My RTO Exception Request was approved!

27 183
Avatar for Khing14
2 years ago

Thursday last week, I have written an article entitled "Special Treatment....Shall I grab it or not?". This is about the Return to Office exception that my Manager is offering me after he learned about my journey to office after my first day of RTO last Tuesday, December 7, 2021.

I am quite hesitant at first because I am thinking of being unfair to my colleagues but then after writing the aforementioned article and read the suggestions from some of you which is mostly advising me to grab it, I finally decided to grab the opportunity since my Boss is ready to back me up for the same.

And so, that night of Thursday, I've written my request thru email. Below is what I've told my Boss thru mail.

As discussed, I am asking for the possibilities of delaying my return to office schedules for the following reasons:

  1. June last year, our stay-in helper went home to their province in fear of the rising covid positive cases here in Cavite.  We’ve been trying to find replacement since the RTO announcement last October, however, we’re struggling to find stay-in helper which will take care of my three kids while I am away.

  2. My journey to the office is quite a challenge as the public transport is very limited from where I live.

    1. Last Tuesday, my husband and my kids sent me to the office and it took us almost 2 hours to arrive where we took the fastest route.

    2. They have to fetch me after shift to avoid commuting in public transport to avoid exposure. This equates to 2 hours to get me and then another 2 hours to bring me home. This is counter-productive for both of us but this is the only option I can consider at the moment.

  3. Considering the length of travel time if I commute, I am most likely at risk of not arriving on time for my shift, not to mention the waiting time for the bus.

Please let me know if this is something we can work-out with.

I've waited for his response till last Monday. And since, I did not received anything yet from him, I thought my request wasn't granted.

So I've sent him a follow-up message last Monday night. Below is our convo (I have to mask the name mentioned in our conversation for confidentiality purposes.

Me: Hi Boss, good afternoon! Just wonder if you've read my mail already regarding RTO Exception Request?

My Boss: Heya Khing! I did indeed! Really sorry, there's some HR things that I need to cover off before I can raise this exception! In all honesty, I'm not sure whether this request is going to get approval. I will be raising this with xxxxx tomorrow, and we'll hopefully get approval to raise it with HR

As you can see, his response is so uncertain. I mean because morning that day, the HR sent another notice or memo with the RTO plans till March next year. And in that memo, it was mentioned that we are required to report to the office 3x a week. From once a week this month (December), starting January next year, it will become 3 times a week.

I am actually hopeless upon reading that notice from the HR last Monday morning, but I still want to try my luck.

And then last Tuesday, during our one-on-one call, our topic is actually mainly about my request. I've enumerated to him my concerns and difficulties of returning into office too soon (we're not ready yet to be honest).

He told me to leave it to him, that he will speak to his Manager to get the necessary approval before he sends an email to our local HR.

And just awhile ago, he chatted me if I can have time for a quick chat. He called me just to send the good news that his Manager approved my exception request!. Yahooo!...

So he told me that he will send an email to our Local HR today and will keep me posted on the progress!. I am so thankful really that I have a Boss like him who's priority is our welfare. Even though there's no assurance that our Local HR will grant my request yet, I am still very touch with my Manager's gestures and I will forever treasure it!.

I am not yet there! but I am almost there!


That's all about the good news from my end for today. I opted to share it with you being my virtual friends.

By the way, I am able to accumulate $5 now (hehe!) hence I am looking for my baby (me being the Santa). This is in response to the BCH Santa Challenge by @bmjc98 . This challenge runs till December 23rd so hurry and be a Santa as well!.

Sponsors of Khing14
empty
empty
empty

16
$ 6.89
$ 6.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @bmjc98
+ 9
Sponsors of Khing14
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Khing14
2 years ago

Comments

What a kind boss you have.. I really your req is approved by HR

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hopefully ma approved sis, good luck

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sis kakatawag lang ng Boss ko..approved na..hehe..March na ako babalik sa office..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You got a nice workplace and nice colleagues. That's worth treasuring. 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes sis...and nice Boss too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you mommy for choosing me as your baby hehe.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

You are welcome sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I read the article last week and I was quite sure your boss would grant you this favor. Thank Good he did. Congratulations.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congrats, you deserve it

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMG, congratsuuuuuu 🥳 ilang step ba baka makarating ka dun? Pero sureball na yun so, OMG ,m🥳🥳✨

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One nalang ateng...sa HR nalang...cross fingers sana pumayag

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congrats sis and nag success ka hehehe.. Ayay may pa challenge na nmn😉.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes sis...hindi pa completely approved pero sana makumbinse ng Boss ko yung HR namin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok lng yun pero malay mo ma approved diba. Ang hirap ng sitwasyon mo ang haba tlga ng byhe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ou sis..hassle talaga

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice po🙂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's great that your request was approved, that will really help you to solve your journey to the office problem, at least I guess you won't be worried about that anymore, congratulations ma'am

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you..I am still hoping that our HR will approve it..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahhhh nice boss you got ate. Unta ingana tanan

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Superr sis!..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everything will be worthwhile 🥰

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yes indeed!...cross fingers!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago