Toxic Filipino Traits

17 350
Avatar for Jijisaur
2 years ago

We Filipinos are known to be friendly and hospitable. In the world, we are known as the friendliest race. We are lovable and easy to go with. Filipinos have a lot of characteristics. We have a word in Filipino "Bayanihan" which means a spirit of unity.

Yes, we have good traits but we also have a few bad ones. We cannot deny that these traits really piss us off or worst, affects our day.

Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty

Thank you, Sponsors, BIG TIME!

In today's article, I will be discussing five toxic traits of Filipino that I observed. These are few of them but I am sure that there are a lot more.

Let's start!

*Note: I am not stereotyping everything, it is just my personal opinion. Thank you!

1) You are not my friend because we are not the same color.

Image from Unsplash

Red, pink, white, black, yellow... Which color are you? The political game here in the Philippines is getting hotter every day. People have their own "pakulo" (gimics) of their bets. They have a caravan, burger stations, merch, anything to promote their bet on the incoming elections. It is so sad that just because we do not have the same bets, we will cut ties to our friendship or relationships. I know it is hard to be with someone with a different mentality but the fact that a 10-year friendship will be forgotten because of different colors. Personally, this trait should be eliminated because, for me, we should respect ones' decision.

2) Crab mentality

Image from Unsplash

This trait is very evident in the business industry. When someone is jealous of you, they will destroy you because they do not want you to succeed. They are jealous because you are the person they want to be. Honestly, my dream is for every Filipino to have a good life, to be a first-world country. I do not get why people would drag down people who are striving so hard to survive. I remember when I am still in the corporate world, someone will be "sipsip" to the manager so that her colleague will not get a higher position. She then tells bad stories to the manager. It was really disgusting and I would never be friends with that person.

3) No discipline

Image from Unsplash

A simple example is when people cross the highway when in fact there is a sign not to cross because they might be hit by a car. Normally, when in this case, an overpass bridge or underpass way is available for people to cross. I do not know if people are just too lazy or do not understand the concept of law. I feel like no discipline of people is one of the reasons why the country is not progressing. What I observed here in the Philippines is that they will follow the rules for two weeks and then after that, they will break the rule. No discipline at all.

4) Children as retirement funds.

Image from Unsplash

This is the norm in the Philippines. You are obliged to give money to your parents or else they will call you "walang utang na loob" or ungrateful. I am so happy that my parents are just cool with it. They do not force us to give them allowance or money. Instead, I want to work hard more for me to be able to provide whatever their needs. I think when the children are pressured and nagged about money, they tend to not give. Giving money should be voluntary and not be seen as an obligation. When I grow up, I will not let my children suffer because of me. I will have my own retirement plan so that I will not be a burden to them.

5) English language as a gauge of knowledge

Image of Unsplash

They look down on people who do not speak or write perfect English. When you have misspelled just one word or mispronounced a single syllable, get ready to be laughed at. They will correct everything that you say in English. They will criticize the way you pronounce English words. When you post something in English, they look at you as smart or sophisticated. When in Tagalog, you are cheap or have poor taste. This trait is so toxic. It is okay to not know the English language entirely. It should not gauge your knowledge because, in the big picture, it is just a language.

Final Thoughts

My thoughts above do not entirely reflect all Filipinos, only some. I have experienced some of these traits and it was a bad experience. I admit that I am toxic too before I was younger but it is just being late on meetings but nothing serious. I learned to be sensitive and to be kind through time. How I wish these traits should be talked about often. To wrap it up, all we can do at this point is to be compassionate to one another and be sensitive to the people around us.

Thank you for reading my article.

Peace- Jijisaur.

Lead image edited on Canva

Opensea/Twitter/Noise.cash: @Jijisaur

You can read my other articles here:

❤️ What If I Am An Animal? https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/what-if-i-am-an-animal-e65168cf

❤️ My Eazy Breezy Sunday https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/my-eazy-breezy-sunday-7172e531

❤️ Answering Questions For Lovers https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/answering-questions-for-lovers-e6be8fce

7
$ 3.61
$ 3.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Tamia
$ 0.02 from @Khing14
+ 2
Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jijisaur
2 years ago

Comments

No disciple is the main reason for bad traits. It's also happening in my city and just because of no discipline we are not progressing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True. It should start on ourselves first before we can be a disciplined citizen in our country.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I thought it was only my country, the way you speak English that's the way they respect you

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh really? Where are you from? Yeah, people equate English to respect and that is not okay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahays... what you say in this blog entry are all true and we cannot deny the fact of having it but not in harsh way. Nonetheless, tama din yung sinabi mo na hindi naman lahat ng Pilipino ay may traits na ganito. It's important talaga na ni rereassess natin yung sarili natin para malaman natin how to control ourselves from possessing these toxic traits.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, hindi lahat ganito. Mga ilan ilan lang pero sana hindi na lang kasi nakaka apekto ng mindspace. Well, we cannot please everyone that is why they are making a way to feel you bad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually I really like Filipinos, my dream is to find a life partner with a woman there ️, but there is one discussion that is the subject of my thoughts from your description of this topic, is it true that Filipinos have jealousy that is so high that it can bring other people down. I'm so sad to hear this I hope not all of them are like this😟

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Not all Filipinos are like that. There is an only a small percentage of it like 2/100. But you will notice it some from the corporate side. Yes, Filipina wives are the best!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

this is the answer i've been waiting for and it's true my guess maybe not all philippines are like that. maybe from every region and country have the same thing, but not published. thank you👌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku sis...tama lahat ng sinabi mo..dun sa no discipline, I must say, siguro may disiplina naman, kulang lang..hehe..

Sa politics, sakit lang sa bangs..kasi alam mo yung unang unang tumutuligsa sa gobyerno ay mga nasa gobyerno din?..gusto ko ngang sabihin, diba dapat tumutulong kayo na ayusin yang mga pinupuna ninyo?bakit ninyo pinupulaan ang gobyerno eh taga gobyerno ka din, may responsibilidad ka din..bakit hindi ka kumilos at puro ngawa lang dyan at nagbabantay ng masisilip sa administrasyon..

Kahit sino ang umupong presidente, palaging may kapya taga gobyerno na sa halip tumulong eh sinisira ang image ng jbang mga nakaupo..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganda ng article na to sis,💗 Crab mentality, tumpak talaga to, di ko maintindihan yung ibang tao bat galit na galit sila at inggit na inggit pag nakakaraos na at nagiging successful na yung kababayan nila, diba pwedeng maging masaya nalang sa kung anong narating ng isa,

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yup, lalo na sa mga nagnenegosyo. Sisiraan ka nila kasi sa tindi ng inggit. Mas maganda pa na maappreciate mo sila at maging inspiration. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sis you nailed it all. This is really true! The crab mentality I hate that. The insecurities are always present. You create a stories with that person because of the jealousy. It's really a big mistake that's why I hate people like that.

Yes sis that's true. The English language. They will laugh at you if you didn't know how to speak English. I have a workmate before that her attitude was like that and all the employees hate her.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, sis, sobrang evident ng crab mentality dito. Yung English naman sis feeling nila a taas taas nila kasi marunong mag English.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sis sobra kahit saan man, andyan lagi. Yes sis pinaka ayoko talaga yan yung tatawa pa talaga. Napakasama talaga, why we need to laugh? Insulto na yun. God is watching naman sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I suddenly remembered yung post of one of my friend on fb na dinidiscriminate nya yung supporters ng opposing side ng sinusuportahan nya, yung iba daw kasi is kakilala niya na mga low rank naman daw sa klase noon. Parang nakakainis lang haha bakit kailangan mang-ganun, di niya naman kinatalino yung ganun, gusto ko sana magcomment kaso di ko kasi siya kilala talaga 😅. Respect nalang sana e no hehe, possessed na possessed nya yung toxic na trait na yun ng mga pilipino hayseu.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Tama ka dear. Nagdelete na rin ako ng FB kasi puro away politika ng mga tao nababasa ko. Wag mo na patulan dear. Basta chill lang tayo dito sa read.cash hehe🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago