Day 20 of 356- Nothingness, and a short poem

31 77
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago

20th of January 2022

Lead Image

It’s the 20th day of the new year, I didn’t realise this until I took a look at my calendar and realised how quickly time flies. I was born just yesterday, and yesterday (5 months ago) I joined this platform; time went by so fast and here I am. I remember the happy new year scream and celebration of a new year. Everyone wrote resolutions at some point in their lives- “at this date I’d do this, and at this date I’d do that”. Today is the 20th, and how far have you gone? A lot of people simply write goals and intended achievements out of excitement and emotions, without considering if these resolutions are realistic, if they’d work, or if they are plausible based on environmental factors and state of things. Today is the 20th and so many haven’t begun chasing their goals, they keep procrastinating, keep telling themselves today is only the 20th and I still have 345 more days to chase my goals. Long story short- begin now and you’d be glad you did!

I do not intend to be a motivational speaker today, neither do I intend to jeer anyone up into being better persons. I’m simply passing by, while stating my observation. We’re all at some points guilty of the above-mentioned scenario, after all we’re all humans. Point is- it’s not too late to begin, if you have not begun to work towards your goals for the new year, I’d suggest you begin now, it’s better now than never!

Enough of new year resolutions and blah blah, let’s talk about me- I’m my favourite person hence this should be about me.

The weather here at Ondo state has been weird since I arrived and been finding it difficult to adapt. It’s been cold since I got here, I sincerely didn’t expect this kind of weather but here I am. I’ve had to cover myself up completely each night so I wouldn’t freeze to death, been boiling water before I can take my bath, while also putting on thick long-sleeved shirts all the time, my socks is a part of me, so I need not mention (I put it on every time), but I need to get new pairs if I intend to survive this cold. The cold is not a huge problem for me but the dryness of air, this results in a lot of dust. I’ve got a very sensitive nose hence I can literally smell the dust in the air. My nose has been itching ever since, thus I’ve been putting on a facemask every minute and hour of the day. I only remove it when I’m going to bed so I wouldn’t drown in my sleep lol. The air is so dry that I almost used up an entire tube of moisturizer this morning in a bid to keep my body moist. Unfortunately, it keeps drying up as soon as it is applied on to my skin, almost like this moisturizer is sinking into my blood stream as soon as it is applied. I had to give up at some point and decided the quantity I had on me was enough. My body feels whitish like a ghost from a Yoruba horror movie, hence I had to seek an alternative- Vaseline. If only I could get a glove, I’d feel even better because my skin is too sensitive, especially to dust, hence my hands being exposed feels really weird and dry, almost like no fluid exists under the skin. My laptop is so dusty that I can literally see the dust all over it. I had to scrub the entire surface yesterday, especially the screen and keyboard, yet the dust is back once more, thus looking like it hasn’t been cleaned in days or weeks.

I feel weird about all this, the dryness of air is killing me, the dust is making things worse, but it looks like I’m the only one complaining. No one else in the house is talking about it, it’s almost like they simply flow with it like it’s nothing but for me it’s a big deal. My nose has been itching, my skin has been feeling weird, in fact I’ve been sneezing for about three days now, hence the face mask as a preventive measure. Taking a walk down memory lane, I realise that I’ve always been weaker than other children my age since childhood, I get sick easily, spent more time in the hospital than I can remember, needles have pierced my skin so much that the pain that comes with piercing is now negligible, plus have always been allergic to a lot of things.  This allergy is the reason I have to put on socks all the time, while also ensuring I stay away from dust by every means possible which includes using my face mask all the time and avoiding body contact where possible. You may find it weird, but I do not like being touched except you’re special, or in inevitable situation.

Today, I intend to take a walk down the street so I could get new pairs of socks and gloves as a preventive measure from dust and all things dryness of sir which is killing my sensitive skin. I’m tired of this weather, a sign that this country isn’t for me. The cold isn’t the problem but the dust and dry air which makes my nose itch. I’m all about making myself feel as comfortable as possible and no holding back!

Surprisingly, this is the end of todays article- it may not make much sense but here I am! I’m my own favourite person, hence writing about myself shouldn’t be a crime… Lol!

A random poem I wrote out of boredom.

“Disclaimer; I know it makes no sense so don’t judge me”

“In shattered dimensions I find myself, the past and future combined,

But the future a paradox of uncertainty untold.

For a stroll down memory lane I wouldn’t refuse, but in deep space I find myself staring.

More difficult it becomes with my knowledge of its existence in high definition,

Metacognition- Metacognition”.

15
$ 4.03
$ 3.42 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @sj0820
$ 0.05 from @wakeupkitty
+ 18
Sponsors of Kristofferquincy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago

Comments

Your poetry is exquisite! Love it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If the air is too dry, not humid enough spray some water in it. I sleep with a hat, sometimes a scarce. Most gloves aren't warm at all. Those for working with the computer/phone I had but can't find back (kid took them a year ago?) but it helps a bit so does sleeping with your face underneath the blanket.

I set goals if I set them during my life. 🍀💖

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I sleep under my blanket a lot, and it actually help! I'm considering getting lip gloss for cracked lips, and Vaseline for the dry skin. My computer gets so dusty that it's annoying!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I understand how you feel about the weather at your side, same thing is happening here in Ilorin city, the air is so dry I have to drink water all the time, and when is 2am in the morning, its like someone will turn on the City AC just to Make the city very cold. I dont even have the privilege to boil water for bath..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm actually allergic to the dust that follows, hence I have to put on facemask all the time or I may have breathing difficulty. Who doesn't have the privilege to boil water? I find that weird. May I know why?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You might find it hard to understand or find it weird if I explain so I would just skip the explanation

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The last time I asked you to explain a certain thing on my comment section, you asked me to use the internet. It's rude!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Probably the method you used in asking or its a simple question

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The weather these days has not been nice at all, so cold and dry. And we should end procrastination because it's one of the killers of time. New year resolution should have been in action since the beginning of the year. Hope your stay in ondo gets better and you enjoy it

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The weather isn't for me, can't wait to leave this country! Ondo state is just here shaa, having electricity issues, I spend money on fuel daily. Fuel expenses has been added to my monthly budget, it's annoying!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Try any lotion or cream made out of pure aloe vera .. that is the best thing you can use for your skin

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks, I need something to help with lip cracks as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Shea butter or mango butter will be best...buy lip balms that has these ingrediants..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alright, I'd see if I can get that around here.. thanks!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

no worries at all, any skin care issues, don't hesitate to ask me.. will help you as much as I can

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes ma'am. I'd always ask. I'm getting obsessed with my skin lately, I wanna look like the perfect boy.. Lol. More like the golden boy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For dry skin petroleum jelly can help. I also have sensitive skin and I easily get rashes so I always petroleum jelly on me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think I'm gonna get that. It's something we call vaseline here...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

First of all happy belated birthday to you and secondly happy 5 months here. Here in my place,our weather is playing with us coz sometimes it seems it will kill us with it's chilly weather and sometimes it seems this weather will try us with it's hotness.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I don't have issues with the cold except the fact that it brings out the dust in the environment. The dust is killing me and I can't take it anymore.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used to think it's only me that's living in the country but don't deserve to be here. Mine is not dust or cold but the hot weather. Each time I enter the hot sun, I feel like I'm not a Nigerian at all. I wanna go to a freezing country🥱

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I need a cild country as well. Instead if us to have come here, it's harmattan that is here instead and it brings a lot of dust with it.. it's nonsense for me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hey, I hope you're keeping yourself warm enough throughout the cold days. I can relate to the sensitive skin though. The cold is also unbearable in my country, I've been experiencing chapped lips everyday due to the temp. All in all, I like the random poem at the final part of this article. Thank you also for interacting with my articles!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think I'm gonna have to get lip moisturizers as well as vaseline to help with skin sensitivity.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How many people are doing that for the skin. But I do nothing for my skin. Now I see I have to start with you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm getting obsessed with how I look and feel lately. I need the perfect skin. Lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed, time flies. Who could have thought it was the 20th, when did we even celebrate the new year. Sorry about your dry skin.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Time flies so fast that this month is gonna end in 13 days. Lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can use pond cream for dry skin..I also use this and I get the result

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks for the suggestion. I'd see if I can get that around me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago