Follow what I say BUT don't follow what I do

Avatar for JenThoughts
2 years ago

I know you have heard about this phrase many times. Have you tried saying this phrase to someone? Have you tried to ask why we need to follow what they say, but not what they do?

In life, there are many circumstances that we are following someone. It might be what they said or might be what they do. They are our model or our example.


Note: This is just what I have observed not just in the community but others were also observed within the family.

I don't have the intention to hurt but I want us to see beyond the realities of life.


On this article, I would like to site some examples about our title.

Don't smoke

I can always hear a father saying this to his children: "My dear children, never ever try to smoke because smoking is dangerous to your health." Have you heard it too? Are you familiar with it?

I am proud to those Dad who keep on reminding this to their children, because we all know that Cigarette smoking is really dangerous to one's health. But, I am sad to those Dad who keep on commanding their children to buy cigarettes for them. Others will tell their children to lit it for them.

Most Dad, even moms were smoking in front of their children yet telling not to follow it. Follow what I say, but don't follow what I do.

No cellphone while eating

In my son, I tried to make a rule that no cellphone while eating. This rule is being thought to our 4-year old son. I don't want to see him watching videos while eating.

There were times that his father will allow it because they are watching together. Yes, sometimes he allows our son to watch videos while eating. He reason up "Hayaan mo lang para kakain." Then, I told him that we have our rule and he also needs to follow it.

To parents, the husband and wife should have the same rules to follow for their children. It is not good that while the other is imposing it, the other is disobeying it.

So, as a mother, I tried to follow my own rules. I never hold or use my cellphone while eating unless I am done or there is text or call that needs to be answered.

Eat vegetables

We parents really wants our children to eat vegetables. I can sometimes hear, "Son, eat more vegetables because it will make you smarter, taller and handsome." There are many ways to encourage them to eat.

My husband, as well as some of his siblings were not eating okra or ladies finger. They are trying to teach their children to eat some, but the question is, are they making themselves as an example?

One time we cooked vegetables with okra in it. My son really loves it. He tried to let us eat it also, sinubuan nya kami.

I ate it with a yummy expression but his dad is finding alibi not to eat, but my son insisted. My husband cut it into half and told my son to eat the other half. He was force to eat the other half lol.

Sometimes we keep on encouraging them to do something pero tayo mismo di natin ginagawa.


Those were just three among many instances that we keep on telling our children to do, or not to do it, but we are not a good example but instead we are the one who is not doing it.

Ending thoughts

In life, we wanted to be as good as possible. We want to be a good parents, we want to be a good model to our children, but there are circumstances that we were blinded and teaching them through our actions in the opposite way.

All of us is struggling about it. We are struggling to do what is right, we are trying to do what we are saying but there are times that we, ourselves, disobey it.

Let's pray and ask God's guidance that we will be able to do what is right and become a good model to the next generations.

Thank you so much for reading.

Thank you so much my dear likers,
subscribers, upvoters, readers, 
commenters and sponsors for making
me smile everytime I click the 
notification bell.

12
$ 0.58
$ 0.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ellawrites
$ 0.02 from @Jumper-01
+ 2
Sponsors of JenThoughts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JenThoughts
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

I have actually learnt a lesson here, it's actually not advisable sometimes to follow people in doing things at times, cos it's actually difficult putting into practice what we say. A pleasure to meet you Jen. Stay Blessed

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Im happy to hear about. Nice meeting you too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol, my dad also said it to my elder brother, thank God my elder brother didn't thread in his footsteps.

And Jen, indeed you're right, lol, I also do it alot, I give an instruction to a child but do the exact opposite of what I instructed the child. Only God can help us to start doing what we instruct others to do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes we all have those mistakes. Lets ask God to help us be a good example

$ 0.00
2 years ago

this is true, no wonder I turned out like this hahaha char!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really sis? you follow by an example too? Let's take this as a lesson for us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi naman pero nung bata ako kahit sabihin na bad yung ganito ganyan, syempre curiosity hits pa dn especially for kids and teenagers. There's always this 'kahit masama bakit sila ginagawa pa dn nila, ano meron kapag ginawa ko yan?' ganun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ou nga naman kasi may nakikita tayo at maka ask tayo na kung bad ito bakit ginagawa nila...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me it's hard to give instructions especially to our children if we parents don't practice what we teach. Lead by example.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly, infact sometimes children tend to easy follow what we do than what we say.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is significant thoughts, yes my father always give that advice to us. I'm so fortunate about my father cause is a paragon father. He always tell us what is good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're lucky to have him. Our parents really thought what is good for us but sometimes their actions thought us another thing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed, they really important cause without them I couldn't imagine my future. I'm so fortunate for having them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Relate ako sa phone while having our meal sis ,kaming mag asawa we are not using phone while eating para makita ng anak namin at gayahin nila but there were times na pipayagan ni hubby para kakain ng marami which is lumabag sa rule namin.Pero as a parent kailangan talagang ma disiplina ang mga anak.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ou nga sis dapat talaga husband and wife will work together sa pagdidisiplina ng mga kids.

$ 0.00
2 years ago