I Want Camping But...

22 42
Avatar for Jijisaur
2 years ago

I am a fan of camping, trekking, anything to do with nature. One of the activities that I like is camping. I am imagining myself and my friends staring at the clear skies with bonfires.

I also love watching Naked and Afraid and survival videos on YouTube. But I said to myself, "Can I survive being away in my comfort zone.", "Can I survive with the wild?".

Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty

Thank you, Sponsors!

In today's article, I will be mentioning the reasons that keep me thinking twice about camping. So, let's start.

1) No proper bathroom.

Ugh, this is the first thing that comes to my mind. I am a person that takes longer in the bathroom when I am having number two. I want to have a me time. Being in camp means you should take whatever is provided and available. The worst is when I am a period during camping, ugh.

2) The mosquitoes and bugs might be carrying deadly diseases.

Mosquitoes are freaking deadly. A tarantula too! These animals are expected in the wild. They are the dwellers of the forest. And so, if camping it is better to have a net and a repellent. We might get dengue or malaria. Also, check the place if there are stagnant waters because it is where the mosquitoes breed.

3) Uninvited guests might come to your camp.

The Philippines is blessed with the most beautiful mountains and forests. Our forests are very lush, thick, and abundant. These are the perfect spots for bad people to hide. We have a terrorist in the Philippines called NPA. They harass innocent people until they give money, food, animals, anything that they can rob.

When I realized that there is a chance that we might encounter them, my thoughts about camping have more become more serious.

In our province, I heard a story about them harassing the townspeople, what more in the uplands. They will shoot all the lights and beat the dogs so that they will not bark. :( They will demand money so that they will survive and will do it again.

I just hope our government will totally eliminate them because they do not help the country at all.

4) There might be a medical emergency.

If you are camping, expect that there are no hospitals or health centers near. So, you should bring at least basic medical needs. It is better not to camp alone and avoid accidents at all costs. We only have one life, yes, we should live to the fullest but we should be careful too.

5) A lot of cleaning and washing after the camping.

When camping, most of our equipment and things for camping is drenched with mud and dirt. When coming home from camping, I just want to clean myself and be back to my comfy bed. So, better to have disposable utensils so that you do not need to wash them back at home. Bring a trash bag and do not leave your rubbish on the camping site. Be organized and know what to bring and not for camping. remember, when it is dirty it means that you had fun!

Final Thoughts

Maybe these fears will go away. I am not saying that these reasons will happen during camping. Maybe I am just cautious because I watched too many camping videos. Though I learn a thing or two that I can apply in my life but not just about camping. There are learnings about your mentality, about freeing yourself to the world. There are so much to learn in camping and I am excited about a new adventure soon!

Thank you for reading.

Lead image edited on Canva, Images from Unsplash

My other articles:

🍄 Jijisaur's Learning Journey -Blog #11 https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/jijisaurs-learning-journey-blog-11-1d497eed

🍄My First Dose Of Vaccine (A Rude Moment) https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/my-first-dose-of-vaccine-a-rude-moment-1c782158

🍄 It's Taco Time! https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/its-taco-time-6bedce61


13
$ 4.13
$ 3.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eunoia
$ 0.03 from @Jeansapphire39
+ 7
Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jijisaur
2 years ago

Comments

nako ako lang talaga yung di mo maisasama sa camping if ever. ayoko nyan kasi andami kong naiisip lalo nna kapag mga kwento tungkol doon sa mga NPA or ung mga tribe ba na may something. meron sa cordillera namumugot dati ng ulo eh. i dunno exactly saang bundok pero ganun ung culture sati lalo na kapag pinasok ung territory nila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also have similar experience like you... hopefully one-day I will complete this

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also want to experience camping with my friends sis in the forest or mountain peak. However, I am also afraid with the unwanted guests.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ko pa natry mgcamping talaga at mas gusto ko sa beach mg overnight🤗.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gusto ko sa tabing dagat lang sis , magdadala ng tent ayoko ko dun sa kakahuyan katakot baka may ahas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ako din tapos boodle fight hehe.Sarap nun!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love camping and in all of my years of camping (both at campsites and in the wild) I have not had anything more scary than being uncomfortable. Just do it! Go for a night, with a friend and test it out

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, what is unexpected trips yun pa yung karaniwan masaya hehe. I'll try it out soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yan din mga pinag iisipan ko noon kaya di ako sumasama pero once nag yes ako, sobrang ganda ng experience at view, will definitely try it again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo, natry ko na rin sa dagat ang camping pero sa mountains hindi pa. I was with my college friends back then.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't overthink dear Camping might be done to a safe area, at the seaside for example. If you want trekking or in the mountain, many camping sites were available away from those uninvited guests. Others that you mention were part of the excitement in camping lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup, I tried already on the beach but not in the mountain yet. Yes, very thrilling experience. I hope one day will scratch it off from my bucketlist.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you are overthinking, camping can be sooo funny too, we just need to know the survival tactics for example to avoid these deadly insect bites the nature provide us with its cure too, there are plants that when their juices applied on our skin prevents us from their attraction

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, can't help but to overthink a lot when it comes to my safety. I heard there are miraculous plants for cure. I hope I can over come it someday.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

be at peace sister,))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But peoples do camping at night. So gather your more friends and do camping at night

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One thing I like about camping is the excitement about it. Actually di ko pa sya natry pero gustong gusto kung masubukan. Mga girl's scout camping pa lang ang nasalihan ko. Cowgirl naman ako kaya keri ko ung mga namention mo wag lang ung uninvited guests.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako din sis. Trekking lang nasubukan ko pero 1 day lang walang overnight. Dun talaga sa uninvited guest ako natatakot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakatakot di ba mahirap pa nyan baka manghostage pa, wag naman po. Gusto ko din talaga yang trekking matry. Ganda kasi ng nature no.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are a lot of disadvantages during camping sis that's why if we have a plan sometimes I was hesitant because of it. My mind is always in advance especially during night. It's my weakness. I'm really scared with the dark.

The uninvited guest sis. This is the most scary one. I remember a lot of movies I've watch. It's really horrible. I couldn't imagine myself met some strangers there the worst they are bad people.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo parang wrong turn lang haha. Nakakatakot sis pero if you really love challenge eto talaga one of my list.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis grabe nakakatakot. 😰

$ 0.00
2 years ago