Your wedding day, Gospel or secular songs?

19 25
Avatar for Kacy01
Written by
1 year ago

Special greetings to you all!

Hope we are good? Just continue to be fine😘.

Sponsors of Kacy01
empty
empty
empty
Thank you sponsors

In my country we have certain people that don't play, listen or dance to secular songs because of religious beliefs. They see these songs as not pleasing to God and hence, they don't want to displease God by playing such song. This religion is majorly the Christian religion which I'm boldly part of, but I'm exceptional when it comes to music🤗.

I know we have people like that here, you're a Christian but you still vibe with secular songs even when they've preached to you that these songs are evil.

You've heard of that preaching, right? I've heard it several times and till today I'm still hearing it because our current pastor detest playing secular songs.

There's one thing about me and religion, I don't practice doctrines I'll be forcing myself to do, once I'm not convinced of a certain doctrine, I let it have its way. I don't like pretence, I don't like eye service.

________________________

There was a time I was living with my boss with his wife and kids, they're Christians on another level. I was told not to play secular songs aloud from my phone in the house because of the children. I concurred because he doesn't want to polllute the mind of the young ones.

Do you know what happened? One of them was to celebrate birthday and my boss told me to download enough secular musics to play on the birthday. I couldn't hold my laughter that day😄.[The person that doesn't want his children to listen to secular songs is now pilling up enough secular songs...this world is not balanced🤣]

Image source

This brings us to the real point I want to talk about today.

✨MUSIC IN PARTY✨

I know that different music serve different purpose with regards to ceremonies.

  • Traditional musics go well on traditional events.

  • Gospel songs go well on church gatherings

  • Secular musics go well with birthday, wedding and other groovy parties.

Let's pick this assumption;

Let's say it's your wedding day and you are left with two music genres to choose from, either GOSPEL or SECULAR,

Which would you pick??

I know that if you're going to pick gospel over secular for such event, it must be because of religion, you can't deny that 🙄.

Way back in 2015, our pastor had his wedding and I was privileged to be among the organizers. The reception was done in a well beautiful garden and a DJ was used instead of the common live church band.

When we got to the reception after the church section and it was time for him and the newly wedded bride to dance out, he signalled me to tell Dj to play his favorite song. I was surprised when DJ started to play TESTIMONY by Psquare (that was the song of that season). Menh! Party scattered, All of us were dancing like we just made heaven Lol🤣.

Psquare are known for their party jamz

You see how the pastor did his stuff? I loved it.

I've seen pastors also that during their wedding day, the songs played were typical gospel songs that made the event moody as if it's a burial ground. God abeg oo!

________________________

I was scrolling on news feed today when I came across a gist about a pastor that kicked out the DJ on his wedding because the DJ mistakingly played secular song. He must have instructed the DJ not to play secular song all through the event but the DJ got loosened and decided to spark up the event with some life🤣.

That's how serious some religious people are when it comes to secular songs.

Something happened earlier this year;

I don't know how to dance very well especially when it comes to secular musics because I don't go to parties often.

One of my friend had his wedding earlier this year and I was included on his groom's men. Incase you don't know how it's done, groom's men and the bride's maidens always stage a dancefloor during the event.

When it was time to dance out with the couples(couples with groom's men & bride's maidens), I was placed at the fore front and guess the music DJ was playing?

I can't complete this gist right now, the embarrassed moments are flogging me right now😢. To be continued...

Thanks for reading💝💝💝

22nd September 2022

10
$ 0.81
$ 0.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.03 from @Tomi-Ajax
+ 4
Sponsors of Kacy01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kacy01
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I prefer secular music. Hays. I cannot wait to get married very soon (hoping for that day to come)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Don't worry dear friend, the day is coming very soon

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What kind of songs doesn't matter. Hope the marriage last, that is what's important.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Sure, the home after the ceremonial event is the main deal

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm fine with both but I still have to choose secular songs that are still decent.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

This is true, there are some secular songs in my country, the characters attached to them are way off

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It all depends on choice, I saw the video of the recent pastor who got married and disallowed the DJ to play secular music. That's fine if it's his choice, it's his wedding though. Not all secular music are bad I have some of them but I understand the reason why many do not want secular music on their wedding day, it's does not mean the wedding will be moody or boring. It depends on who is in charge of the music. I will prefer gospel music too, I don't listen to secular not to talk of dancing and singing alongside while playing it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I don't listen to secular not to talk of dancing and singing alongside while playing it.

I wn be like you🤗.

I listen to secular but I'm selective

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Depends on how you want it. It's choice. And some decided to train themselves in that way because it might add a negative impact for them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

To me whatever song to be played depends on the mood o. I cannot dance to gospel song with my husband

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lol🤣. I can't even imagine dancing to those dull songs on my wedding day, unless it's a love band

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Both are equal for me. But if I want to feel more of the vibe, secular music is my choice.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, both of them are good no doubt, but to feel the liveliness of the event, secular music is recommended

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will surely allow them to play secular songs at my wedding cos it's a vibe and it is my personal decision to do that.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sure, it's a personal choice.

I love liveliness so therefore, secular songs must be played irrespective of type of people in attendance

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will actually play some secular music on my wedding day but I will play enough gospel music too, the secular music I will play will be the ones that match with the event.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Normally, not all secular songs are to be played on event due to the characters attached to them. Imagine playing "one corner" in a cool occasion

$ 0.00
1 year ago

First of all your boss is so funny, hope you gave him a enough secular music. Your pastor vibe give me joy 😂😂. My wedding it secular all through. Can wait for your next post.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Mehn! That wedding day was one of a kind, even those serious Pastors in attendance loosened up and we're catching the vibes.

I can't kill my wedding day with dullness, it must be danceable with good jamz

$ 0.00
1 year ago