Sudden earthquake

46 56
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

An hour ago I was sitting on the bed and watching TV. Suddenly the bed began to shake. I thought I was not feeling well and that something was wrong with me so I got up to drink water. And then I felt the ground beneath my feet tremble. I live on the third floor and I had the impression that the whole building was shaking. Then I went back to bed. I looked at the pendant lamp hanging from the ceiling. It was rocking. I waited for it to pass. I checked the latest news and read that there was an earthquake tonight in the region where I live.

Life on earth is unpredictable. Some phenomena are beyond our power of foresight. We can't know when the earthquake will happen despite all the scientific knowledge and analysis. Today we are here, in our warm home, watching TV, eating, talking, relaxing. And tomorrow we can be in ruins. Every phenomenon and natural disaster is a story in itself. It is a story about people, their character, readiness for personal sacrifice, and renunciation. How ready are we to give up something we have been building for years?

If everything around us is uncertain, like the earthquake that happened tonight, we should live without striving for something stable and constant. Earthquakes do not happen "far away" and "to some other people". We are wrong when we look at danger as something that is far from us, in another world. The world is small, and we are connected. Everything happens here and now, in the same world, to the same people. Some people will run away, some will help others, and some will experience stress if they are left homeless. Every natural disaster reveals what kind of people we are.

So let's live as if everything is possible, as if everything you build can collapse tomorrow. Live for this day and build again. While we are alive, we can start over. Nothing is permanent and safe. Help others because we are not alone in this world to be selfish. Material goods are destructive, but what we carry within us is the only thing we have for sure. Let's be humans. Both in difficult situations and the happiness of an unpredictable life.

Thank you very much for reading.

The article is original and mine. The lead image is from unsplash.com.

24
$ 3.66
$ 3.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Ezelazra3
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 15
Sponsors of Jelena
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Just finished article about it. When things like this happen, I am always sad for people that were effected of it. But it's great reminder how the earth is actually strong, and how little we are against it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am so scared of earthquakes. I live in Pakistan and a very devastating earthquake hit here in 2005 which caused a lot of damage. Since that day, even the name earthquake scares the hell out of me. You stay safe dear

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, earthquakes are really scary and unpredictable. And dangerous. One person died last night unfortunately.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

O God.. I feel so sorry

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Big hug to you. I hope you are ok. Are the babies ok? Scared too?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes Luci, don't worry, everything is ok now. They were sleeping and didn't feel it. Hug back

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know that I care about you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such are the consequences when we are still on earth, we often never think about natural events that will happen to humans. luckily the earthquake may not be so strong that it doesn't cause any major damage but a feeling of being depressed.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I live in a first degree earthquake zone. In this respect, we experience the earthquake and its aftermath from time to time. It can get pretty scary when it scales above normal. I hope you are well, get well soon!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is uncertain and unsafe to live in such an area. In fact, there is uncertainty everywhere to a greater or lesser extent. I'm ok, thanks. It didn't feel strong in my city and it passed quickly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Earthquake is unpredicted whatever scientific knowledge and research result comes. They can not make a precaution before happenning eartquake. I have experienced earthquake a few months ago. Hope you move to the safe place when you feel earthquake. Take care dear!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm also worried about earthquakes like this because I had a bad experience when the earthquake occurred in the middle of the night when everyone was asleep I wasn't aware of this luckily the naughty mice screamed because the friction of the house made them uncomfortable finally I woke up. Earthquakes are often scary when they come suddenly.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That escalated so fast. I don't know why but natural disasters such as earthquakes seem to be much more common in Europe ans Asia than it is in Africa. It's scary how anything can just happen anytime at all.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, and it always seems to us that it happens far away and in fact it can happen anywhere and anytime. We never know what to expect from nature. Africa is well positioned. Stable area.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh at least not very strong.... I felt sometimes earthquakes here and also in Portugal, I can feel them more than other people, because I remember I felt one I knew that was one earthquake but other people didn't feel it even being around. In other case I felt how the whole sofa moved by itself. Nature in unpredictable that's true and we should be grateful because we just feel it some seconds and we don't live a tragedy.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I always feel the earthquake too. This one didn’t feel great but I felt it right away, I was just a little confused because I forgot what it’s like when the earth shakes since there was no earthquake recently.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Keep safe mate.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We have to adapt to the idea that everything we have might gone in an eye glance , and we must be ready to start from scratch, life is a change and we must learn to adapt. Glad that the earthquake was not strong and that you and your family are fine 🥺❤️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, we felt it only a little, but it was a good reminder that everything around us is uncertain and unpredictable.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah! Live for this day and build again. When you fall, rise and face the battle again.

Keep safe there Jelly.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks Kelzy, everything is fine now. That's right. We must live for this day, we don't know what will happen tomorrow.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope you were okay there jelena. Keep safw always!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks, everything is ok. It didn't feel strong in my city and it lasted for a short time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Earthquake is unpredictable unlike the storm but earthquake is not. We can't predict it. I remember when I was a child Jelena. I was busy that time playing with my playmates then all of a sudden, earthquake happened and it was really strong. I was really scared that time.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is not pleasant when something like this happens because we do not know what the course of all this will be and what we can expect.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes Jelena it was really hard for individuals.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh jelena hope your fine together with your family. So sad to read this, get well soon okay and always take care

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Everything is fine, don't worry, it wasn't strong and it is over. Thank you ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Shock to read that. Hope your whole family is fine there jelena. How's the kids?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Everything is fine, don't worry. It lasted for a short time. My kids were sleeping.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

actually, here in Asia, earthquakes are just very common since we are located at the ring of the fire area. but still, an earthquake is a natural disaster that is very scary. sad to say that it can happen anytime.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hope so you will be ok. Few days ago there were also earthquake the strength of that quake was 3.1 it was too scary. But you should have to leave that place on time haha not to wait and watch news report. Precaution is better than cure, my dear @jelena

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're right, I should have woken the kids up and gone outside and I was waiting for it to pass and googled the news 😀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Earthquakes are really scary, I experienced a strong one when we were on the 18th floor of the building! I hope you are all safe, dear Jelie and nothing has been damaged anywhere.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, earthquakes are scary and dangerous. In my city, everything is fine, but where the epicenter was, unfortunately, one person died.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May that person find peace, wherever he or she is. We had an earthquake too in the southern part of our country a day or two ago.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It happens often unfortunately. Let's hope for a safe life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Eh, next time make sure you move out of the building if something like this happen. Open places free from buildings and trees are safest option during earthquakes.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are right, I didn't think about it, I waited for it to pass. Completely wrong 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Keep safe Jelena ,I hope you are okay now.How was your kids?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

When that happened, they were sleeping. I was just shaking a little.😊 But everything is ok now, thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Keep safe po. I hope everything is fine now like no damage is present.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Are you okay? I hope everyone is okay.. earthquake happens now often.. Be safe 💚💚

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, I am ok. Thank you. It happens but everything is ok now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is good to hear, what a relief..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hope you all are okay there, sis. Praying for your safety to you and your family. Grabe, parang daily nalang talaga ang lindol nowadays.

$ 0.01
2 years ago