My Postpartum Dream

38 38
Avatar for Khing14
2 years ago
Topics: Dream

January 19, 2010 at around 19:14 PM (PH time) when I gave birth to my first born.

Since it was my first, I never expected that the labor pain is the pain that no one would ever wanted. It feels like my bones are all breaking at the same time. It is the worst pain I have ever experienced - since birth.

I am actually more than a week overdue the time I felt the contractions. If I may recall it correctly, I am 10 days overdue by that day already. My OB Gynecologist prescribed me "Buscopan". As per my memory, she said buscopan will help soften my cervix and prepare it for the delivery.

It was around 02:00 AM in the morning when I started to feel the excruciating pain I never felt in my entire life. I told my husband that I might give birth already. We rushed immediately to the nearby hospital. Luckily, the hospital is only walking distance from our house. I asked my husband to bring me to the hospital when the contraction frequency or rate becomes one in every 5 minutes already.

While in the Emergency Room

As soon as we arrived at the Emergency, one of the nurses approached and assisted us to one of the hospital bed. He asked me if I do have a record at the hospital and who is my OB Gynecologist. They immediately contacted my OB Gynecologist for confirmation of my record and for further instruction.

The nurse continued quizzing me and asked me few more questions about sickness history while I am at the emergency room. Whenever he noticed that there's contraction, he told me

"okay Mam, answer that later after the contraction" .

After few minutes, the resident doctor came by. She wore gloves and immediately checked my cervix opening and told me that it's just 1 cm. She said, we have to wait till it reaches 10cm. I asked them if I can go home and just come back when I think it's about time to give birth but they didn't allowed me to.

I was then admitted to the labor room and there, I am the only patient. I have a resident doctor sitting beside me, monitoring my baby's heartbeat and my vital signs from time to time.

While in the Labor Room

I could barely cope with the pain I felt while I am in the labor room. I cry out loud whenever I felt the cramps. I know that they are annoyed by my loud agonizing but I don't care. I don't know what to do every time there is contractions. I cannot move cause if I did, the monitoring equipment attached to my tummy (to monitor my baby's heart beat) might displace.

I can still clearly recall one of the resident doctor asked me

"was your pain tolerance too low?"

I didn't answered that question but back in my mind, I am talking to myself like

"can't you see how much I am in pain right now?

"can't you see how much I agonized due to the pain?"

I am not allowed to eat or drink anything while I am in the labor room . I believe it is due to the risk of aspiration which happens when food or any liquid inhaled thru lungs.

More than 10 hours has passed already but my cervix opening was still stuck at 1 cm.

It's already 3:00 PM when my OB Gynecologist came. She checked right away the heart beat pattern of my baby.

I think she saw how tired and exhausted I am hence she asked me if I wanted to have a painless labor.

Of course at that moment, that's the most beautiful word I heard. I noded immediately.

She then instructed the assistant doctor to call for anesthesiologist. After few minutes, the anesthesiologist came. He asked me to sit still and arched my back while he is administering the anesthesia. Few minutes after that procedure, I can still feel the contractions but it is not that painful as before. It's more manageable this time.

While monitoring my baby's vital signs, she noticed that my baby's heartbeat is getting weaker and weaker. That was around 18:00 in the evening already. She then stood up, walk through the door and approached my husband who is patiently waiting outside of the labor room. She asked my husband to sign a waiver to conduct a CS section to me. To cut the story short, my husband signed the waiver.

But when they are about to bring me to the operating room, my water bag suddenly broke. That was nearly 19:00 in the evening already. The plan has immediately changed cause when the doctor measured my cervix opening, it's at 6cm already and minute by minute it's going wide till it reaches 10cm. Instead of bringing me to the operating room, I was brought to the delivery room instead.

Delivery time!.

I was so exhausted and tired during the time of delivery. I really feel so weak and so cold at the same time. I can barely push in each contractions hence the other doctor already helped me by adding some pressure on my tummy with her arm. By God's grace, I am able to deliver my son successfully thru vaginal birth at exactly 19:14 on January 19. 2010.

I felt relieved when I heard him cry. After few minutes, one of the doctors told me

"papatulugin na muna kita ha" ("I will put you to sleep temporarily")

And just after few seconds, I fell asleep.

In the Recovery Room : The Unforgettable Dream

After few hours, I woke up at the recovery room from a weird dream.

I have dreamt about my Grandmother and Grandfather who are both dead already by that time.

I was in their house, wearing school uniform having conversation with both of them. Though I cannot recall already what's our conversation by that time but I look so happy while talking to both of them.

And then all of the sudden my grandmother told me:

"Uwi kana Khing, baka hinahanap kana ng nanay mo (go home now Khing as your mother might already looking for you).

I woke up right after I said the word (in my dream) "sige po la, lo uwi na po ako (grandma, grandpa,I'll go home now)".

I told my husband and my mother about that weird dream as soon as I was discharged from the hospital. But they just looked at me, both speechless.

Until now, I don't know what that dream means but I think they just wanted me to know that they are always there, watching me and my family.


This is my entry to @JonicaBradley this week's writing prompt #16: Dreams.

If you would like to join in, the rules are simple.

  1. Write anything on Dreams

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Write at least 600 words to please Rusty

  4. Join and submit your stories to PromptlyJonica

  5. Tag @JonicaBradley

  6. Have fun!


Appendix:

Image source


Many thanks for your time!.

15
$ 3.37
$ 3.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @jasglaybam
$ 0.05 from @Peter-Molnar
+ 2
Sponsors of Khing14
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Khing14
2 years ago
Topics: Dream

Comments

Ang hirap po pala talaga Manganak, parang natatakot narin ako mag buntis huhu. 🤧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

depende naman po sis. May mga babae na simple lang ang panganganak sa kanila tulad ng sisters ko. Hindi sila hirap sa paglilabor

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me hisiste recordar una ves más mi primer parto de dos que tuve. Es doloroso de verdad no hay comparación. Pero a la ves es el dolor del amor más grande, reconfortante y lindo. Es el plaser que sentimos después al tener en nuestros brasos a nuestros hijos. Esa vidita nueva y única que traemos al mundo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's been 9 complete years since I have gone through this, not exactly this but you know.... so scary to read this and i would never forget the pain

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yeah. I will never ever forget how painful it is

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't feel that pain what a woman feels during giving birth and i never will, but I was there all day and all night beside my wife when she was giving birth to our daughter. I saw that she was in so much pain and all I could do is just being there and hold her hands. It was long for both of us especially for her.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

your wife is so lucky that she's beside you while in labor. In my case during my first, I am alone in the labor room with the doctor checking my vitals all the time. . So I learned my lesson. On my second and third pregnancy, I waited till the contraction interval became 1 per 2 minutes before going into the hospital. In that case, I have my husband assisting with me..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Reading your story makes me feel your agonizing pain. But then congratulations for successful having birth to your first born. About the dream maybe you're in heaven paradise that time and your grandparents want you to come back here in real world

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you - it was a very tough experience as I am not really prepared for it. I learned a lot on that first birthing story and hence on the second and third, I already know what to expect so I never cried again at labor.

Regarding my dreams, some thought that maybe it's not my time yet that is why my lola told me to go home already.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow you probably died for some minutes you are lucky to be alive sis❤❤

$ 0.01
2 years ago

that's what the others are thinking of as well. Maybe it's not my time yet

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was too painful and scary to read your experience

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yeah...I will never forget that experience ever

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMG until now i haven't forgotten how painful that labor pain. Almost 2 days din akong nagtiis, November 5 nagsimulang magsakit tyan ko.. tapos nanganak na ako nov. 7.. grabeh wla ng kain kain at tulog ako nun dahil feeling ko maghihiwalay na balakang at katawan ko.. hahhahaha.. But anyway bka masaya lng grandparents mo sis kc ok kaung dalawa ng anak mo..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

same feeling sis. Feeling ko lahat ng buto ko sa may balakang ko eh binabanat kapag humihilab ang tyan ko.

Yeah baka nga winewelcome lang nila si baby :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Habang binabasa ko to eh naalala ko din un pinagdaanan ko sa panganganak. Angbtagal ko kasi naglabor, nagbstart ako maglabor January 4 then nanganak ako January 6. Naalala ko din nun nasa ospital ako eh grabe tlaga iyak ko tapos naririnig ko pa nagtatawanan yun mga nurse at ginagaya yun iyak ko, pinagmumura ko talaga, hahahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

ay wow,..mas grabe pa pala ang pinag daanan mo sis kesa saken. Ako, naririnig ko lang naman sa mga nurses, nung sila daw 1CM hindi pa daw ganun kasakit. Gusto ko nga sagutin, kayo yun!, 19 hrs ako naglabor sa panganay ko pero feeling ko talaga eh hindi ko kakayanin. Iyak ako ng iyak. Sobrang mugto yung mga mata ko nun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakainis yun mga ganyan no, they should have known better kasi mga nurses sila. Ako worst kasi sa public hospital ako nanganak. Mga bastos mga ugali. Kaya sinumpa ko tlaga na kapag manganak ako ulit, di baleng gumastos ng malaki wag lang ulit sa public manganak.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahahaha..same tayo sis. naturingang private hospital yung sa first born ko pero sabi nga nila "pera-petual"..sa Perpetual Help sa Laguna kasi ako nanganak sa una. Sinabi ko din sa sarili ko na hindi nako babalik dun. Wala silang care sa pasyente. Unlike dun sa second and third ko, sa Muntinlupa, ramdam mo talaga yung malasakit nila sa pasyente nila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Did they lose you for a few seconds? I think she might have been pulling you back and saying it's not your time yet...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yeah. could be. I don't know what has happened actually. Cause none of my relatives are allowed to be inside the delivery room. That's why I also told my husband afterwards "If I died there, you wouldn't know what exactly has happened to me"

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako 1cm lang talaga sya at nagoverdue kaya CS ako buti na lang umabot ka pa at naging okay kayo ni baby. Muntikan ka na pala sunduin ng mga abuelo mo.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

awwwwtsss...muntik na nga din ako ma CS sis. Nakapirma na si mister eh :D...ayun nga ang iniisip ko, siguro nga ganun ang nangyari..pero hindi ko pa siguro time kaya pinauuwi ako nung lola ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, it wasn't your time yet. Nakita siguro nilang ang cute ng apo nila sa tuhod kaya nagbago isip

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahahaha..pwede nga siguro sis :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti po hindi natuloyyun pag cs sayo ate..huhu ang bait ni Lord ate noh.. May nabasa ako dati na na kapag nanaginip ka ng patay ibig daw sabihin new journey of life and responsibility ewan ko lang po kung totoo siya hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

nabasa ko din kanina yan sa isang article dito. baka nga totoo din kasi timing na kakapanganak ko lang tapos ganun panaginip ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same type of dream me too watched a day ago and describe in my frist Article. Dream are directly related with our thinking. So it okay calm down but you need to be careful

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yeah I tried to remain calm

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good take care of yourself:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi mo pa daw time sis kaya pinauwi ka. Ang strong mo!! Napaka hirap manganak at nakakatakot pero kinaya mo.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ou naman sis. Nakatatlo pa nga :)..puro normal delivery lahat :)...yung sa bunso, walang anesthesia kaya ultimo hanggang sa pag ere ramdam ko yung lahat ng sakit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ko ata kaya yan!! Ang lakas talag nga mga mommies!! Lahat kakayanin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

naku sis, sabi mo lang yan..pag andun kana for sure yakang yaka mo na...sang katutak na luha at iyak ang ginawa ko sa first born ko. Pero sa second and third? dinadaan ko nalang sa inhale exhale.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kasi Alam mo na yun paraan sis para maka survive 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahahaha...korek..pero pwede mo naman sabihin sa OB mo if gusto mo magpa epidural. Ganun yung ginawa ko sa second and third. Sa second, smooth. Kaso nung sa bunso, ang tagal dumating nung anesthesiologist. nanganak na ako at lahat, wala pa din

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala sis, nagulat sya malamang naisilang mo na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

nakatipid din naman kahit papaano..ahahaah..kasi may separate na bayad yun eh pag magpapaepidural ka.

$ 0.00
2 years ago