Writing Prompt #4: Darkness

52 157
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

This week I'm doing something a little different. I'm going to go dark.

We all have darkness inside of us. Whether we had a dark past or a present darkness. Some thoughts or moods can be very dark.

So many equate darkness with negativity. As an absence of light. As bad.

I don't.

I think of darkness as rich. Think of dark chocolate. Or the deep dark of the sky just before sunrise. Think of dark eyes with dark lashes. Or raven dark hair. Dark skin, dark wood, dark black coffee.

When I think of my "dark past" I think of survival. I think of the decisions I made in order to survive my trauma and further in order to survive my survival.

I used drugs and alcohol to dampen and dull the extreme negative memories and emotions. And I used therapy (so much therapy) to stop using drugs as a means of survival. My body and brain couldn't take much more survival of that type.

But that darkness, even that despair, ultimately led me to be the cool, interesting, wise person I am today.

What do you think of when you think of darkness? Do you go back in time to a place or person of hurt? Do you think of a calm, relaxing, glass of dark red wine? Do you think of a shiny teak cabinet where you hide your diaries?

So many things come out of the darkness. We fear the darkness because that's where the predators live. So we took advantage of fire and invented ways to heat our food and light our homes. I call that a positive step in evolution, don't you?

But what also comes out of darkness is light. Starlight. Moonlight. You can't see the light if there are no shadows.

Have you ever seen a day so bright it was almost blinding? Even the sky looks white. No darkness in sight but you can hardly see.

So, think about darkness.

Write about it. Does the word darkness conjurer fear and negativity in your mind? Do you celebrate darkness for the light you can see?

The rules are simple:

  1. Write about darkness

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Write at least 600 words

  4. Tag me @JonicaBradley

  5. Have Fun!

37
$ 7.53
$ 6.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @LykeLyca
+ 9
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Comments

I've joined to this prompt. All I can say is that, I had fun with the darkness. :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

THE DARKNESS. what comes to my mind is the chilly, secluded dark place i prefer when i want to be alone with my thoughts. When in the dark, i am desperately searching for the light. hmmmmm. a good article you got there. the light in the dark. πŸ€” maybe ill make a draft related to this.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Reading on tbe 7th of July. 3 weeks had passed after you posted this prompt and i would like to join in even though it already ended.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

The prompts never end. They are here forever. You can write them forever.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yey thank you so much @JonicaBradley I enjoy your every prompt.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love darkness so I'm excited to write about it.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Awww another interesting prompt πŸ‘ I'll try to jog my mind for whatever pops on about darkness πŸ˜…

Btw, thanks for dropping by and for the tips on my article for prompt #3 ❀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, I love this prompt. I will surely try writing one about this. Thanks for this writing prompt, I got a wonderful idea and it motivated me to write anew.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww, I should try to write one too.. hope i can make it. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

@Jane mention this next prompt series of yours so I visited your account. I am speechless with your dark past. I can't properly think of a word to say. A word of sympathy. But good thing, you already overcome your dark past. I am happy to hear that you became a stronger person now. Keep on fighting! πŸ’ͺ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh now that is a cracker of a topic. Thank you Jonica!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I will try this one. I was too late for the last topic though, Similarities. Can I still write for that? Hehe.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

The prompts are there forever. No time limit. Wow when you want on what you want.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello, ma'am, I already wrote mine about Darkness. You may want to read it. :)

https://read.cash/@Ellehcim/some-dark-stuff-here-f619435b

Thanks a lot for this prompt challenge.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Lovely topic! I got an idea what I should write. Thanks for this promt! As always, your works are great :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Then you very much. It is always gratifying to hear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As always, another interesting topic to write.

On personal thing about darkness, I think alcohol has to do with it in my darkest days. Starting to gather memories in my head.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I just have a challenge giveaway in noise cash - darkest conscience πŸ˜….

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Well you can write your Article and link it there. And you may link this prompt there is you wish.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here comes another prompt! Will definitely participate again. As always, this is amazing. :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I'm trying very hard to do one every Monday.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

so it does have a scheduled day. this is really fun and appreciate your effort in doing this. :) it's also nice to read different perspectives and interpretations about the prompt thru reading the articles of other participants. :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I agree.

It has a start day, but no deadline for writing. You can go back and participate in any of the previous prompts.

They'll be here forever. It's the internet!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ohh. I wasn't able to join on the first prompt! I might go back there and take the challenge. It's freedom, right? it's cool to be able to write something on every prompt.

I guess, I'll have to thanks the internet for that. Lol

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Freedom Motivation Similarities Darkness

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yep. I already wrote a response about freedom and similarities. I feel like fail on the similarities tho since I kinda talk about differences. hehe

looking forward for "darkness", i'll write it one of these days. and i'll also go back with freedom. I really wanna participate with all of this. :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Ohh, darkness. I like that. *in Lucifer Morningstar's voice.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Also, he is the light bringer. Just saying.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha yes. I think I've watched too much of that series I can hear his accent in my head.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hello, Detective.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yey! Another writing prompt. Btw, I have written a writing prompt about similarities. You might want to check it out. :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I'll go have a look.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I think of Darkness what comes to mind is my experience few years back, I kept a secret from my family. I couldn't tell them...I know how broken they will be if I tell them. The day I finally voice it out, it felt like a huge burden has been lifted off my chest.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Are you going to tell us?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I'll πŸ€—

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Will definitely write on this as I have some dark past.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Looking forward to reading.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So this time we are thinking dark lol. I missed the third prompt lol but it's okay. I Will see what my imagination can play with this word

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You can always check out my articles to find the prompts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my.. Another prompt.. I need to think something for this 😁

$ 0.05
2 years ago

The darker the better, Lady Jane

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'll think of it 😁

$ 0.05
2 years ago

This is such an amazing topic, as I read through I immediately though of what to write!!!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yay! Can't wait.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a great topic which one can write to the brim. Darkness demands light at the end. So, we all have the darkest moment in our lives.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Can't wait to read your article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm in for this challenge. I love the fact that you made us see that light comes after darkness. Once we focus on the positive side of situations, we improve.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I look forward to reading what you've got!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ma'am I again try my best to write about this. Awesome topic for me. Sorry @Jonicabradelly are you not like my last Prompt article?. You wanna not be able to give any reaction with that articleπŸ˜‘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I probably haven't read it yet. I have a lot of catching up to do. Feel free to link it here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago