Historical Filipino Films That You Should Watch

25 27
Avatar for Jinifer
2 years ago

080302022

Happy Tuesday, my super duper awesome and lovely read cash buddies! Did you guys have a great day today? I woke up feeling good this morning. It’s because when I looked at the window, I saw the sun rays reflecting through the glass windows. I woke up early and went outside to see the beautiful view of the beautiful weather. It’s sunny, and the sky is already clear and no longer gloomy. It’s been raining these past few days, and thank God Mr. Sunshine showed up this morning, and aside from that, we were able to dry our clothes since it’s no longer raining. lol.

 

For those who don’t know, I am a huge fan of history or any other historical movies or documentaries. I have mentioned here once before how I am so obsessed with history and I wouldn’t hesitate to time travel to the old times if they wanted me to. I have been watching American and Filipino historical movies, especially those times of war. Not just Americans and Filipinos, but also Japanese and other countries, especially those countries that had a very big impact on the world’s history.

As I was watching some movies, it made me want to share it with my read cash buddies, especially those friends of mine that lives on the other side of the globe. This made me want to recommend to you guys some of these awesome Filipino historical movies. Maybe you’ll find some of these interesting to watch.


El Presidente

This story shows the life of the first president of the Republic of the Philippines, who was Gen. Emilio Aguinaldo, from the Spanish era until the Filipino independence. I don’t want to talk more about the first President, I want you guys to know and discover Aguinaldo for yourselves. Maybe, in the end, we will have the same thoughts about him. But I would be totally surprised if you praised him in the end.

 

 Heneral Luna

Probably the best Filipino historical film ever made. The characters, the setting and the way the portrayers act and express their emotions as if they were present at that time is such a marvelous act. The characters made the movie even more interesting and catchy for the people. This is the story of the leadership, heroics, and bravery of the great patriotic Heneral Luna, portrayed by John Arcilla. This movie is more about bloodshed and wars, so remember if you ever watch this, you will surely encounter gruesome scenes in the movie. This film is a slap in the face to my fellow Filipinos who aren't patriotic and who despise their country (I'm guilty as well). Actually, we don’t hate our country, we hate the people. After watching this movie, it leaves me with so many realizations as a Filipino person, especially those lines that live rent-free in my mind, like, "Mas magandang mamatay sa digmaan kaysa magpasakop sa dayuhan." "Negosyo o Kalayaan? Bayan o sarili, pumili ka!" and these phrases still gives me goosebumps.

Goyo: Ang Batang Heneral

This story is about the first young general in the Philippines and he is, Gregorio "Goyo" Del Pillar. This movie shows his bravery and great leadership for the Filipino people in protecting the country from the Americans. This is the sequel to the movie "Heneral Luna." The character played by Paulo Avelino is a good-looking guy, as was the real Gregorio del Pilar. But not gonna lie, he is a womanizer lol, can’t blame him though for he is indeed a good-looking guy. LMAO.

 

Quezon’s Game

Manuel Quezon, the second President of the Philippines. The story is about the president making the Philippines a refuge for the Jewish people from Germany during world war when Adolf Hitler wanted to eliminate all Jewish people, which was called the Holocaust. This film also shows how Jewish people were treated before, and how they were discriminated against and treated badly by the Nazis. Even though the president was suffering from tuberculosis, we were still able to welcome and save thousands of Jews before he died.

 

1898, Our Last Men in the Philippines

This is NOT a Filipino film. This is the Spaniards' point of view during the war between Filipinos and Spaniards during the time that they arrived on the island of the Philippines. This is the story of how the Spaniards' soldiers fought for life in the war. As much as we Filipinos despise them for what they have done to our country and to our helpless Filipino people, they are still humans too. They are just soldiers who followed their upper command.

 

I do hope you guys will watch some of this and find it entertaining and educational to watch. I hope you all enjoy watching this!



Lead Image

Jini's Note:

Thank you for stopping by, I really appreciate your presence here. You can always hit the Like and Subscribe buttons if you want to.

Arigathankyougozaimuch :>

12
$ 4.38
$ 4.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ExpertWritter
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
+ 4
Sponsors of Jinifer
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jinifer
2 years ago

Comments

Ang napanood ko lang dito eh Yung Heneral Luna.. And bet na bet ko yung gumanap, galing nya magportray nun role, hehe..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sobrang the best! Parang feel na feel talaga natin as viewers na nadon tayo sa time na yun. Feels like general Luna was brought back to life!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

korek, heheh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wowww grabe ka sis. Mukhang wala na naman akong napanood sa lahat ng nabanggit 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah bisag USA ana sis, Wala jud? Hahaha try tanaw ana sis nindot man pud haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung last two di ko pa napapanuod huhu, heneral luna ilang beses ko na narewatch ganda talaga hayss tsaka nakakalungkot at the same time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sis try mo yung Our last men in the Philippines. Maganda din yan , point of view ng mga Spaniards during those times

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayy halaa hanapin ko nga yaan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakita ko yan dati Yung HENERAL LUNA ang gusto kong panuorin. Pero hanggang ngayon drawing padin ako hahaha inuuna korean drama. 🥲

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Watch mo na sis, Lalo na yung goyo! Maganda din yun, pero mas better if general Luna first before goyo haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is important to know a little about everything, so I thank you very much for filling me with knowledge

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, especially when it comes to history.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice list! Might go hunting for some of them. I like the last part.. soldiers are humans too.. bound by duty and loyalty to their leads..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ate if you have some, I would very much appreciate it if you'll recommend some for me hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sige pag may nahagilap din ako

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I only watched Heneral Luna. It's very nice. You can late to the movie if you listen to your History teacher in grade school. Good thing I did. I'll try to watch the others too. I never come across such movies. It's my first time to read about such historical movies.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you'll watch some, for sure you'll get more interested with history too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not fond of watching historical Filipino films. But maybe someday I will watch at least one of your recommendation. Thanks for this!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohhh you haven't watch any of these? I wasn't expecting that heheh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love watching movies very much, I haven't seen many historical films before, but I will definitely put this on my watch list.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh that would be great! Can't wait to read what your insights about the movies. I hope you'll like these list.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang "Goyo: Ang Batang General" lang talaga familiar ko langga. Nakita ko yan noon sa Facebook si Paulo Avelino ang nagdala. Mahilig ka pala sa mga ganitong movies langga. Maganda nga manood ng mga ganito pero di pa ako nakatry manood ng mga ganito Langga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Try lantaw ate, nindot sad na Ang kanang goyo te, gwapo kaayo si Paulo avelino HAAHHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mas gusto ko yung kay Heneral Luna. Hahaha. Yan dapat gawin sa mga matitigas ang ulo na mga tao at di sumusunod sa batas, i-artikulo uno, kaya lang epal ng human rights eh. Pati ba naman kriminal na nasaktan lang ng konti ng pamilya ng biniktima niya, eh papanigan pa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di rin natin masisisi Yung mga tao kasi nga sobrang palpak at unfair ng justice system natin sa bansa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago