Greatest movies of all time and "why?"

13 56
Avatar for King_Gozie
2 years ago

I hope you all have a good day and the tine has come for me to give you my list of the best movies for decades and my opinion. There's a couple of things to keep in mind, I have not seen all the movies out there it's the way it is.

Also these are not really perfect to everyone it is just my favourite, I'll say a couple of things about them, have fun with it; here is my unprofessional very biased and subjective list of my all time favs.

Social Network

The social network is one of director David Fincher's best work, its brilliantly edited, shot and performed.

The movie is based on the fictional book "The Accidental Billionares" who tells the story of Mark Zuckerberg and his rise from a Havard undergraduate and computer programming genius to one of the youngest billionaires in history.

As the film is based on a work of fiction there are some liberties that it takes with the true story. The big one being the whole relationship between Mark and Erica which never existed which is bold considering that the relationship is one of the important aspects of the movie. As Mark motivation to create and turn Facebook into this insanely big website that it is today.

Throughout the movie mark feels a constant need to improve the site to make it bigger after bragging about it, this was his big moment to be accepted and be better than people who has shunned him his whole life.

At the end of the movie this shows us that even at the end he looks to the site to validate his happiness and status.

Avatar

This movie was epic, it's being beyond hype when it released years ago. It was an emotional investment for me that's pretty much what I can say.

Avatar tells the story of a human Male, a broken boy soldier who is hired for a secret government project because a guy who looked like him died. Injected into a newer blue body and tasked with an infiltrating tribe of pandora.

He's main reason was for exploitation, in the process he liberates them from the oppressors. Avatar was the highest gross before the release of The Avengers in 2019.

The film illustrate the collision between nature and technology that would come to define the reign of human kind on earth

12 years of slavery

12 years of slavery is the disturbingly true story about an Africa-American guy.

The injustice of humans became really a concept to create an escape. It was spectacular, I cried in this movie it's hard to grasp the concept that someone will beat and murder somebody because they are their property.

Explained the brutality of it all, the injustice of buying, selling and trading people, he gave into the situation and made up his mind to remain where he was as a slave.

Humanity indeed wouldn't realize the flaws of it's own actions.

Wonder Woman

This was the fourth D.C movie. She's an Amazonian warrior princess, she lived in an island of all warrior women. She is a strong character because she exhibits strength not because the men around her exhibits weakness, but she stands for peace, justice and acceptance which are rare in our world today.

A lot of expectations; people who wanted Wonder woman to represent strong women, and those who wanted wonder woman to save the D.C cinematics universe. People like me who just wanted to enjoy and have a good movie time, it paid off as a good movie.

Whiplash

Whiplash carries across as another story about overcoming challenges and beating the odds to achieve a personal goal.

However this isn't a feel-good story that will leave you with a proud sense of satisfaction.

This movie is dark and unsettling showing that the path to greatness is paved with stress, brutality and sacrifice. It captures the tension and anxiety and reveals throughout a man's physiological journey and submits to the audience several failure and abuse instances because there was a burning passion for Jazz music.

Half of a yellow sun

According to the 2006 best selling by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, about the Nigerian civil war which took place between 1967 to 1970, it explains love and war. Showing a dynamic relationship among few people and explains tribalism as at that time because a talk about splitting caused a severe conflict and war.

There where other related emotional stories, the story gives you an insight to what happened in Nigerian history and its important this is known to avoid a repitition of past mistake.

The movie produced in 2014 was beautifully done and many lessons could be drawn from it, because despite all, families rally back together during times of crisis and the vulnerability of people during their worst times due to pride of what is believed.

Titanic

A romantic tragic comedy where mixtures of tragedy, special effects and romance story based on love and tragedy.

It is a true life event that occured after an impact with an iceberg and what got to me was the sacrifices that was made at the end. It got me in tears every time I rewatched this movie.

"My heart goes out to everyone who had lost someone to that event."

Black Panther

This movie does it right and was pretty entertaining. So fascinating how into Wakandan culture I was, felt like I had a front row seat to all of it and how much of it stuck to me. Rest on Chadwick Boseman.

In reviewing an MCU movie you've got to address the marvel stuffs which are "how does it fit into the marvel cinematic universe" it does take a stance along with the humor.

The story represented culture so very well and every character was fun to watch.

My name is Khan

An all time blockbuster movie, over all a great movie. It did a great job in showing all of that across between him starting his journey and then going back to show a little bit of a back story. I could form an attachment with this character and I kept rooting for him to find what he was looking for.

It portrays an Austistic child who grew up with the conviction of proving that he wasn't a terrorist to himself and to the world.

I believe we can learn a lot from movies even the classic ones, these are the movies I watch almost most times because there are lessons to be learnt from them. You can comment below on what your greatest movies are.

Thank you for your time

|20 July 2021|

10
$ 7.10
$ 6.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.03 from @Fexonice1
+ 5
Avatar for King_Gozie
2 years ago

Comments

Literally every movie in this article I have watched..................... and I have to say yes!!! these are like the greatest but my top one has to be avatar......... I am a sucker for fantasy and world building, but the CGI masterpiece that is Avatar is amazing, like it was surreal and engaging all through the last moment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have to yet to watch some of those (Whiplash, 12 Years of Slavery, Half of a Yellow Sun, My Name is Khan). The rest I have watched. Titanic one too many :D

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You need to see the rest of them, they are all epic. Always lessons to be learnt from them. Titanic ❣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

By your description of them they really are worth watching for. So many movies, too little time lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes they all are, thats true to even try to keep up on both platforms and work again then movies...not easy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really enjoyed watching my name is khan and black panther, my all time favorites too. Another movie that should be up here is Interstellar you need to see that too. I will need to watch some of these here soon.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you for the contribution..I will search for it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love half of a yellow sun, Black Panther, Titanic. I am not too fine with all these sci-fi. Good memories though. Twelve years of slavery is a good one to watch too.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hahaha sci-fi movies are cool too, in love with 12 years of slavery it has so much meaning. Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've watched some movies related to that it's great watching them I would like to watch some more

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah so great, there are a lot of movies out there but these few are my go to everytime. Thanks for stopping by

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I've seen half of a yellow sun, so emotional. And I've also seen the movie My name is Khan, I learnt a lot from it.

I'll check out the other movies too.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I cried oo the first time I saw those movies, really touching..you could feel the pain that occurred. This was just to name a few though. You'd love them 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago