You Cannot Give What You do not Have

36 45
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

How do you restore yourself? Are you the type of person who always gives out everything even if you are already running out empty? That you have nothing to give anymore?

Perhaps, some of you may take this as a materialistic aspect of life. Well, it's something more than that. I'm talking about the intangible things a person can give to anyone but could cause that person to run out himself.

May it be from your work, relationships, family, friendship, community, and your role in the society. When you feel like you have nothing to give anymore, that just means to say that you lost your sense of balance. You lacked something in that aspect.

For example, you always your effort and energy to work. You are driving with passion and determination, you forgot to take care of your well-being. You started getting sick and you are wondering why. Man, that's your body's way of telling you that you need rest too.

Although this doesn't only happen at work though. I just gave out a more concrete example but it also works on our relationships with someone. Finally, you noticed that you're always giving and giving and giving. You're not receiving anything.

Yeah, it's better to give than to receive and this article doesn't aim to imply wanting to receive back. No, that's not my point. It's about reflecting on yourself and taking care of yourself in return too.

You cannot give what you do not have.

If you don't have peace in your heart, you cannot give peace to others. If you do not have love in yourself, you cannot give love to others.

Some would say that I'll do everything I can to make you happy even if it means taking away my happiness. Naaah, I don't think it's an adorable move of showing your love to someone. Both of you should compromise. It's two-way communication. As the song says, too much love will kill you.

If you go overboard, it gives you a sense of entitlement that you are controlling the person because you give everything to them. That's toxic.

It's crucial to have balance in your life.

Here are some key points you may wanna ask yourself to restore you:

Do you know when to rest?

A lot of us are too dedicated to everything that we do. Especially if it's something we've been aiming for a long time. We always give out our fullest effort and time for it. Hey, there's nothing wrong with that. In fact, you deserved to be recognized.

But, do you know when to take a break? You may be feeling tired for a day because you exerted too much on that day. However, if it happens frequently and you're not feeling yourself anymore, you are burned out.

I know a lot of people ignore the signs of burnout. I was once a hardworking person. I ignored the signs of burnout and so I got sick. It led me to where I am now but somehow, things got clearer now and I'm finally getting God's message for me.

You need to pay attention to the signs.

You may feel restless, stressed, irritable, sensitive, and easily frustrated. Those are early signs of burnout. It soon affects your body, your overall health. With that, it's time to give everything to yourself already. That's when you realize that you may go overboard and you forgot to reflect on your well-being.

Listen to your heart. Listen to your body. Listen to your soul.

Do you know how to rest?

Do you know yourself intimately that you know how to rest? It's crucial for us to know when to take a rest but do we know how?

Going on a vacation is anyone's top of their heads resolving burnouts. However, that doesn't work all the time. You may be going on a vacation but your mind is elsewhere thinking about different stuff. Maybe it's not the solution to your burnout.

You could resort to talking to a friend, listening to music, or going to the church and just be silent for a while. It could be making amends to the relationships that were broken, resolving misunderstandings, making up for the mistakes you made.

As for me, I do take a rest by a quiet time away from stress. I resort to going to grandpa's grave and just sit there feeling my soul. When something bothers me, I listen to my soul by having a quiet time. That could work for you too.

You need people to restore you. A strong foundation of support system. We have different ways of coping with a situation and it depends on what kind of personality you have.


Lead image source

Reference


Thanks for reading!

Keep safe everyone ❀

17
$ 6.60
$ 6.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
+ 10
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

Comments

Indeed, just offer what you can give

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is what my professor used to say when we didn't study enough for the class. You cannot give what you do not have. Di raw namin kayang magturo if wala kaming natutunan. True enough. Kaya I always make sure my cup is full so I can pour it to someone else's too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like the comparison. Just like if you can explain it to someone then that means you understood what the topic is.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's why I always prioritize myself first before anything else. Di man sad sa selfish ko pero mas better man gud na unahon nato ang atong kaugalingon before ta mo give love sa laing tao.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That'd be right. You can't give love if you don't love yourself first.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Habang binabasa ko to ate parang maluluha ako kasi nagiging emotional ako pag mga gantong article. Tama ung "too much love will kill you" e. Dapat talaga mag give ka lang ng love na tama lang. Kumbaga sakto lang ba, wag ung sobra sobra kasi dun ka na mag sisimulang magkaroon ng expectations na medyo selfish na. Honestly na ganyan din ako before. And grabe un. I lost myself. Hays...

Thank you ate for this article. Sometimes I have to be reminded din kasi mindan nakakalimutan ko or aun nga, i'm getting lost.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad that you turned out to be the woman you are right now. You have matured because of that experience. ❀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Giving is surely good but when you have nothing to give, it's okay to rest and recharge. One thing I learned about your article is that keep the balance always in all things. Nice to meet you here ate Jeaneth.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello, DennMarc. You're familiar to me. Hehe. Welcome to read.cash ❀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hooo, ate Jeaneth finally Im now here in read.cash. Thanks for welcoming me! Hihi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can relate with this Sis. It's true that we can't give anything to anyone which we don't have in real. Sometimes we need to listen to our mild voice which is dweeling in our heart instead of the loud screams which lies outside.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Because sometimes, that's what you really need. We just have to listen to it. ❀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

" Are you the type of person who always gives out everything even if you are already running on empty?" , awts I think I can relate to this sentence because most of the time, lagi kong inuuna ang iba kahit pagod na ako. Kumakapit ako kase ako ate sa salitang " responsibility mong tulungan sila" pero grabe I realize na kailangan rin pala magset ng limitations sa lahat. Now iba feeling ko ate , kahit na nakahiga lang ako maghapon feeling ko pagod na pagod na ako.🀧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Baka nga burnout yan. Matagal na yang na fe feel mo? Di pa nakaka rrecover body mo sa pagka overused non.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Baka nga ate, ang heavy sa feeling teh. Nag-start to last year eh pero I'm still trying to overcome this struggles within me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You started getting sick and you are wondering why.

Ate, ako to HAHAHAAH. Pabaya qko sa self ko tas magtataka ako bat ako nagkakasakit πŸ₯²

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As much as possible, alis kana sa toxic environment Gy. Malapit na no?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opp ate, 2months nalamg po

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeeey. Malapit na. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"You cannot give what you do not have", this is true. We can't give something when we don't have it after all. If there is any, pwede naman sigurong unahin muna natin yung sarili natin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right. Unahin muna sarili. Dapat buo ka before you give something to others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Strongly agree with this ate. Minsan kailangan talaga natin ng support system from others. I've been struggling quitely and alone this past few months and its really sucks that crying is the only way to release everything. But then again, if we do things for our love ones, kahit pagod na, pahinga lang tapos laban ulit. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Basta magtira din sa sarili. You deserve something for yourself din eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Burnout, the perfect word to describe me right now. I don't know ate Jea. Sorbang drained ko lang tapos ipa yung pagod ko. Pagod na kahit aning gwing tulog ko, hindi mawala. Yung paggising mo is pagod at iritado ka parin. Dati, iniiyak ko lang lahat, gumagaan na pakiramdam ko. Pero ngayon, crying isn't effective anymore. Mas lalo lng lumalala.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What seems to bother you the most, Neil? That's not good. You need sleep din eh and if you're not getting it, irritable ka talaga yan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I mean nakaktulog ako ate. Minsan pa nga 7 hours. Pero, kahit natulog ako ate, pag gising lo, mabigat parin pakiramdam ko, pagod parin ako. Gusto ko lang matulog palagi. Yung kahit, wala akonh ginagawa, pagod ako. Pagod ako in all aspects. Di ko ma identify din kong ano bang mali.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is true sis. Sometimes we need others to listen us. We need others to talk to. It help us a lot. It's not good also if you always facing the challenges with our own self. Sharing to others can make the pain fastly heal. I'll do that sis. Sometimes if I was really down I shared it to the most trusted person I have.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's important to have people or someone you feel safe din para you can share your problems with them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oagdating talaga sa love, you tend to give more lalo na kapag mahal na mahal mo. Kaya siguro yun iba eh nasasakal na then kapag naghiwalay eh mas hirap makamove on dahil wala sya tinira sa sarili nya...

Tama ka, dapat talaga eh balance. Kasi as you said, too much of everything is not healthy na..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True madam. Super sakal yan kaya unhealthy sa relasyon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

korek..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nasa point na ako ng buhay ko na mas gusto ko na lang ng katahimikan. I care about others but I care more for myself. Mas uunahin kong intindihin muna ang sarili bago ang iba, especially ngayon na ang daming toxic na tao sa paligid.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, mas mainam na mas kilala mo ang sarili mo before you give something to others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe I am really burn out. I should stop thinking about people who caused me no good. I should start taking care of myself not only for me but also for my family. Thanks to this sis. Murag napakngan ko balig wamport hihihi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad it made an impact to yourself po. Hehe. Magtira ka rin for yourself kase mauubos ka nyan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sis. And mahirap maubos para sa sarili. ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago