Be your favorite self

34 142
Avatar for King_Gozie
2 years ago

For so much of your life you have tried to edit yourself for the sake of others so that others would feel comfortable around you and you've done it for so long, but now you no longer feel comfortable with yourself.

Everyone else was always the deciding factor in what you put on, or how you act, before even considering yourself everyone else was the priority. Maybe people will think this looks bad, or think that "oh he's got a lot of money", or people say you dont have a lot of style, everybody's thoughts have come before your own.

We are always caught up by what is trending or what people flow with and "why should you follow the trend?"Let your style be timeless and unique.

Sometimes we treat our emotions poorly, our personalities and how everyone thinks about us and we think we would make others uncomfortable by being ourselves.

Own picture

You'd have to help yourself before trying to help others and if you try to curb yourself all the time it's fine. It's fine if you dont go along with people, the people who would love you will do so.

Be kind to yourself

You're okay with being unkind to others because you're okay with being unkind to yourself and on the other side you're okay with other people being unkind to you because you're okay with being unkind to yourself.

Own picture

A moment back I had a very simple thought come to me that I caught, the battle I feel when it comes to gaining control of my emotions and ultimately having more control over my life and what I do often times is I just let my brain do whatever instead of having to self work and become a better person, and a more desirable person for myself.

Sponsors of King_Gozie
empty
empty
empty

Check out my sponsors

Before I talk about being desirable for other people, desiring to be around yourself is just working on catching your thoughts and feelings.

The thought I had was very simple I was walking out of a mall and I missed my exit, the first thing I say to myself is "Idiot" with a loud growl. Leading up to that moment for a few weeks I had really being focused on being more aware of my thoughts and being gracious and gentle with my self and it occured to me that in the simplest moments something as small as missing an exit somehow warranted me calling my self an Idiot and insulting myself.

Well most of you would say it's not much of a big deal, and you do that all the time but to put it in context of two different scenarios,

First scene; if I where to be walking out of that same mall with a friend and I miss the exit and they looked at me and called me an 'idiot' the first thing I'm thinking is that "I shouldn't have missed that exit fine but I dont think you have to call me that" its normal because people miss exits all the time I dont think my intelligence needs to be questioned and I dont need that kind of friend.

Second scene; I'm walking with a friend and he is leading me out the mall and they miss the exit I'll never call my friend an idiot for missing an exit, I will just tell him he missed and that'd be all.

It actually showed how quick I was to insult myself, to belittle myself over something so small meanwhile I wouldn't do that to anybody how much more for much more meaningful mistakes that I make in life.

If you are one of those people that are quick to curse themselves over small mistakes then you know that you're just more ruthless with yourself when it comes to larger issues in your life.

Certain mistakes in your relationship, career, in faith and all other things you know you've messed up on, your first response is to shame and guilt yourself. "How's that working out for you?"

Own picture of me with friends.

Sometimes it's okay to be hard on yourself, well you do love to be perfect all the time, but you're really ignorant. For instance when you talk to a child and you dont motivate that child and rather you curse everyday we know that is bad, and you know the outcome.

Sometimes we can have high standards and expect greater things and still be kind to our selves, and still be our favourite self, and still show a little affection to ourselves. We can still demand greatness, diligence, growth, and a better person and still be kind and understanding to ourselves.

Image source

Motivate your self all the time, and discover new things to show more affection to your self and understand that there are consequences and effects of not doing such. In addition, eat what you desire, put on what you love, whatever you are drawn to, please go for it and if you love it why not.

Thank you for your time.

|21 July 2021|

14
$ 21.09
$ 20.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Just1dood
$ 0.05 from @Eylz2021
+ 5
Avatar for King_Gozie
2 years ago

Comments

I have learned so much on this article. I just realized that if I'm not kind to myself how can I be kind to others? If I do not love myself, how can I give love to others? Everything should start within us first.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

We must in any case compromise on our personality for the sake of other people. Not at all. Being in ones own comfort zone should be the first priority

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is totally what everyone should read and internalize... Self-love is one of the highest forms of love that everyone should know... This is indeed a good read today!!!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Good read and reminder. I can be my own worst critic. Be on guard and don't make self bashing a sport. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We should aways start with ourselves first. Learn to love yourself wholeheartedly and everything else will follow.

$ 0.07
2 years ago

Thank you for being an impact for me this morning because I curse my self almost everytime, sometimes it gets me demotivated. God bless you for this content. Everybody needs to see it.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much for reading

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It should always be loving yourself first. Trying to change what you really are just to fit in in what they call standard has been my doing in the past. However, I realized that I am just making it hard for myself. I just then realized that I can't even please anybody, and that is when I start to love myself, be original, and choose myself.

$ 0.12
2 years ago

I'm glad you got to realize that, indeed we should love ourself more. Its common now where people don't have any standard built for themselves for any slight mistake they blame themselves. Thank you Missjo, I'm grateful for the comment and contribution ❀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We should place ourselves first for everything after that you can place others next. It is not selfishness but knowing value of oneself. So many things people do for others out of their contact and at the end they balme themselves and regret it,so why do it in the first place. Learn to love yourself

$ 0.12
2 years ago

For every action, more often we play the blame game on ourselves, not that you wouldn't value people around you but also learn to do that sometimes to yourself...thanks a lot for the comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Respect... We have to give it to ourself and to the people around us.... If we have that self respect it will not be easy to insult or demoralize ourselves and othee people. Have a good day!

$ 0.08
2 years ago

Thank you for the comment and contribution...we do that most times and it doesn't seem to be the way, but 'Respect' is what we need to show to ourselves and others, I learned something new already.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi!πŸ‘‹ Its my very first time leaving a comment in your article because I just felt a little shy to do so.. hihi

Anyways, I just want to say that, "We are not always an apple of the eye for others." Its a saying thou, but regardless of that, its still best to show the real you and importantly being true to yourself. For me, its the best decision you will make to prove to yourself that despite everything, you are the real you.😊

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Thank you renren, you can stop by anytime, you're most welcome ☺. I love your contribution about "being true to ourselves" it gives us more will power and we are more free within us, that is the best decision we should make in all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for appreciating it bro!(Can I call you that?) Most of the boys friends I have in here, I called them "bro" I hope you do too..hihi

And yeah, being real and true , for me is also the best gift you can give for yourself.😊 Its nice meeting you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I dont mind, its fine.....nice meeting you too friend. Very well explained, I can call you renren now till I think of something special 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's fine for me too bro! And thanks for your permission..😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

☺️☺️☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes because we don't have anything else to say, we say derogatory remarks. Always remember words we say to others reflect us. Also words we say to ourselves are the most powerful. Don't be rash to name call other people. It would be better to teach them instead.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Thank you for the beautiful contribution, the little things we do often feel like they are not having effect, they really do. We should be both kind to ourselves and kind to others even in our utterances...God bless you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's right. At the end of the day it's all about how we treat ourselves first.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Though we try our best to treat our own self like we want but some time the critical situation come out just because of pressure as well being a person of under some one.. But nice topic you have point Out

$ 0.07
2 years ago

Thank you for stopping by and for your contribution, there will be times where we go hard on ourselves especially when we're faced with challenges but regardless we should not harm ourselves by altering evil words or trash talking in every situation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

true and there should be always limit

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totally true, you've said it all πŸ’― thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cheers

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Friends shouldn't say things to demoralise their friends. People make mistakes . Self love is very important, it makes one own up and refuse to be look down on. By the way, you are one handsome dude brother πŸ‘πŸ€—πŸ˜‚

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahaha thank you Happyboy I know you're whining. I agree totally with you we should have this special affection for ourselves, it builds our inner mind. We agree to do that to others but neglect our selves

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is Motivating!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you Mary.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

See freshness in one person!!!.

You are absolutely right.

We need to try as much as possible to discover new things and show more affection to ourselves as well and also understand that there are consequences for every of our actions.

$ 0.12
2 years ago

Aw 😊 thank you Queen. You are right our actions has a way of bringing us down and we loose self confidence.

$ 0.00
2 years ago