Our Meal (No Meat)

20 31
Avatar for Jijisaur
2 years ago
Topics: Food, Holyweek, Filipino

Hello everyone. How is your Holy Week so far? As a family, we are just at home and observing the Holy Week. We are not devoted Catholics but we still observe Holy Week.

Holy Week, in my own knowledge and words, is the most important and sacred week for us Christian. It is the most solemn and sacred time in our liturgical year.

Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty

Thank you, dear sponsors! Thank you for sponsoring me! I appreciate every help!

I think some religion too that is connected with Christianity were also observed this Holy Week. My aunt who has a different religion does not celebrate Christmas but celebrates Holy Week.

Anyway, in this article, I will be writing about what meals did we eat yesterday. It is part of the tradition that Christians will abstain from eating meat during this time. Sorry, I am not sure what I am saying but this is how our home works.

Okay, let's see what we prepared yesterday

Breakfast

For breakfast, what we cooked was kimbap. Kimbap is a dish in Korea. We craved for Kimbap because of the Kdramas that we are watching. We like the combination of the seaweed and the rice. Actually, we already ordered the ingredients ahead so that we have something to eat during these times.

The ingredients are Seaweed, pickled radish, mayonnaise, crab sticks, kimchi, and cheese.

Instruction: Lay rice evenly on the seaweed. On the edge, and then put the pickled radish, kimchi, and cheese. On top, put the mayonnaise. We use the Japanese mayo instead of the brand Lady's Choice. It is yummier that way.

The kimbap is so yummy! We made two rolls and it is enough for us three.

Lunch

For lunch, our simple dish is eggplant and tomato. We grilled the eggplant over the fire and then for sauce, we have bagoong with tomato and onion. Bagoong is fermented fish sauce. It is very delicious for me. Well, some people might not like it because of the smell or the taste. It is what reminds me of the province because bagoong in the city feels like unauthentic, hehe. It is just my preferences, hehe, please do not bash me!

Very simple dish but very nutritious and tasty. Also, we are on a diet that's why we did not cook a lot for lunch, haha!

Snacks

For snacks, we have fries! We got hungry because we just ate a little during lunch. Fries are very easy to cook. We bought pre-cut fries from the grocery last week. We use to buy the 1 kg because we save a lot when buying in big packages. It applies to everything we buy. When we buy in small packaging, we computed the prices, and turned out that when buying in big packages, we save more.

We sprinkled it with salt and pepper. Our dips are banana ketchup and Japanese mayo. A simple snack but delicious. Reminds me of Mcdonald's fries! I like it when it is freshly fried from their machine. What is your favorite fast food fries?

Dinner

For dinner, we have a fish called bakalaw. I sometimes say it bakulaw, haha! Bakulaw in English is ape or gorilla. This is also a tease name or for jokes. Bakulaw as per my father said that it is a fish that is so hard to spot because of the dark skin. They eat mainly squids, that is why it is oily. He then told us that back in their elementary days, they do not mind these fishes. Now, people are fighting just to eat this fish because it is very tender and has a lot of omega 3, which is good for the heart.

Final Thoughts

These are the meals we ate yesterday. I can say that we can eat no meat for a week because it is not bad at all. I still get the protein from the veggies and the fish. Also, aside from no meat, we also observed no loud noise like karaoke, loud music, etc., no work ( well except for me who worked freelance), and make some sacrifices like less YouTube, I just sleep in that case.

So, how is yours so far? I want to know from others how they observe the Holy Week.

Thank you for reading.

All photos are mine. Edited on Canva

My other articles:

🍄 How Do I Divide My Time In A Day? https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/how-do-i-divide-my-time-in-a-day-c2a6392b

🍄 Let's Go To The Beach! https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/lets-go-to-the-beach-f8389414

🍄 From Dislikes To Likes https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/from-dislikes-to-likes-bd62b0bc

13
$ 7.52
$ 7.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @Captainkay
$ 0.04 from @Jher0122
+ 7
Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jijisaur
2 years ago
Topics: Food, Holyweek, Filipino

Comments

Kasarap nung talong na inihaw ..tas isasawsaw sa bagoong na may kalamansi at sili. Talagang mapapadami sa kain talaga. Di din kami mahilig sa karne lalo na sa mga taba taba ..a big no to that .. mostly mga gulay kami.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayun nga nakalimutan ko yung sili pero oks na rin hehe. Ako rin di ko bet sobrang taba feeling ko iinom ako ng 2 liters of water after hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sis I was about to sleep, pero nung makita ko mga foods na yan, bigla ako napatayo at ng crave🤤,, sarap nung eggplant with tomato paired with bagoong. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yas, super yummy. Parang nasa tabing dagat lang hehe. Ang sarap talaga ng grilled talong.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The grilled eggplant together with the sauce really makes me feel hungry right now, ang delicious!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, simple yet delicious. Mas masarap yan pag may kasamang bbq hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nag crecreave narin kami for korean foods after watching so many k drama ate 😩 HAHAHA.

All your dish looked really yummy! As for us, we dont really follow the no meat thing. But i guess we kinda did cause for a week now we've been having fish and veg

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, the food on the kdramas are very delish, buti masarap naman gawa namin hehe. Yeah, it is totally okay not to follow traditions hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everything looks so tasty and delicious. Will visit Philippines too and one day I'll meet all my Philippines friends

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, when will you come? You are always welcome here, my friend! We have the best mangoes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I should have tried that kimbap too hehe seems yummy. I just tasted California maki which our boss shared during her birthday. That was yummy too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like the california maki from tokyo tokyo. Very delicious! Hehe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi @Jijisaur. I tried searching for you on telegram like you mentioned but I could 't find you perhaps due to your privacy settings. Could you search for me username @KristofferQuincy..

I have certain questions I'd like to ask..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just found you on telegram. 😊 Let's connect there. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sa lahat ng pinost mo fries lang ako naka relate eh hihi wel ung parensts ko devoted sila na christian pero kami mga magkakapati hinde hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, actually kami rin hindi super religious. Baka kasi nasa culture and nakasanayan na hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kami after mawala nung lola rh nagingvmodern na mindset pero when it comes to religion lang ah.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pahingi ng Kimbap sis. 🥺 Sarap naman. Hindi talaga nakakasawa kainin ang kimbap sis. Sobrang sarap talaga. 🤤 Sarap ng eggplant. Ganyan ulam namin niluluto ni mama sa province. Ang sarap niyan. May fries pa. Perfect snack sis tas same tayo ng ulam sis fried fish. 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo super yummy talaga sis lalo na pag may Kimchi. Hehe. I love fish too lalo na mga wala masyadong tinik hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis. Sobrang sarap talaga. Kimchi din favorite ko. Kapag magsamgyup kimchi talaga hinahanap ko sis lagi. May mabibili na sis, yung boneless na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago