Know a part of me

29 58
Avatar for JenThoughts
1 year ago
Date: May 19, 2022

Knowing someone will help you understand why he/she acting, thinking or speaking like that.

I don't know why my mind cannot think of a topic to write. For now, I end up thinking to write about myself. I know people in this platform is friendly and not judgmental so sharing about ourselves is okay.

Oh! I don't know where to start. I think I'll start from the very beginning.

Birthdate

I was born at 02:40 in the morning in the 14th day of August in the year 1988. So you'll know my birthday, will I expect some gift on that day? lol. You will also know my age through that date.

Siblings

I am the eldest among the 6 children of our parents, actually we're 8, i have a twin older sister/brother but sadly my mother lost them when they are just only 2 months I think in her womb. Being an eldest have a greater responsibility making me mature at the early years. I am trying to earn money in the early years while other children in my age are enjoying playing along the roads, but I never said that I have never experienced playing outside.

I have one sister and 4 brothers.

Where do you live?

When I was young, we live in the country, near in the nature and we can also call it, we are living in the mountain. We have a small house made of bamboo. It is really just small that our dining area is also our bedroom. I still remember how our mother taught us not to drop even a single piece of rice on the floor. One piece will fall? For sure you will have recieve one spank using a stick of walis tingting. We keep the floor clean because afterwards we will put some mat and we will sleep there.

We don't have electricity that time, we just use candle or that light using some gas for it to give us light. We eat early and sleep early.

Parents source of income

Our parents is a farmer without a farm. Yes, you read it right. We don't have a piece of land to plant some crops but all I know is that our parents planted some fruits and vegetables in the piece of land owned by Dole company near a creek. Pineapple field have a lot of water ways and it will drop on the creek. Beside that creek, our father used it as his farm. Bananas is the number one source of our income before. They will cook it and my mother will sell it on the school or she will sell it in our Barangay. When I am big enough and knows how to sell, they let me sell banana cue, bod-bod made of cassava, bananas, fermented coconut juice or suka and any other fruits and vegetables that we can sell.

I have also experience selling our products in the market. My father brings me with him to help him in solving maths because he hardly do it by himself especially if it is in greater value. He only reached grade 4 and according to him it is just pasang awa because he keeps on cleaning their classroom.

Parents as teacher

As mentioned above, my father is only grade 4 and he don't know how to read. He don't know about the lessons in school but my father is my greatest teacher in terms of having good character, budgeting and hardwork.

My mother reached upto second year high school and I can say she is intelligent. She is my first teacher in terms of letters, numbers, shapes, parts of the body and so on. She teaches me how to write in the soil. Yes I can easily write something in the soil and you can easily erase it with your hand, feet or slipper. You just need some stick and no need of paper and pencil. I go to school directly in Kinder 2. My mother finished her secondary education through ALS (Alternative learning system) I think 4 years ago. She is one among the oldest student on their batch. See? age is not a hindrance to finished your studies. My mother is a living proof on that.

Closing thoughts

Oh! the words just flow. I feel like sharing my life experience to a closest friend. Indeed, you all are my virtual friends.

I think this is just for now. I hope you did enjoy reading a part of my life and you did know a part of me.

Want to share yours? I will be happy to know even a part of your life too.

Sponsors of JenThoughts
empty
empty
empty

Thanks my dear sponsors for filling my Sponsors block.

Thank you so much. See you in my
next stories/article.

If you want to read more, click HERE.

14
$ 3.41
$ 3.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Tilawat
+ 10
Sponsors of JenThoughts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JenThoughts
1 year ago

Comments

Nice to know you po :) at advance happy birthday na din haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehehe next pa yun... but still, thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tulad mo rin sis nakatira din kami before malayo sa kabihasnan HAHA yung mabilis na lugar walang kuryente at lampara lang gamit. Ang saya Naman nang buhay napakaganda rin na memories sarap balikan.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes sis noon when we were there we are wishing to experience the life in the city, but now our minds became mature and I realized that having a home in the country side is one of the best gift of God for us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oii same tayo Birth Month hehe. 29 lang sakin, gift ko din ha. Hahaha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Talaga sis hehehe advance happy birthday sayo hehehe baka makalimutan hehehe..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha same to you sis Happy Birthday satin haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is so nice. I've got to know a little about you, Jen.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks for dropping by.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're welcome, Jen.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow. I love the fact that your parents do everything in their capacity to train you and your siblings. Though I realized there was no money and I'm sure your childhood was fun.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, they never failed to discipline us though its hurt that time imagine a belt, a stick use for spanking.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The farmer without a land part made me laugh 😅😅. At least they were farming somewhere and on land.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes sis they were called farmer because of what they are doing but in reality they didn't own lands.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your parents are such indeed a hardworking. You're so fortunate enough cause without any farmers we couldn't get natural goods

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes sis, though they don't have a regular source of income but we never know that we felt hungry. We still have the chance to eat 3 times a day.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ahh, that's good to hear sis. Be grateful for that. I was once in that situation like we couldn't eat 3 times a day. But our parents strive and now, I finished my study

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good to hear it sis. There is always a way.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Murag ganahan ko ani nga topic sis duh ,maguwang pa diay diay kag 2 years nako sis 😁

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You can use it too sis, ambot two days nako way maisip tarong nga topic hehehe... 1990 diay ka sis? kaedad mo sa akong manghod.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hi, sis same tayo ng mga experience kasi noon yung mga magulang natin kapag may isang butil na kanin na mahulog talagang litanya ang maririnig mo hanggang mag hapun na yan hihi. Anyway 1986 naman ako kaya ahead ako sayo ng 2 years.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ou sis muingon pa nga di sayang sayangan ang pagkaon kay ang uban wa juy gikaon. .

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hirap talaga pag ikaw yung eldest sis no, . Anyway it's nice that you share more about yourself🥰. And it's true walang mga judgemental dito, kaya prefer ko mag share ng mga story ko sa platform na to. Hehe

$ 0.01
1 year ago

A lot more about life pa sis. Makakashare talaga tayo dito hanggat Read.cash will be here for us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I've been on read.cash for a long time, and this is the first time I've read anything about himself. interesting..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You can let us know about you too..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes sis. Maybe next time..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh Jen. Nice to know more about you. Being the eldest in the family, I guess you must be proud of that. Haha. I learnt from your mum's story though. Age is truly not an hindrance to education

$ 0.01
1 year ago

If Im not mistaken she is 50 years old when she graduated in highschool through ALS.

$ 0.00
1 year ago