Writing Prompt #29: Fire

23 93
Avatar for JonicaBradley
1 year ago
License free from Unsplash

Fire is fascinating. It is life-giving and life-taking. Some firefighters say fire is like a living being.

Did you know the color of the flames is determined by three things?Whatever substance is burning (the fuel), completeness of combustion, and temperature.

Did you know there are three different colors of flames? Red, yellow, and blue.

For example, a blue flame is the hottest followed by a yellow flame, then orange and red flames. Hydrocarbon gases burn blue. Wood, coal, or candles burn yellow, orange or red.

Regardless of the color of flames or the fuel, for is universal.

Many people refer to flames as dancing. Many people have seen images or faces in the flames and some scholars believe this is where images of imps, demons, and devils originated.

I can stare at a fire for a very long time. Especially a wood burning fire. The combination of the flames, the cracking and popping of the wood, and the smell work as an hypnotic on me.

I love the flickering light a flame produces, whether it's from an oil lamp, a candle, or a fireplace. I have found candlelight to be romantic, mostly because it is much more flattering to my skin than harsh overhead lights. Everything gets sort of muzzy and dreamy in candle light.

When we first moved here to Texas, Keith had yet to rewire the house for electricity. We went to bed when it got dark. I would read by candle light. I would have at least 3 candles burning by my bedside. The words would dance across the page. It gave the fiction an extra little oomph.

What is your relationship to fire? Do you like it? Hate it? Love it? Fear it?

Farmers use fire to fertilize the soil and replenish it with important nutrients. Many people in South East Asia cook over an open flame. In the West, people have fake fireplaces in their homes. I guess I can see the appeal of having what looks like a fire without all of the heat, mess, and danger. I can't see myself every purchasing a fake fireplace.

Screenshot of Amazon search results for fake fireplaces

People use the word fire in many different ways. When somebody in the U.S. is made redundant from their place of employ, we say they got fired. When someone is super excited we say they are all fired up.

Are there different meanings for the word fire in your language or culture?

What do you see when you stare into the flames?

If you'd like to take part in this prompt, here's how:

  1. Join the Promptly Jonica community here

  2. Write anything about FIRE

  3. Write 100% original content

  4. Write at least 600 words for Rusty to be happy

  5. Submit your article to PromptlyJonica

  6. Tag me, @JonicaBradley

  7. Have fun!

Remember, there are no time limits to any of the writing prompts. You may write on any of the prompts, any time, as many times as you like, forever. You can find all of the writing prompts, linked, and in order here. Feel free to choose a different prompt or an additional prompt.

All Images license free from Unsplash or Amazon

As always, your sponsorship would be greatly appreciated and helps to bring these writing prompts to you and others here on read.cash.

Thanks for reading. See you on the flip side.

14
$ 2.14
$ 1.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.03 from @zolabundance2
+ 6
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
1 year ago

Comments

We have one big experience about fire.. m might be I would write about it soon.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I really want you to.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When I see fire what I see is the demon, I don't know why.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are not alone in this. Will you write about it?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Probably I will write about our red cross camp first night

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That sounds really interesting.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have done that alre

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm go read it now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ok ma

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I just read it and 2 more about the red cross camp. So very interesting. Please tag me in more of your articles, even if they aren't for a prompt.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nice prompt....don't like fore though, it has burnt me a couple of times.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I would love to read about your experiences.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Interesting prompt, I should write on this

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes. Yes you should.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

From my own experience,Oh my God I fear 🔥 .

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I hope you can write about it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will try

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's been a long time since I didn't write a prompt mam Jonica, I hope I can write about this topic fire.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm looking forward to it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have so many experiences with fire and I think i will be writing and join your prompt soon..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm looking forward to it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Interesting topic ,wanna write this .Thank you maam fr giving us an idea what to write🤗

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yay! I can't wait.

$ 0.00
1 year ago