No Sleep for 24 Hours

38 45
Avatar for Jijisaur
2 years ago

Happy weekend! It is almost lunchtime from where I am from but I just want to write something for now on this platform. Hehe. Well, while we are thinking of what to cook for lunch, I am just writing for now.

Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty

Thank you, sponsors!

In this article, I will be writing about my experience of not sleeping for 24 hours for the first time. It is the time when I was working the night shift I think. The account that I am holding is American and so, when it is nighttime in the Philippines, it is daytime to them. I am working for a well-known company. I am handling insurance by the way.

So, it was the Friday shift ending on Saturday. To save time, I agreed to meet with my friends on Saturday so that coming from work, I do not need to go home, I just go straight to the mall to meet them.

My shift starts at 11 pm, so on Friday 9 pm, I should be awake to prep for going to my work. So my work is 11 pm to 7 am. I stayed in the office for4 hours more because the mall will open around 10:30 am. At 12 pm, I rode the train going to the meeting place. Some of my friends are very late so we start to eat around 3 pm. Our bonding ended after 5 hours. It is already past 9 pm when I got home. I am super tired and dizzy.

These are my notable experience at that time:

1) My mind is freaking flying.

Because I am from my work which I seat all day staring at a screen, my eyes are very tired. My eyes should sync with my brain. I caught myself staring at a blank space when someone is talking to me haha! I am like flying in my mind. What I was thinking is a comfy bed and a just shut my eyes. lols

2) Coffee will not work anymore.

Most of us consume coffee to help us awake and focused on our work. It is the easiest and cheap way to keep our brains running. It is the second most-consumed liquid next to the water.

I remember drinking 2 cups of coffee on that day to keep me energetic but it did not work. I waited more than 5 hours just to meet my friends. We cannot cheat on our brain, I think. I also mentioned on this platform that I am not a big fan of coffee so it is a big deal for me.

3) I am a bit grumpy.

I remember that I am more extra sensitive on that day and leads to grumpiness. When someone touches my arm I feel irritated when in normal days, I do not really react. 

4) My eyes are red-ish.

My eyes are sensitive. When it is too bright, I get a teary eyes. So, I have eyeglasses that has a filter that when I am out of the sun, the lenses turn to black. Also, I have an eyedrop all the time. I am using the brand Rohto, a reputable eyedrop company in Japan. When I am very tired and sleepy, my eyes are the first sign. I have a bad vision too and that make it more worst.

Final Thoughts

Resting is a way to reset your brain. It is healthy and makes you evern more productive. Your body is your temple. Do not overuse if or else, it will backfire to you. Personally, I sleep at least 6 hours at night, and if I have the chance, I sleeo 1 to 2 hours in the afternoon.

We only have one body. We only have one life. They said, YOLO - you only live once but you have to make good decisions. There are worth risking and not. At this point of my life, I am more cautious of my health. I want to live longer for my family. I want to reach my goals in life before I am a goner of this world.

Thank you for reading.

Lead image edited on Canva, Images from Unsplash

My other articles:

🍄 I Want Camping But... https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/i-want-camping-but-55e77155

🍄 Jijisaur's Learning Journey -Blog #11 https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/jijisaurs-learning-journey-blog-11-1d497eed

🍄My First Dose Of Vaccine (A Rude Moment) https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/my-first-dose-of-vaccine-a-rude-moment-1c782158

11
$ 3.31
$ 3.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eunoia
$ 0.04 from @yhanne
+ 10
Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jijisaur
2 years ago

Comments

luhh working ka pala sis aklaa ko student ka pa lang din like me whahhah. nako nakikita pa naman kita dito pati sa noise na sobrang active. natututlog ka pa ba maayos? pag ganyang puyat isz real wag ka ng mag coffee ses. mas okay drink milk kapag patulog na ba.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This was in 2016 pa hehe. after ko grumaduate sabak sa work agad. I did not last in that company kasi toxic. Yeah, andami dito akala nila student pa lang me or nene haha! Pero I am 20+ na, pwede na magasawa lels. hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ohhh i see. 24 ana ako sa may pero nag aaral pa ko kasi late comer ako sa college. Pwede na din mag asawa pero waiting pa tayo jan eh wahahahha.. anong industry ka nag wowork?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Freelance na ako since pandemic hehe. 😊 More on AI at transcription naman ngayon hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

wow ang galing ah.. Pero pansin ko mas okay talaga mga freelance job ngayon no?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OO, mas ok sakin ksi nasa bahay lang tsaka di hasel sa byahe hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oo saka may mga freelance job na hawak mo talaga oras mo..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I experienced having no sleep like a day or so before my friend. I remember how irritated I was back then. Like everything seems so annoying on my part.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very true! Our brain messes us too! So let's take care of our body.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Never experienced being wide awake for 24hrs. I just can't. T.T

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, wag nang itry haha. Sobrang nakakabaliw. I never tried it again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are sometimes we do reach roadblock, it happens to me sometimes, but adequate sleep matters a lot, without proper sleep, we won't function well

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very much agree. It is like recharging our body in our bed. Very essential need of a human being. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe I could picture kung gaano kabigat yung feeling sa ulo kapag 24 hrs walang tulog. Yung di na pumapasok yung mga naririnig mo hahaha. Honestly sa ganyan ko nakuha yung problema ko sa pagtulog, two days straight 2 hrs rest because of thesis hayst.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thesis rin ang isang bagay na hindi nagpatulog sakin. Para akong zombie nun haha! Awa ng Diyos pumasa naman kami ng groupmates ko. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku di ko kaya yun sis takaw tulog kasi ako hahaha kaya di ako pede sa mga may mga graveyard shift na work.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nagquit na ako sa job ko nuon kasi nga hindi na maganda sa katawan. actually, papalitpalit pa ng sched kaya nasisira body clock ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Masama din kasi sa katawan ang ganyang routine kaya yung mga call center agent may health card kasi risky health nila because of graveyard shift

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Na try ko yan dati sis.. gumagawa kami thesis nun, tapos yunh feeling na ikaw lang kumakayod kaya yun, walang tulog, feeling ko ang lutang ko talaga hahah...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I feel light headed talaga nun. Di ko na ulit uulitin yung no sleep for 24 hours hehe. Lesson learned na talaga.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wag mo na talaga ulitin sis, hindi siya mabuti sa health natin tapos hindi maganda sa pakiramdam talaga. Tsaka tama light headed pala term nun hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used to work the night shift and it was horrible for my health as it reduced my hours of sleep, never again!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me too. It really affects me physically and mentally. As I said. we only have one body. Let us all be healthy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naranasan ng asawa ko dati halos dalawang araw walang tulog dahil sa straight duty ,para lutang daw siya ,aguy ! Pahinga ka din jiji mahirap magkasakit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, po. This was way back 2016 pa po hehe. Di ko na inulit hehe. Ayoko maging lutang baka yun pa ipapakahamak ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Rest po ate jiji, importante ang tulog saating katawan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks, Moon! Health is wealth di ba? Heheh! Mas importante talaga inaalagaan ang sarili.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There should be proper time for sleep and work

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Take time to rest sis. Pag ganyan na kulang sa tulog parang lutang tayo.. Na-remember ko noon pag night shift ako from 6 pm to 6 am, kahit nakatatlo na akong cup ng kape pero pagdating ng 2 am, inaantok pa din ako

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo. Hirap nightshift nuon hehe wave back 2016 I was working in a toxic environment tapos puyatan pa. Ang sama talaga ng health ko nun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakapanghina yung palaging nightshift sis. Katulad nung ate ko, three months, night shift siya, pumayat talaga siya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometime the nap works to refresh the mind. You should have taken one when can't sleep for long but really tired. And I also try to sleep 6 hours but sometime my tiredness delays an hour too. Lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, it is important that we have enough sleep to be energized. It is hard to function if we do not have enough sleep.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah and sometime there is headache starts in lack of sleep. So must sleep the time your body needs at least.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True sis. We should always mind our health. Always prioritize it. Health is really important in life. You cannot achieve your goals or whatever plans you have in life if you are not healthy because your body will be in illness.

If I don't have enough sleep, my body is unexplainable sis. I couldn't explain what I felt. It's really heavy. I felt the pains everywhere that's why I hate it when I don't have an enough sleep.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very painful sis. Simula nun hindi ko na inulit yon. Sleep is very essential to us humans.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis sobra. Di mo ma explain. Sobrang sakit kaya nag alala ako pag di ako makatulog minsan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You should take time for enough rest today. We can't cheat nature.

$ 0.00
2 years ago