What Kind of Giver Are You?

61 84
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

Emotions are mainly the root cause of our actions. We get overwhelmed by our emotions as it leads us to commit something we may not be so sure of at the moment but does it anyway.

As they say, don't make abrupt decisions when you are sad or angry, don't make promises when you are happy. I believe in that statement. I consider that as the golden rule. We are driven by the current emotions that we feel and so there's a big tendency that what we say is not what we mean.

Having said that, I stumbled upon an online mass I watched earlier and the message was very powerful. Although I attended the mass earlier, I was struck with how life-changing an act would be if you practice everything told in the bible.

The priest I watched on the television was a priest I used to watch on tv as well before. He said in his homily, there are different kinds of givers:

Cheerful/Genuine givers

These are ideal types of givers. Their generosity is based on how they really feel when they're happy. Even when they're not, the genuine emotions that they give out are real.

These are the ones who give out their true happiness through generosity. They are also referred to as "thanks givers" or "I want to give". They have this extreme desire to help other people as much as they could. They are selfless and they mostly think of other people's welfares.

I have never met someone who is a cheerful giver. I try so hard to be a cheerful giver always but sometimes I can't do it. Probably because something is holding me back. I hope and will do my best to be a cheerful giver someday.

Boastful givers

These are the ones who give help just for the sake of attention and recognition. Their intentions are not pure, they have an underlying cause of why they do such an act to the community.

They are also referred to as "humble braggers". They give because they want recognition. They want everything to be documented and their names should be on it. They give but what matters most to them is the recognition that they are rich and they make the community a better place because of what they did.

The essence of generosity is being faked as it transitions from the intention down to the documentation. Everything is documented and recorded. They upload it on social media and get recognized.

Calculating givers

These are the type of givers who feel like they're obliged to give. Everything that they give is calculated. Their intentions are there but it's not as pure as the cheerful ones. Something might be bothering them but they still want to help.

These are also referred to as "duty givers" or "I have to give". It feels like they're forced to do it or maybe they owe something to the community and they are forced to give back.

I consider myself as the duty giver most of the time. When I go to the church, my conscience is telling me to bring even a coin to offer to the church and I felt like I'm obliged to do it. When I pass by a homeless person on the street or a person asking for alms outside the house, I feel like I'm forced to do it.

Although deep in my heart, I really wanted to help people. God knows how pure I intend to help but it's just that I ran out of resources too and I deal with a tight budget too. If I can't give anything, my conscience will haunt me for not doing what's supposed to do. Is this still normal?

I believe each of us has innate goodness in our hearts. No matter how bad a person is, there's still kindness that you can see on him/her.

So which type of giver are you?


Lead image source


Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone!

23
$ 15.86
$ 15.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eybyoung
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 11
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

Comments

Many times we are not guilty for not giving, as you say sometimes we are tight on budget that we cannot do it for major reasons but like you I love helping those who need it, God knows how to reward this type of action and I do not mean what material more to the spiritual side

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It feels so good to help the people in need. There is a sense of fulfillment every time. ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am a cheerful giver. Not just me but my family. God has given us money and a beautiful mind. And from this mind comes naturally giving. I don't donate to show people. I like to donate in secret and I donate with an open mind.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a good deed. You don't have to show everyone you are generous. As long as your intention is pure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Muy bueno amiga, hay muchos tipos de Dadores, pero mejor es ser Dador alegre y lleno de Gracias y esa Gracias la da Dios a traves del Espiritu Santo, para ser un dador de Gracias debemos de liberarnos de cargar, de resentimiento, debemos de perdonar, hay que limpiase internamente, perdonarnos nosotros mismos, no solamente nos debemos de enfocar a dar dinero, NO, Usted puede ser dador de Amor, de servicio, dar un abrazo lleno de Amor, dador de sonrisa y estoy seguro que ese es el mejor Dador y será muy bien retribuido.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ate ko cheerful giver yun. Pero kapag tinopak at inabuso ayun minsan nagiging calculating haha kasi yung isa namin na kapatid kasi eh. Kaya nababago isip ng ate namin. Pero ako, I am trying my best to be cheerfil giver. Kasi masarap sa pakiramdam magbigay lalo na sa mahal mo sa buhay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Sino ba nman gaganahan kung abusohin ang generosity mo diba?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totoo po yan kaya naiintindihan ko po si Ate bakit galit sya sa isa namin na kapatid. Pinagsasabihan ko naman yung isa kung ate na di abusuhin yung eldest namin kasp nagagalit siya sakin. May ganun pp yata talaga, sa magkakapatid may iba mag isip 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ano po tawag dun sa nagbibigay pero nag hihintay ng kapalit ate hehe meron po ba? Anyways, I think I belong to the first one po :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A mixture of boastful and calculating? Because you expect something in return eh. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure ko nga naa ko sa genuine giver tungod kay gusto nako ishare ang happiness ug blessings na nadawat nako sa life. ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kana maoy tinuod nga giver. Hehe. Ipadayon na syd ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm a cheerful giver I guess, kasi as a Volunteer ang dami ko ng volunteer works na ni minsan hindi ko hinapan ng anomang kapalit un bang masaya ka ng makatulog. Charez! minsan nga inaaaway nako ng mga friends and relatives ko bakit daw nag aaksaya ako ng oras sa ganon kung alam lang nila kung gano kasarap sa feeling non

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It feels so good to see people happy talaga. And that's genuine. ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess I'm on the genuine giver especially when I know that person is in need but of course I have to consider if he/she's lying or not. Hirap ng ma abuso

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right madam. That's my weakness too, I could hardly distinguish which one is genuine or fake. 🥴

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dalawa ate maliban dun sa part na gusto madocument yung name. Masaya kasi ako kada nakakabigay at nakakatulong, pero kuripot sko kapag pansin kong abusado na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Depende din sa kung sino binibigyan gy no. Tama, kase may iba na abusado na rin eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am also a duty giver. Ayoko sabihing cheerful giver ako Kasi nga kuripot ako pero kapag kailangan magbibigay ako

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Haha. May ganyang attitude rin ako madam. If need na talaga, tsaka na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mahirap kasi Ang buhay hahaha

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Giving is a good act but most givers today does it for a reason and I think the only acceptable form of giving in God's presence is being a cheerful giver.

I refer to it as unconditional giving as well, I give wholeheartedly because I find joy in doing so.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I totally agree. Giving unconditionally is pure and genuine without any intention of expecting something in return.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm may part na boastful ako pero parang hindi din, yong maappreciate lang nong pinag bigyan ko ung binigay ko sapat na sakin. Basta I give because I want to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think, we give because we want them to appreciate our acts din madam no.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Although it's difficult to be a Cheerful/Genuine giver, because people want to seek attention by giving. But we should at least try to be pure while helping others, and shouldn't record anything we do,like people normally do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Without having pure intentions, that's not a genuine kind of generosity.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I give without expecting anything in return and as much as possible, ayaw ko na may nakakaalam. Para kasing nakhihiya ako,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here madam. Nahihiya din ako. Bakit kaya yung ibang tao no. Lagyan pa ng donated by 🤦‍♀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pagyayabang na yun madam..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love giving without expecting to receive anything in return. And I feel happy when they appreciate what I gave, even if it's just something simple.

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

So cheerful giver ka ba always madam? Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When you give, it's not right to brag and count. I give when I have without everyone else knowing it and without counting it. What I am counting on is the counter-back of blessings God has given me for every act of generosity I do to others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's the right way of showing generosity. ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not fond of boastful givers madam. There are a lot of people like that. I don't know what's in their mind. Why they need to be boastful. Sometimes they will insist to post it on social medias. 🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Because they like recognition madam. 🤦‍♀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Saddest but true madam. 🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do appreciate this kind of blog wherein you were able to differentiate the types of givers. By the situation, it reflects of who we are. Thank you for sharing your thoughts about this. It's very helpful.Keep it up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks, Donnabel ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

honsetly minsan nagiging humble bragger talaga ako. parang ung pinag awayan namin last time ng partner ko. na feel ko kasi na di niya gaano nirerecognize ung mga advice ko tapos nakikinig pa sya sa iang tao. nakak hurt. selosa pa man din ako.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pinag usapan niyo ba yan dee? Para ma address habang early pa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes ate napag uusapan naman na po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yesss ate napag uusapan naman so medyo okay na din.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dapat kasama din yung giver lang if merong something to give haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. Plain giver lang ba, walay label. Payts gyapon. 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako, murag nabelong ko usahay sa calculating givers madam. Usahay pud sa cheerful giver. Siguro depende ra sa sitwasyon madam.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mao lage. Depende ras situation. Kay naa man uban di angay tabangan pud kay abusohon of gamiton sa laing butang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mao jud madam. Same anang manglimos anha sa mga terminal. Kanang tagaan nimo ug pan unya dili mudawat kay gusto ra ug kwarta.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mao lage. Unya basin sugo na silag mga sindikato ba. Wa ngyud tay world peace ani oy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Si madam yung kpg magbigay sasabihin "it's expensive" lol.. Yun ang ayaw ko. Kinacalculate yung binibigay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. Clear definition sya ng calculating giver madam. Pwede ring boastful kase pinapaalam pa na expensive gift niya which is unnecessary nman siguro yan sabihin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dun tayo sa genuine giver, one who gives without expecting to be paid back. Ang sarap kaya tumulong lalo na kung ang tulong natin ay walang halong karumihan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely. Yung may will talaga tumulong without expecting something in return. That's right.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a great artice ate 🤗 I salute those giver who are genuine and cheerful . Those people who never expect something in return. 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's the most ideal type of giver madam. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

the ones that I don't like is the boastful giver.... i really don't like it when people are giving then they are documenting it and brag it in social media.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mga pulitiko madam or yung mga big names sa school tapos i engraved ang names sa isang span of pader sa gate. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also feel like calculating giver.. although when it comes to offering in church and some beggars I am at cheerful giver because my intention was pure..only to give and nothing else.. what I referred to me as calculating giver is over my family, after I give I can't refrain myself from telling them that I do all the things just to give them.. maybe because they lack cooperation with me as well. I just hate people who always accept but didn't have initiative to help themselves.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Depende gyud na sa situation ba. Mas ganahan man gud ka mo help if those people do their best to help themselves pud. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo case to case basis gyapon kay..di man pd pwdi sige rata tabang hantod sa hantod.. dapat ang tao makabalo mubarog sa iyang kaugalingon bisan kinsa pa na.hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sakto gyud. Choice pud nas tao kung gusto ba sila mgpabilin nga ing-ana or mo diskarte sila sa life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago