Lost Valentine

4 39
Avatar for Lixten
Written by
2 years ago

Maybe my Valentine wasn't here for me to make new love, but to find my old lost love, and reignite the fire I thought had died since. 

P/S: Actually, the fire never died. I wonder who wrote this header. 


Bells are rolling from the villages far away, 

The villages far away, and the village square nearby...

Announcing the coming of my lover, they ring,

They say; 'Hear, your lover comes here, hear'...

The cold street rang with the Valentine songs from the stereo of the small stores that sold winter stuff- caps and cardigans and scarves. February but winter hadn't really begun to leave; it was still snowing in fact, and I was like everyone else- snuggled in thick fur jackets. Despite the cold, the street was alive and merry with Valentine's day celebrations. Red love wreaths and threaded flowers hung around street lamps and walls, and couples on the street wore matching red and white outfits, taking pictures by the fountain side. At times like this, the square was like a magical world but for me, it was merely a cold season which I had to spend alone. I puffed air out thickly from my lungs. I could see the white 'smoke' that came from it in front of me. The sight took me thought- time-traveling; ferried me instantly to the nostalgic memories of myself and other children playing out in the cold, covered with our mothers' wrappers. I thought; it would be harmattan this period, back in Nigeria. On mornings as these, we; the children would be out in that cold smoking invisible cigarettes (the smoky air that came out from our mouths whenever we breathed or puffed air out); while our parents will yell at us from inside the house. A faint smile crossed my lips. I missed those memories. 

Half absent-mindedly, I strolled to one of the stores playing from stereos. There was a particular blue striped red scarf that I had been meaning to buy, and I thought I should get for myself as a gift. It was for my birthday, which was in two days. I always got presents for myself on my birthdays since I came here; three years ago. And, I would usually buy what my mother would have gotten for me if she lived here too. 'She would love this scarf!' I thought, keeping it at the back of my mind to make a video call with her, wearing it. 

"The red and blue cashmere scarf, please." I told the salesman. Although, then it seemed like someone said that too at the same time I did. I turned to my side and saw a lady bundled up in a dark green winter coat and dark glasses. One almost couldn't see her. She had her face to my side now and was peering curiously at me. That look... I knew it. But I couldn't tell. I turned back to the salesman who was glancing left and right at the both of us confusedly. "There's only one of it", he said looking at me as if he expected me to give it up for the lady. But I was already distracted looking at her again. Her woolen scarf had shifted from her face and I could see her more clearly. That was when I knew instantly. I could never mistake her, but it was unbelievable. The first thing that crossed my mind was; did she not recognize me? It would be here that I would least expect to run into her so I was excused for not recognizing her at first but at that, I was even surprised at myself.  She was someone I should know anywhere because I couldn't have gotten her picture out of my mind. Apart from the fact that she had distinct facial features that I could spot from an impossible distance, she had already had a deep and lasting memory with me. But I wondered how her eyes hadn't still lit up with recognition at seeing me. Surely I wasn't that easily forgettable, was I? 

For a moment, waves of disappointment and some anger washed over me and I was caught between the options of calling her name and reminding her who I was and simply ignoring knowing her. I would have chosen the latter much against my will but, before I could decide, she had chosen for me. 

"Michael?" She said in a sort of question and exclamation. And suddenly, she laughed. So loud and so hard. Her laughter then eased my tension and I felt so glad that I couldn't help grinning. 

"My!" She covered her mouth with her hands. "Were you hiding or what?" She asked in between her laughter and excited giggles. 

Two people felt relief immediately. The salesman, who must have been torn with worry and guilt at having to sell the scarf to only one person and possibly lose an angry customer, was now looking happier that we knew each other and, I felt relief too. That, along with many other emotions and for so many reasons. Joy at seeing her again, more joy at seeing her looking okay, and some belly ache. I had missed her so much, and there were other emotional remains from when I had seen her last and the months in between then and now. But I was mostly glad. 

"Efe", I called, grinning as she endearingly grabbed my arm. 

To be continued...


Cover Photo: designed on canva.  


Follow me on:

● Read.cash ● Noise.cash  ● Torum ● Twitter 

Don't forget to Subscribe, Comment, and Like if you enjoyed this article!

 

3
$ 0.84
$ 0.78 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Talecharm
$ 0.01 from @CryptoEd0
Sponsors of Lixten
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Lixten
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Good way to express feeling of love and affection. But in Islamic societies is ban. Because, it leading to the way of wrong dession s made by youth.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess you're a Muslim?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Will love to see what happens next please. And how you guys met was just so romantic that's if am allow to say that ooh. The joy at not seeing her for so long just drove in rushing in like lightning

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Will love to see what happens next please. And how you guys met was just so cute and all. Nice article

$ 0.00
2 years ago