The Forgotten Soul

71 121
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

November 3, 2021

Ten years, perhaps twenty years, twelve months, thirty days, twenty four hours, sixty seconds, and counting. For how long will I be staying in this dull, and lifeless paradise? For how long will I be waiting for the beautiful people to throw flowers over my stone bed? For how long will I be wandering around this lonely paradise, restless and sleepless? Can I even cross to the realm of living creatures to see them once again? I'm tired of waiting. I want to ascend already.

Am I even counting the correct years, months, days, hours, and seconds? I seem too disoriented about everything. I have neither a calendar nor a watch on my wrist, or a gadget on my hand to check the dates. I would only know that it is night once the sun sets below the horizon, and day once it rises to the sky. Day by day, my brain is becoming baffled and disoriented like a person with dementia. And I am more worried that I might forget the people I am longing for and the world as well.

While looking at the epitaph inscribed on the stone over my grubby concrete sepulcher, it seems to be forgotten by time too. The words become truncated and unreadable. And anyone who'll dare to look for my headstone would find it difficult to spot my place. Is there even anyone looking for me? I seem so lost and can not be found as it's been a long time since I saw familiar faces in my place. Have they forgotten me?

My house has been wrecked by a fallen tree because of a storm long ago, but no one cares to rebuild it. The vines and roots are slowly pulling my house to the ground. The dirt and weathered leaves are as thick as the compiled soil on the corner of the ground yard. Weeds and wild grasses are gradually growing around it. They're becoming taller as days passed by. No one cares to clean my house, not even myself. If only I could, I would surely do it. Unfortunately, I can't. So for a decade, I've been sleeping on a dirty, cold, and hard concrete bed.

Even my dress is still the same as they didn't care to leave a spare one. Can I even wash and change it? I have never worn clothes repeatedly in my entire life. Not until I laid cold in a wooden casket and they dressed me in white that I don't even like. It became permanent in my cold body and unchangeable. And in the cold days, no one cares to lend a shawl for my bare shoulders. I didn't care at all, as I was cold long ago and I became used to it.

The day of the internment of my wood casket inside my cold stone house is still vividly clear in the deeper part of my mind. All were present except for my extended relatives. Maybe because they thought that they couldn't lean on me anymore. Unlike when I was still active and useful, they would always remember me even on the simplest occasion or in their spare time. Most especially if they ask me a favor. How cruel the world is and the people are? They needed me when I was useful, they dumped me when I became weak and useless, or should I say, lifeless.

Here comes the fiesta and everyone is busy doing this and that. The beloved families of the dead souls are busy fixing, cleaning, and decorating their houses with different flowers and colorful candles. The lonely paradise becomes alive and the decedents' look happy. Except for me. Because here I am, still sitting cold over my tomb, waiting for familiar faces to appear at sight. But to no avail. Is this my fate? To wait forever even in the afterworld?

From the distance, I could see an old woman holding a rosary and murmuring words, she's probably praying for her beloved dead soul. She reminds me of my grandmother who was the busiest when this special event came. She would cook different foods and would lead the rosary for our beloved families in the afterworld. Including our deceased distant relatives, and the relatives of the relatives, and so on. It's like an unending prayer to make their souls at peace. I wonder if she's praying for me too today? Or is she even still active and full of life? I hope she is. I was just so unfortunate to cross the bridge of life before her. I guess it was my fate.

My neighbor looked happy as she saw her beloved mother carefully placing a bouquet, candles, and food on her stone bed. She wouldn't be hungry anymore. I wonder what my mother is doing right now? Back then, she would always cook something for me and save a big portion of food every time I was home to have a break from work. She never let me feel hungry and would prioritize saving food for me over my nasty brothers. My poor mother. I hope she's doing fine even though she has forgotten me too. I understood her tribulations, but can't she at least,

offer food for my hungry soul?

A grown-up boy go near me and I thought he saw me. He's holding a bag of candles. Perhaps, he'll be selling those. He reminds me of my little siblings when they were younger. They were excited for this celebration to take place as they could sell candles in the ground yard, and at the end of the day, the small number of coins in their pockets as shares of selling candles would make them so happy because they could buy anything from it. I was like them too when I was a kid. Those memories are indelible and can not be taken away by time, not even by death.

A decade or so has passed and I didn't see their faces anymore since the time they left me in this lonely paradise. What have I done to suffer even in my afterlife? How could they forget someone who offered her all to them and sacrificed her own happiness? Maybe this is my fate. And I just need to accept the fact that I AM A FORGOTTEN SOUL.


This story was inspired by the article of @Eunoia entitled Happy Death Anniversary Self, wherein he expressed his sentiment about being forgotten after death. I have shared the same sentiment in my article When It Rains It Pours, With Thoughts.

I was supposed to make something like this after reading Eunoia's article, but since All Saints Day was approaching, I opted to wait for this moment to come and make this version of mine. It's quite similar though because we have the same sentiment about this matter😅.

This is just a fragment of my creative mind and I don't wish for this to happen. I'm just curious though, what would you feel if your beloved families have forgotten you after your death?

You can share it below.

Thanks for reading.

Lead image from: https://www.wallpaperflare.com/women-dark-hair-white-dress-field-back-sunset-sky-one-person-wallpaper-tmmcz

©read.cash@Jane (All rights reserved 2021)

Time of writing: 11/01/21 @10am

37
$ 18.29
$ 16.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Amazing-grace
$ 0.10 from @Crackers
+ 32
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

At some point in history we will not be remembered, unless we do something great for humanity, we have many examples of this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I got goosebumps reading your words. I sometimes feel about the afterlife, how it would feel in the grave. Ah, it would be nice if we really could feel and know-how our relatives, friends, loved ones feel when we are not around anymore. Maybe it's better not knowing that because we will be a forgotten soul in no time, no?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Greetings @Jane Your article Forgotten soul has made me emotional 😢. I am also inspired by this article and I also want to write this type of article. INSHALLAH soon I will try to write.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The saddest part is, may chance talaga na makalimutan na nila tayo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We would be forgotten just like others who are at the grave are forgotten, let's just live a life for people to remember us with

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Feel ko yung babae haha kahit dipa ako legwak at buhay pa, feeling ko kahit andito ako nasa malapit, nasaharapan na nila pero di nila makita. 🥲 Nakalimutan din nila birthday ko non konti lang yung bumati.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Many relatives or friends need us to help them solve their problems, maybe they only call us for that, to help them. When we cease to exist, many people will say they will miss us and cry at our grave, they will visit us from time to time but at some point they will forget us, we will cease to be important, while other people will continue to love and miss us even though they do not visit us. It will depend on the sentimental ties that you have made with those people, the stronger the tie the more united and attached to you they will be, if the tie is weak and is not made with love and understanding it can easily be broken and forgotten in an old drawer.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

This article made me remember the movie I watched sometimes ago, titled the forgotten ones

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'll gonna save that title 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a bit sad, but I think sooner or later we all at some point will be forgotten on this earthly plane.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, the saddest part of reality

$ 0.00
2 years ago

recientemente mi madre murió hace unos tres meses, todavia creo que al llegar a casa ella me va estar esperando ...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh I don't want to be forgotten ..mumultuhin ko sila 😅..kasi as far as I know I didn't do anything to any of our family members so far so maybe they will not forget me when I die..but I'm not certain of it...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha.. Bka nga hndi ka makapasok sa portal papunta human world 🤣 iwan. D natn alam ano mangyayari after that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga po di natin alam anonnext after natin matigok haha.. Naiisip ko dinpo minsan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Paano nyo tong naiisip? Ang galing. Parang monologue tapos may feelings

$ 0.02
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Gawa ng malawak na imahinasyon.. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naol 🤣

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Maybe they also miss us like how we miss them but we rarely give time to visit them and only on their special days. This made me remember what Grandma told me that we should visit even the dead for they maybe also misses us from their graves

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Probably.. Because even if they are dead, they are still souls

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't be sad dear death is truth and everyone taste this and you will be good and everything everyone live in this world temporarily You will remember you're friend in you're good memories and he smile when you are in happy mode this will give you a comfortable and very nice This will be a nice to remember that you will spend a nice and very impressive time

Good evening to you dear Best wishes for you Best of luck 🤞

$ 0.03
2 years ago

This made me question myself. Am I worth to remember when I am gone? Will the people I am currently surrounded with now will remember me when I am dead? Life is unpredictable and we should always live our life to the fullest and be a kind person. We will all passed away and the first thing that we want is to be remembered by our loved ones.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oo namn. We are worth remembering.. Kht papanu may nagawa tyo pra sa knla..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have already talked about this here and it is something very difficult to accept. Just think that I don't know who my great-great-grandparents were. And my son much less. I won't know where it comes from and it's sad. The best thing would be to leave a family tree, but it is complex to do. I've been trying for years to take the first step in doing it, but I'm not starting, I should start now to go as far back in time as possible with the grandparents who live today.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

To live a legacy before we passed away 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is just 😞, ilang lost soul kaya ang nakakaramdam ng ganito.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

May pakiramdam nga b sla? Hndi tlga natn alam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ewan ko ba ate pero lately about my death lagi sa isip ko. If they will not remember me anymore its okay as long as they are in good place.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kakasad yan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We might be forgotten, but eternity will always have happy days in the golden mansion of the Lord. I won't be feeling forgotten, I'm claiming it now.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lakas ng loob 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes dapat ganun madam. Congrats! How to be you po...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Inspired by others story but I truely believe you have spoken a dark hidden truth of you. Really felt it from heart.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

this brings it to my mind. how do they even feel, or do they even have the sense to think, do they really die? si there emotions?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

have you watched the move the book of life? in the movie, any soul who have been forgotten will be lost forever...

it kinda reminded me while reading your article

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Mpanood nga yan 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe some are forgotten. Here in our place, many, especially those in certain churches don't clean the tombs of their dead anymore, probably their beliefs changed. Your imagination brought something vivid in my mind :D

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Or probably because those dead are useless already to them. It hurts. But it's true for some.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe that's true sis... it's quite sad talaga sis. I hope though that even when they neglect the tombs, at least they still pray for them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is interesting, its like seeing the world from the eyes of a departed soul. I have often wondered where the dead go once they leave the material world. Maybe I will compose an article based on it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Go ahead 🙂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I amazed at how someone can write the past with great choice of words

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We don't know what will happen after our death but I'm sure our loved ones will never forget us on some special occasions but it's a human nature we move on it doesn't matter who hard it is

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This is sad. In my opinion, even if the ones left behind won't come to visit, what's more important is they keep the deceased in their hearts. They maybe gone, but not forgotten.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

For some.. It is really forgotten. Not even in their hearts

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wouldn't care if they forget me when I die, will I even know what happens in the land of the living when I die? 🤔 I would like them to think about their future and not dwell too much about my death. What happens after death is still a big mystery to us

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yup. Something we don't really know if afterworld exist

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think of this too whenever i remember my lost friends. I only remember them once in a whike ,maybe when a similar event occurs. I'll then ask myself "will people think of me when I'm gone? Everyday or once in a blue moon? How long will it take for them to move on?"

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's really saddening right.. It must be so lonely there..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would like to think that we are not forgotten after death. I would like to think that we wouldn't be forgotten but remembered in their memories, actions or inactions, their lifestyle, their choices and even when they tell stories of how we lived to their children and children's children.

I think this because my parents made it a point of tell their children about their lost loved ones so they are remembered and kept alive in their memories and by telling us these stories of how they lived, we remember them too and carry them in our memories and so will my children and children's children.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Same as what our grandma is doing.. Telling stories about our late grandpa and other relatives..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No matter how much you strive to be remembered, you'll still be forgotten someday. Generations are replaces by others and there comes a time when all who knew you will also be forgotten, let alone.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

And we would just turn into ashes again..as if nothing was valuable

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No matter how important we are to the world, the attachment will gradually fade off somehow but those who will have is in their hearts will do.

It is as if a forgotten told you how he or she is feeling, This has lots of emotions attached, no one wants to be forgotten and that includes the dead.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Especially those who sacrifice their own lives for the sake of their loved ones or other people.. They should not be forgotten..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahhh. I have read Eunoia's version too. I think that if souls would really feel something, my maternal grandma would feel the same way too because no one ever visited her. Her kids are not Catholic and don't believe that the souls are still there and the graves needs cleaning. They opt to spending their time for work and family but she is always remembered in our stories.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Kht nmn hndi Catholic alam natn need rn nla ng dalaw

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I maybe feel the same. The loneliness and the longing for someone who visit over me. I am sad for those souls that I pass earlier as I go to see my beloved family who passed away in this world as well. There are those as what you have said forgotten. No flowers, no candles and no prayer.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

True.. And for sure those souls are sad

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No matter what we do, we do Good after a year of a death someone will be forgotten.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

No one has the idea of what will happen after they are dead, but I will never want to be forgotten there after.

That's why it's always good to live our best when we are still alive, even if some people will forget , we will always live in some People's life because of the Impact we have made in them.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's about making a legacy before we cross the bridge of life. But still, people will always forget the dead as time pass by

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true anyway, but the important thing is what people will say about you when you're no more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In my country there is a phrase that says "the dead to the well and the living to the joy" it is sad but it is a reality. I think that the one who will remember me the longest will be my son, but the others will soon forget me. But I have no feelings for that.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Your son is what matters more..🙂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, it is normal to be forgotten cand quite frankly I don't desire to be remembered.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Why not?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As mentioned in my comment on Noise, I don't share the sentiment of life after death. But this was an interesting read.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi lumabas sa notification ko ang upload article mo Ms. Jane... Dahil sa mentioned ako makarating hmmm... Some errors siguro..

Edit: late siya nagpakita hehe.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha.. Ganun minsan my error

$ 0.00
2 years ago