Writing Prompt #22: Snow

34 105
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

My mom tells a story about when she first moved back to the U.S. from the Philipines. She was given a test, I guess for placement in school. On the test, she was shown a series of images and asked what was missing. She says she didn't get a good score because of one particular image.

The image depicted a child walking through a snowy forest. Mom couldn't find a single thing missing.

What was missing? The child's footprints in the snow.

My mother was 13 or 14 years old. She had never seen snow!

When I was 9 we moved from Los Angeles, USA to Hamburg, Germany. I grew up in snow. Well, for 4 years, anyway. From Germany, we moved to Texas and it didn't snow too much down where we lived. I had to move to Montana to find snow once again.

Currently, I'm visiting New York State looking for a house to buy. It is cold and it is snowy! My mom definitely knows about snow, now! This is her backyard.

We have to get bundled up to go anywhere. It is cold, but I like it!

This has been a PromptlyJonica writing prompt. Would you like to join us? It is easy and fun!

  1. Join the Promptly Jonica community here

  2. Write anything about snow

  3. Write 100% original content

  4. Submit your article to PromptlyJonica

  5. Tag me, @JonicaBradley

  6. Have fun!

All photos by Jonica Bradley

21
$ 7.02
$ 6.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @fantagira
$ 0.05 from @Bjorn
+ 6
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Comments

Hey there. I have been here for just 7 days and reading your post for the first time. I have joined the PromptlyJonica community. Though it doesn't snow in my country, I can still write on the theme - Snow. I hope fiction is allowed?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

100% fiction is allowed! You can also write any of the prompts, at any time. I can't make a link, but you can copy and paste this into your web browser or the read.cash search bar.

https://read.cash/@JonicaBradley/the-promptlyjonica-writing-prompts-linked-in-order-54dee65a

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay. I've seen the list. I will write one and submit it as soon as I'm done.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

YAY!!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One would have expected the current prompt to be about Valentine or Love... I would have submitted my recent article (published 2 minutes ago) https://read.cash/@Lixten/lost-valentine-4242fd0b But I didn't see anything love there. Anyways, as a foodie and pet lover, I would probably write on those first...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry, this makes me feel sad cause it doesn't snow in my country

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Just pretend! Imagine it!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's amazing how snow works. I hope someday I can touch snow

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope so, too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But I haven't seen a snow an at Nigeria

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Make something up. What if it suddenly snowed in Nigeria? How would the people react? How would the animals react?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Like every body will be a kind of surprise wow Some would be like mom what's that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow so nice to hear about that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't seen a snow as well and am not sure if I can. Glad you found a good place to snow where there's snow

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Just pretend! What if it were powdered sugar?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Saved this already and let me join this. :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I have never seen snow before, but I know someday I'd experience snow fall and words can't describe how happy I would be on that day

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Go ahead and describe it! Envision it. Write it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have written about snow few months ago.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You can always write more! Or add your story to the community if you think it's a good fit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I cannot write more because it is not snowing here again but I can add it to the community. Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I recently wrote about snow but I will be writing again and I will join. I just have to wait a moment for inspiration to come. 😊 Thanks for the nice topic.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You probably have as much snow there as we do here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome back, my dear sis! We missed you! I am glad you love NY :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I missed everyone, too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Glad to have you back Jonica! I haven't seen snow myself but I wish I get to see it at least once.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I would love to read your image of you in the snow.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi Jonica, welcome back! I wrote about the snow before, but any opportunity to use my lovely snowy pictures is welcome, so I'll join for sure x

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks, friend! You know I always welcome your photos.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We don't have snow in my country ma,

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You could imagine a scenario. Like, what if it suddenly snowed? How would people react?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't had experienced some snows but it's my dream to visit in a country where snow is present.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You can always write about what you think snow feels like, smells like, tatses like.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah yes ma'am, thank you. Maybe one of these days, i will submit my entry

$ 0.00
2 years ago