Writing Prompt #17: Distraction

Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

As I finish up my late-but-I-hope-not-too-late article on audience, I suddenly realize I haven't issues a prompt this week. It's a bit ironic because I was just admonishing my readers to keep their promises and to deliver on time.

Oops.

And then, I got distracted, switched devices, and lost half of my audience article. Again.

Oops. Again.

So, obviously, I chose distraction as my prompt word.

<hits save>

If (when) I'm ever late with a writing prompt and you are stuck with no ideas, I hope you know you can go to The PromptlyJonica Writing Prompts, Linked & in Order and choose any of the previous prompts. There's no time limit. You may write on any of the prompts at any time as many times as you want, forever.

<hits save>

Distractions can be hilarious. My youngest daughter, after hearing me ramble off topic, again (!), once told me, "Mommy. You have A.D.O.S."

I'm familiar with Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD) and Attention Deficit Hyperactive Disorder (ADHD), but I had never heard of ADOS.

"Hunh?" I asked.

"Attention Deficit Ooh Shiny" my daughter replied with a straight face.

She continued, "Or, 'Attention Deficit Oh! Squirrel' which is what I am pretty sure you have."

Everyone's a comedian.

This squirrel was being chased by a bird while I was writing. Totally hilarious. Completely distracting

<adds image, hits save, captions image hits save - again>

Yeah. She's probably right.

As funny as some distractions are, some can be deadly. Texting and driving. That's a no! Don't do that.

Also, don't do what I used to do. I used to read when I was stopped at a red light. Lots and lots of angry honking!

So this week I'd like you to think of a time when you were distracted. Think of things or situations that are distracting to you.

How do you focus and not become distracted?

Do you always pay attention to what's in front of you or do you see the shiny squirrels?

The rules are easy!

  1. Write anything about distraction

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Join and submit to the community PromptlyJonica

  4. Tag me,@JonicaBradley

  5. Have fun!

Lead and first image from my Google photos. It looks like it was saved by my Asus Zen tablet.

Please be generous to the other writers. Read, upvote, comments, tip.

<Hits save>

<Hits publish>

42
$ 17.87
$ 16.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @fantagira
$ 0.10 from @emily2u
+ 23
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

We get distracted because the world turns interesting for us! It´s not a bad thing at all hahaha. BTW, you got a genius at home, your daughter is awesome! As a person who struggles with distractions every single day, I can tell you that, no worries! I will join the challenge, I will write about distractions, or lies, or anything I can think about, I can write about both because, @CoquiCoin ´s articles brought me here so, why not?

Blessings!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've always been waiting for your prompt. And I write whenever I can about it hehe. Glad that it has no time limit though. And I really appreciate this every week because it really gives me the time to think about what I have to write.

Oh and I happen to have just published my articles on this topic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Already I wrote about it but now I am trying to post in #PromptlyJonica but I can't. But here you will check my article https://read.cash/@Physicst/what-things-can-distract-us-8e7f0822

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Inside our college I saw many squirrels. They ride different trees inside the college and eat the fruits of those trees, bark, bark.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the topic, Jonica... I always struggle with distractions, and glad to know that I am not alone. Distractions aren't all negative, I kinda enjoy them, but they must have a place and time. Ahaha!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Dune sustained are more enjoyable than others!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I swear, you are trying to corrupt me with your writing prompts, because generally I don't ever feel the need to be prompted to write anything. I am a windbag, you know. lol. But I may start looking into some of these if for no other reason but to satisfy my curiosity if I have anything to actually say regarding some of these prompts. lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes. I *do edit a magazine called The Bad Influence. Just saying. . .

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Distractions, oh distractions! I know them too well. Will sure write about those this week.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I think we should name our next donkey Distration.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gladly I saw this, I will do this prompt as my first ever prompt article thanks for this. Just a wandering newbie here.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Welcome to the family! Welcome to read.cash.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have a lot of distracted moments hahaha. I think I am gonna write something abiut this prompt 🤗

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I love what you write.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope I can write something beautiful out of this prompt :)) Thank you for the prompt.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You're welcome.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think some distractions can be good and bad. But I will try to join in this challenge.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I would like to read your thoughts on this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Distractions are everywhere, that even how focus you are, you will still get distracted a little

$ 0.03
2 years ago

The worst for me is the distractions inside my brain.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It won't end, it's forever's twin lol.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Forever and ev - oh, look a squirrel!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cute squirrel :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah it never runs dry... The distractions surrounding us is just never ending.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

They can definitely be a problem.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Distraction - it just keeps coming. A never ending process. The most peaceful time I never get distracted is the night time when all are asleep, where I can peacefully continue my work if I have to.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I agree. I sometimes stay up late into the night writing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lots of distractions while writing. There are times I start drafting an article in the morning, and I end up publishing midnight. LOL.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I started the one that I lost half of (twice!!!!) over a week ago.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Definitely normal! I have more than one week drafts too! I wonder when can I publish them LOL.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can definitely relate to this one as I am working from home and struggling with too many distractions as well inside the house. Thanks for the idea.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You are very welcome.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have tickled my funny bones.. 🤣 Yes, I have the exact experience but in my case it was my chicken 'Hippi Tiu'. She was hungry and randomly climbing on my head, shoulder and legs while I was writing.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I love letting animals climb all over me. Not while I'm writing, though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, I have had laughs reading this with those <save> like dos commands. Need to do that to not lose any write-ups again :) And your daughter is amusing too with the ADOS :D

This is another nice prompt to dive into. Thank you :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

My daughter was 11 or 12 at the time. Maybe 10, even. She is now about to be 26, engaged and living her life in Washinton State, far from me. :-(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, she was very young then and very brilliant too to have come up with ADOS :)

Children grow up so soon and can't help when they leave to live on their own. I hope you still have communication though :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Distractions are part of our lives and the effect on us is what I think we must control. Imagine how the squirrel made you laugh, it was a distraction that put a smile on your face while another distraction like driving and using mobile can be very disastrous.

The choice is ours and I am participating in this.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Welcome to the family!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm dealing with distractions every single day myself. I think we all are. Hehe. This is a fun prompt

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Can't wait to read what distracts you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was once dreaming about my crush during an International Taxation lecture and was caught by the professor. The professor snapped and smiled at me, I smiled back. It was embarrassing, but at least he didn't make a joke out of me on the mike lol

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Was the professor your crush?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe, no he wasn't, but the Professor knew who the crush was because I was directly looking at the guy hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can be distracted very easily, but only when I am not at work or doing something very important, that requires a lot of fovus and attention. Sometimes lots of interesting things pop up on YouTube when I open it and already had an idea about what I wanted to watch and I end up watching somethong totally different. That is definitely distraction.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I don't get as distracted by videos. Dogs, cats, chores, my brain, and more. But not so much videos.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my, this would be fun. I will definitely join in this prompt. Writing prompt is a big help to my foggy brain.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Often, for mine, too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago