COVID-19: over rated one, most hated one

32 86
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago
Topics: COVID, Story

Today’s a Friday and I’d be going for a second time covid-19 test with high hopes of coming out negative. I had to do an initial test due to the symptoms I exhibited; loss of sense of smell and taste- where it was discovered I had covid-19 and had to be placed on medications while simultaneously self-isolating.

Welcome to my covid-19 story, here we go!

Malaria or not Malaria

The 3rd of August was a day full of excitement, I had written my final exams and was glad to be finally out of school forever. It was full of celebration, regardless of whether the final exam was properly written or not, according to the LIGs- “done and dusted” is “done and dusted”, my friends hate me for this lol. LIG means” low intelligence group” (I’m sorry for trolling).

It was celebration here and there but all I wanted was to go home. Though I couldn’t go back to Lagos cos’ I still needed to work on my project defense, I had to go to my uncle’s place which isn’t so far from my university (45 minutes’ drive or so). I did my finals on Tuesday, went to uncles’ on Wednesday and began to feel a bit weird on Thursday night. I felt a bit weak and light headed but completely ignored it and went to bed.

I woke up on Friday morning feeling totally weird, was shivering while simultaneously hot and had a splitting headache. It was basically malaria symptoms cos’ I’ve had malaria more times than I can remember, hence had to make complains to my uncle’s wife; told her I had malaria symptoms after which she placed me on anti-malaria tablets. I couldn’t eat or drink anything and felt completely weird, I was literally losing my mind, couldn’t control my thoughts either. I was stuck in bed for three days while contemplating if I was getting better or not. At a point I thought to myself “I’m done with my final exam, so am I gonna die now?” the thoughts of a sick man haha.

Somewhere between having malaria and recovery, my project supervisor texted me, asking me to come see him concerning my project, I texted back stating I wasn’t available and had malaria.

Project supervisor and me

After days of vomiting all over the place I finally got better, but developed sour throat afterwards due to the excess vomiting.

Though I wasn’t completely balanced I felt okay but my vision was a bit blurry, it felt like the earth was spinning but I eventually got better few days after or so I though, until something weird happened which made me lose my mind completely. Got sick Friday the 6th, got better on the Wednesday the 12th and the “over-rated one took over”.

Over rated one, most hated one!

I couldn’t taste anything throughout the malaria period which was completely normal; the only thing that made sense in my mouth was warm water which became my best friend afterwards. It didn’t make sense, malaria was gone but my sense of taste wasn’t back, then I suddenly realized my sense of smell was gone too. I tried putting things close to my nose to grasp the odour but it all felt like taking in fresh air through a wind pipe haha. I was bothered after two days without improvement, I complained to my uncle’s wife (a nurse), coincidentally she just got back from work and was holding a bag filled with roasted fish which she placed close to my nose but nothing happened, no smell just fresh air. Her words were “it’s a covid-19 symptom”. Covid-19? How, where, when… “questions bothering me”. She said I had to do a covid test as that was the only way to determine what was wrong.

Since the only symptom exhibited was loss of smell and taste, I decided I was gonna go for the covid-19 test and return to school afterwards with high hopes of not being positive, so I could finalize my discussion with my supervisor.

Covid-19 test or torture

I did the covid-19 test on Tuesday the 17th of August; was asked a series of relevant and irrelevant questions before the test was carried out. The test was basically me being tortured all because I couldn’t smell or taste, maybe my super powers are finally developing and you wanna take it away from me hash tag covid-19 (No kidding).

The test was all about me being tortured with a super long cotton bud. The procedure was simple, the doctor asked me to tilt my head slightly backwards while putting the “torture stick” into my throat, and I felt like my breath was being taken away from me so I had to push the doctor’s hand out of my throat (haha). His words were “calm down, calm down and let’s do this once”; my response was “you’re torturing me” hahaha. I tilted my head backwards once again, he asked me to close my eye which I did and kaboom I let out a cough cos’ I almost died from being tortured.

Next step was the nose swab or whatever they choose to call it. I tilted my head backwards once more and the “torture stick” went into my nose, it tickled a bit but I maintained my cool, I realized the nose was much deeper than I thought. The doctor continued to push it in even deeper until I decided I’ve had enough, pushed his hands off me and told him “you don’t have to reach my brain before stopping”, and that was it. I felt like I wasn’t in a hospital but a torture chamber.

Packed a few things after the test and returned to school with plans of seeing my supervisor. Plan was; school on Tuesday, relax on Wednesday and see him on Thursday. Wednesday was a really awkward day, wrote about this in my article titled “weirdest day ever”. I put a call through to my supervisor on Thursday to inform him I’d be coming over but he said He said wouldn’t be around till the following Monday. Decided to stay till Monday but began to feel weird on Thursday evening, everything began to smell and taste like detergent which really affected me psychologically and completely lost interest in eating.

Managed to push through till Friday but didn’t eat anything except roasted meat which we popularly called “suya” cos’ it had a lot of pepper, this was the only thing that made sense to my taste buds. I was beginning to lose my mind.

Discovery aftermath

It was Friday evening (three days after the test) when I received a call from a strange number asking if he was speaking to Mr. Kristoffer, which I responded to. The information was- the test result was out and it came out positive. His words were “it came out positive but you don’t have to be bothered yada yada yada” (motivational speakers here and there), after which I received a text from the hospital as shown in below image.

Text received from the federal medical centre

Had to board the next available vehicle (with my face mask on of course) and went back to my uncle’s place for self-isolation and medications. Texted my supervisor and explained the situation and why I wouldn’t be able to see him anymore (He can choose to see me if he wants to get infected, it’s a free world haha).

I’ve been on medications ever since but I’m getting better daily, in fact all of my articles were written from my in-house isolation.

Today makes it exactly two weeks since I began the prescribed medications and I gotta go for another test today or perhaps another hall of torture from the doctor with the torture device called a super long cotton bud for covid testing.

Wish me luck; let’s hope I’m now negative. 

Shout out to all of my sponsors @Bloghound, @Eylz2021, @Pichi28, @gertu13, @bmjc98, @HappyBoy, my special @FarmGirl, @CoquiCoin, @Olasquare, @OfficialGamboaLikeUs, @Jinifer and @ARTicLEE.

Your support has always kept me going, thanks for encouraging me to write more. I love you all.

Lead Image from unsplash.com

17
$ 5.76
$ 5.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 7
Sponsors of Kristofferquincy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago
Topics: COVID, Story

Comments

Finally, I believed this stuff really existed, because I just discovered I knew someone who actually has covid-19. So clumsy

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Trust me, it was the weirdest feeling ever. Losing your sense of smell and taste is worse than you can ever imagine.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good luck, I really hope your test is negative. May everything pass quickly and soon you will have your sense of smell and taste restored. Recovering your health is the most important thing now. Good luck friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks friend, I believe I'd be okay and fine. I appreciate your care sincerely.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Reading this gives me goosebumps. Though i was aware you passed through all these ,but reading it in black and white makes me cringe. I'm happy you're getting better now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for your care. I'm better now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish the results were negative. And please take care of yourself, the strains are changing but they are coming more and more aggressive.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks ma'am. Went to the hospital but the test was rescheduled for Monday. Got absolutely no idea why.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Keep on praying, CoVid 19 positive is not easy, although were young, healthy and fully vaccinated but wag magkampante, we avoid virus as long as we can not only for our self but for the sake of our loveones,, I prayed for your fast recovery my friend,

$ 0.01
User's avatar Amz
2 years ago

Thanks dear, I know I'm gonna be fine. Thank you for your care. ✌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Always take meds. Take care always Kris ❣️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you my dear Jinifer. Lots of hugs to you 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I pray for your quick delivery bro. Stay safe out there please.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks dear, I'd be safe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"I felt like I wasn’t in a hospital but a torture chamber." - Im sorry i laughed here. Haha Get well my friend and pray that you are not positive, always take your medicines Goodluck today.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, I'd be fine. ✌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Praying that you get better the soonest and your second test would be negative. Always hope for the best.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hopefully, your test is negative now. And I hope soon you are fully recovered and can leave the isolation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope so too. Tired of saying indoor. Thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks to God that you didn't get the worst of it. When I was affected, it hurt my chest a lot , especially during breathing the ribs hurt... Will come up with my covid story soon

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm glad you're fine now. I look forward to your covid-19 story. You can give it a stylish title as well. You must have noticed I do that a lot with my articles.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes I am noticing and learning the way you do..BTW you are best in your own style

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really? Am I? Thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes you are welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yea sir.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hoping you're getting a lot better and there wasn't any hint that you were in isolation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I've gotten really better, thanks. I didn't give a single hint cos' I intended to write about it later and....I'm Batman. I was holding in the shadows.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Glad to hear. Ahh that's right, clever you :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can be batgirl if you want.

$ 0.00
2 years ago