a single thing to write on and there's no inspiration coming to write, you just sit and hope something comes. Happy birthday to your sis.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I experienced both writer's block and brain freeze today ni o

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Perhaps we excuse our laziness as writer's block. Perhaps we also excuse our writer's block for laziness. There is always a topic, but at that point in time, do you have the words?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Today there were no words and nothing to write about... my head was basically dry.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I understand jare. Even I am here thinking about what to write about

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happens to the best of us!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always experience writer's block specially if I don't have enough sleep and if I'm tired, my body and brain don't want to work for me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's exactly what I'm going through. Inadequate rest and sleep..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂😂I was laughing at some point when you said the mosquito suck 50% of your blood, so how many is remaining now...😀😀. Also happy birthday to Anuty Tolu and thanks to her for using that Justus on you cause you like sweet food

$ 0.01
2 years ago

MY blood will finish tonight as the mosquitoes will finish the rest. NA all the food I dey chop she dey collect

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A wiseman once said “you won’t understand some certain situation until you experience it” that’s what happened to you. Now you see for yourself.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Duurh.... Wise man Lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago