some lies we believed as kids

31 58
Avatar for Jumper-01
1 year ago
13th June 2022.
Sponsors of Jumper-01
empty
empty
empty

You know how growing up in a typical African home feels like if you have lived in my house. There is that believe that when you finally reach a certain age your parents can’t scold you because you are grown. Not in Africa, in fact if I do something wrong at this moment my dad would still scold me even till I eventually get married and have my own kids. It is an African-parent thing.

Its not anything weird it’s just how we were raised and how we are as Africans. Now growing up there are a lot of things we were told, some we believed and others were insinuated. The fact still remains that we believed beyond reasonable doubt that all these were true. I would give you a few examples…


1.That our uncles and aunties then were just stingy to gift us expensive things “they have money” ..

This is one of those “self insinuated” ones. Because they buy us things like juice boxes or toys every now and then we concluded in our heart that they were very rich, not because our parents didn’t get us some of these things but it wasn’t every-time we asked them. Meanwhile our uncles and aunties usually come with these things sometimes without we asking.

which is why when we asked them to buy us something really really expensive and they don’t come through or they give us excuses we start to assume that they were just being stingy or tight-handed. I can say now that we were wrong.

2.That the money we give to our parents to keep for us is coming back

This one is the most common one even with Africans in diaspora. You know when a visitor comes to your house and then gives you some sweet amount of money. And then you are happy thinking you are going to paint the town red today with your little $10. Then your mum comes with this best line ..

“Bring it let me keep it for you

Now If this line is new to you…you would hurriedly give away your money to her. I mean she said she wanted to be your bank so your money is still Yours right ? Wrong!!! Your money is gone like the wind never to be yours again. Hahahahha and you dare not ask for it again else she would narrate the story of how she carried you for 9 months in her tummy, gave birth to you and took care of you and you are here asking her for such little amount of money. That is disrespectful.

😂😂African parents are the best I tell you.

3.That life would be way easier when we grow up

I heard one song the other day by a Nigerian artist. I don’t remember her name but the lyrics of what she was singing was something like “adulthood na scam”- which translates to meaning “ growing older is harder”. Well she isn’t wrong at all. You know as kids especially in Africa. We are restricted to do certain things just because the society would not allow it and it would frown on our culture.

So we always thought that when we eventually get to a certain age our lives would be easier and by then we would have made a lot of money which would enable us to live a certain lifestyle.

Well just look at us now. I mean life isn’t so bad because no matter what we have to be grateful. It could have been worse .. but still if I was given the option to remain a child for a bit longer I would have taken it because this adulthood thing is something else. I don’t think anything really prepares you for this kind of life you just grow into it, keep your head up and try to stay alive long enough.


I am sure I am not the only one that have thought about so many ridiculous things as a kid. So if you have then join the fun write yours and tag me so I can read them. Till then stay safe and stay happy.

Jumper.
©2022.
All Rights reserved.

18
$ 3.58
$ 3.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
+ 11
Sponsors of Jumper-01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jumper-01
1 year ago

Comments

I remember envisioning my life as an adult when I was still a kid, I was looking forward to thee independence I will get from my parents because by that time I will be swimming in money, lmao, na scam o, the adulthood don tire me

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I swear no be only you bro

$ 0.00
1 year ago

"Your money is gone like the wind never to be yours again"...🤣🤣🤣🤣. I agree with you in all you have written. Adulthood a big scam

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂yes a very big one

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The second was is funny. I can relate lol! The last one is a bit deep. Don't grow up! lol!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah ikr ..it’s so cool that we All despite our differences in culture can relate to certain similarities

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was expecting the one for the parents and you delivered hahaha. They will ask us to bring the money and they would keep the money for us. When you ask them for the money when a need arises, you would hear "All the food you have been eating in this house, is it free? Did we ask you for money?" I don't know how the money you promised to keep for me has suddenly turned into the saving grace for the family 🤣🤣😂😂. Serious scam. I for don build house now I to say I collect all those money back then. 😂🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂😂 e say e for don build house Abeg no kill me with laugh bro Abeg.. this thing na everybody even Filipinos.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤣🤣😂😂 it's a general scam that cuts across different countries.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehehe, you have really remind me of something, in my own case my mother will always be keeping money for me, when I ask her of my money she will ask me to come and make an account of money I have consume so far through food.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂😂😂mad tactics Omo you must be Nigerian because your mum sounds like a typical Nigerian woman

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes friend i am truly a Nigerian, you got it right.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I bet all filipinos can relate to the second one that talks about money haha. Personally, I experienced that too and I didn't have a chance to get it back anymore.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow it’s good to know that Filipinos too experienced this same thing like us

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The money one hahahaha.. God knows how many hundreds I had lost in that process dude 😂😂😂😂 .. This is so relatable

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah ? Your parents did that same thing to you too ?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lmaoo yes, My mom did.. but she saved all that and used for my education at the end.. so it all went to a good cause

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmm.. How much we learn as we grow older. The innocence of kids is so so cute. Shey y'all have grown up and seen everything for yourselves abi? 😂😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes oh we have seen oh and it’s not sweet oh 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂😂😂😂 Any uncle/aunty that comes to our house and didn't give us money ehn, next time we see them, we won't greet them well 😂😂😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ahh you can’t try that with my dad oh .. he would ask you if you are the one that put money in their pocket

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It reminded me back when I was 7 years kiddo. My parents keep all the gifts I received from my uncle's and aunt's pocket. These lies were still sweet because sometimes we received them from our parents also.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah and it’s family so it’s all love and it’s all good

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omo African parents don show me pepper 😂. I remember when I was small if a visitor gives me money, I'll give it to my mom and when it was time for me to collect my money, I will hear stories that touch 😂😂. Omo my mommy is not good ooh😅😅😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂😂na everybody this thing don do

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤓😂🤣😆... This is very funny and many African parents practice this. In the case of my parents, they would keep the money for me and use it to buy something valuable for me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah that one is actually the best

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lolz that is the African mentality we were brought up with, my mom is an expert in bring it let me keep for u, if u dare to ask her about it she will tell u what about the money she has been spending on you, the deeding,the accomodation.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It’s not only you… all of us went Through the same thing is so funny how it is a general thing 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's the 'bring it let me keep it for you' for me. Once you hear this, just know that your money is not coming back.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As in ehn never coming back 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago